Ratings based on 1,101 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We really liked the friendly and helpful hotel staff. Hotel location is great. We enjoyed our stay. If ever back in the area, we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible hospitality

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The staff treated us like family and having travelled from Australia to the US for the first time, this was amazing to have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

My Hollywood home

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The relatively inexpensive room rate; the 24-hour heated pool (with "Popsicle Hotline"), and wonderful concierge desk - so helpful
Cons: Some rooms could use updating. Would love to lose those old carpets and have either wood or tile flooring - better for my allergies.)
Location: Hollywood Blvd! Farmers Market. Runyan Canyon. Life!
I think this was our fifth stay here - there's no place more affordable that has the best location (around the corner from Grauman's, a few blocks from Runyan Canyon, a block from Marshalls for emergency clothes shopping). Love, love, love
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, California

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Just one block from Hollywood Blvd. Extremely friendly and engaging staff, 24-hour heated pool, complimentary snacks, drinks, and breakfast. Large, comfortable rooms. It was a fantastic place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cottonwood, AZ

A Good Hotelman Makes a Big Difference

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The personaity of this boutique hotel.
Cons: Dated rooms need more modern fixtures.
Location: We go the Hollywood for theater, but it certainly is close to all the tourist sites.
The Magic Castle is a 50's vintage hotel located on the street behind Hollywood Boulevard. It is around the corner from the massive Loews Hotel and Dolby Theater. It is not the newest hotel, which is both good and bad. The hotel is a converted apartment building, so the suites are spacious (around 500 sq feet). It is built around a cloister, with a heated pool in the center. The suites have a separate bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom. Some of the fixtures are dated, and you can certainly tell that many have be re-caulked and retrofitted. But they are generally clean and work well. They are also in the process of being remodeled. What makes this hotel so remarkable is the management and staff. They are of the view that a host of small amenities and cordialities make a difference. Normally, when I write a review here, I am listed defects and problems that I experienced in a hotel. At this hotel, I can only list the pleasant surprises. 1. Smart, bright and pleasant staff. I mean everyone, including the manager. 2. Good coffee, hot apple cider, and a fresh breakfast. And a quiet, comfortable place to eat it. 3. Bathrobes, 2 adult and 1 Child size in the room. 4. Snacks including Peanut butter Granola bars....free for the asking. 5. A strolling Magician during breakfast hours performing tricks at your table. 6. Free overnight laundry. 7. Daily event blog at the breakfast tables. 8. Comfortable bedding, 2 chairs and sofa in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Looking forward to coming back at Christmas with my husband. Great place to stay while,visiting our son in West Hollywood.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost its Magic

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
While certainly close to the action, this property needs a real update. I like throwbacks and historical properties, but the room needs a real facelift and is not even a value at their price point. We had ants and a refrigerator that was so loud I had to unplug it. Room was loud from music in the common area and guests above us. Staff were certainly nice but could not salvage our view of the place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Tasmania

Magic Castle Hotel was Magic

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable and quiet. Greeted with a cool refreshing bubbly lemon drink by caring pleasant staff. Continental breakfast included free. Plenty of free snacks available at the desk. Ice-cream machine and soda machine available to guests for free. Free fruit and cool drink in the lobby at all times. Cleaning service available for free and is very quick. Alfonso the magician appears at breakfast 3 times a week. A singer/musician also attends 3 times a week in the evenings.
Cons: The bathroom was not very up to date. Only one suitcase stand.
Location: The Hotel is very close to Hollywood boulevard and all the touristy places thereon. Easy to get to Universal Studios on the underground train. Plenty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff go out of their way to be helpful. Our room was one of the quieter, thankfully as it is in a very noisy location. Also did not realize how popular this property was with kids. The pool was basically rendered unusable, due to noise/muck. Great for families, not for me.