Ratings based on 1,623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: I like that it's close and convenient to everything including the beach and all.
Cons: The rooms are very noisy and walls are paper-thin
Location: Great restaurants within walking distance..
While the staff and all is great, the rooms are very noisy. There always seems to be alot of noise in teh hallways. Also, the maid service starts knocking on the room doors every morning at 7am and they knock every 30 minutes making you feel rushed to get out so they can clean the room..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Perfect location

Posted Aug 25, 2016
We stayed with our two teenage boys for two nights. The location is ideal. It's walking distance to the pier, 3rd St Promanade and tons of other restaurants/coffee shops/shopping areas. You can rent bikes directly behind he hotel and ride to Venice Beach to go souvenire shopping. Venice Beach had some of the coolest T- shirts I have ever seen. It was a safe area. There is a sizable homeless population in the area so pack your dinner leftovers and feed someone on your way back to the hotel. The police are patrolling the area closely and we felt safe at all times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Noisy loud kids round the pool at 11pm also dogs barking at night POOLSIDE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary Waller CEO, We are disappointed to read your comments and are looking into this. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and, should you return, please don’t hesitate to reach out to any of our managers to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Hôtel agréable et très bien placé au bord de mer. Chambre agréable et confortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. So happy you enjoyed most every aspect of your stay, including your amazing room upgrade! We can't wait to have you back again. Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments. So happy to hear you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't stay at a Loews again

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Pool area.
Cons: Customer service. Called to talk to manager, and was sent into a no-name voice mail.
Location: Location good, next to beach and pier.
Where to start... First, the room we purchased through Expedia was not available. They put us in a room that the previous guests had thrown up in...terrible odor! Move us to new room, view was of a dilapidated apartment building. Wake up to air conditioning not working. Housekeeping does not leave us towels or new toiletries. And to top it off, on day of departure the bags we retrieve from the bell hops is missing a new pair of shoes. Will not allow any family, friend or coworker to stay at Loews.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very expensive for what you get. Mini fridge was broken. Bathroom light was also broken. Check in time is 4pm. We arrived at noon and our room still wasn't ready at 4. When we checked in we discovered the broken items. Can't get a chair at the pool because by 8:30 guests had put towels on them. Half of them were empty the whole day. Bad system.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, We are disappointed to read your comments. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you detailed in your review and that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence. We want you to know that we are investigating. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and, should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for assistance finding pool seating. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
After having stayed at the Loews in Tucson earlier this week, I anticipated the service to be on par or better. I was mistaken. Nothing special about the visit other than I won't be returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Perfect for family vacation, great spot, walking distance to pier, shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, So happy to hear Loews Santa Monica was able to provide the home base for a perfect family vacation. We hope to have you all back soon. Sincerely, Sean Steenson
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great staff = great hotel!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Great staff = great ambience.
I'll let others speak to the very fine facilities. The staff at the Loews is what made our stay perfect - from the Ass't Director of Food & Beverage, through Michele on the Front Desk ( a super star!), the lovely lady maitre de at the hotel restaurant, Jerry at the Papillon bar and the very helpful Concierge staff - all told, integral parts of this Loews' culture of professional and friendly dedication to the welfare of its guests. I'll return, if for no other reason than to again experience the "we care about you" feeling they all imparted. Thank you all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Dear John, We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share the details of your experience at Loews Santa Monica. We will be sure to pass on your great comments regarding our wonderful staff and are very excited to hear we will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We had a wonderful experience while we stayed at the Santa Monica Loews hotel. We enjoyed the beach and swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your wonderful experience at Loews Santa Monica. So happy you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to welcome you back to the beach soon! Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel