Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Comfortable hotel walking distance to beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location and Starwood affiliation
Cons: Rooms are very generic, nothing special at all
I've stayed at Le Meridian a number of times over the last 5 years for business. The rooms are reasonably spacious but generic - no extra style or details. The gym is basic, staff is friendly, food is fine. Walking distance to the beach and Starwood affiliation are the biggest draws to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Best friendly and efficient front desk manager ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We enjoyed the complimentary champagne, bicycles, coffee and valet parking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: looks likes its online photos and was reasonably priced for area
Cons: Staff should pay more attention to guests when they sit down in the bar or restaurant. Often gone unnoticed.
Location: Santa Monica Pier and Promenade
great check in. attentive. Shuttle service to areas around town was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton alta canads

Great location Friendly Staff & excellent ambian

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Busy with meetings Next time I will walk around And enjoy the surroundings
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Complimentary champagne is as good as it gets

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The complimentary champagne upon checkin. The bar had a good atmosphere however they were out of mint for mojitos and two of the drinks on the menu didn't have the ingredients they advertised (the waitress told us they had been changed but the menu hadn't been updated).
Cons: I reserved 3 rooms with guaranteed checkin by 3pm (plus early checkin requested). Two rooms were ready when we arrived at 2:40 however it seemed it was first come first serve because only one of the rooms matched the reservation we made in terms of beds and bed sizes. We had an event at 4:30 so we specifically reserved our rooms to get ready before. I was told I'd receive a call within 15 minutes by 3 when our last room was ready. That call never came so I called the front desk at 3:30 and was put on hold for 8 minutes before hanging up and walking down. They gave us the key to the last room and offered a muffled "sorry" that they were behind, got up to the 3rd room and it was (again) not the room we requested (queen instead of king) and it hand't been cleaned thoroughly. I mean dirty toilet paper in the toilet!? Called to speak to the manager at 4:30 and he didn't return the call until 5 hours later at 9:30. The rooms each faced an apartment complex maybe 40 feet across the way. You essentially faced directly into each room on the other side and hardly wanted to open your own window although the rooms were all musty and needed a good airing out. In all we spent $1200 at the hotel for three rooms (largely to get ready before the event) and were more than let down by the service provided. For such a beautiful hotel the only thing they seemed to get right was the champagne. (Free refills by the way, perhaps if you have enough you'll have a more positive outlook on things).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Staff. Location was okay.
Cons: Renovation.
Location: Santa Monica beach is only a ten minute walk.
The hotel was comfortable. Common areas were well maintained and nice. Staff was great. Location was decent, about a ten minute walk to the beach. My room was definitely in need of an overhaul. It was clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was very cramped and could stand to be renovated. The room and hallway were tired and depressing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great option in Santa Monica near the beach

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Large clean rooms, most comfortable beds, impeccable service
Cons: nothing
Location: 10 min walk from the beach and 3rd street Promenade - just enough to keep you excersized!
What a perfect choice - not on the beach but a short walk away, but with so many little extra touches - from a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival to the cozy games room - that set it aside from competition and make for a perfect stay. Not to mention the value for money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Staff genuine and welcoming
Cons: Toiletries for two and shower caps!
Location: Beach walks, water sports, cycling.
Hotel staff very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The whole floor and my room had an awful smell, under the bed was not vacuumed, and you barely can open the window to get a fresh air. Also, had to pay 40$ per night for parking.