Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Location couldn't get any better. Staff was very attentive. Room was perfect with a view that was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Beautiful place!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Great decor - very stylish, comfortable.
Cons: As noted above. A little attention to details goes a LONG way in the hospitality industry!
Location: We didn't come to do anything, but there's plenty to do in Malibu and nearby.
Lovely hotel and staff were very attentive and professional, but warm too. I would have hoped for a better view (we were looking out at a parking lot) given that I booked the room ages in advance and noted in the reservation that we were celebrating my husband's 60th birthday, plus the hotel didn't seem full (there was hardly anyone in the restaurant on a Saturday night), but...oh well. The restaurant (booked on Open Table; birthday also noted there) also didn't seem to know/remember it was his birthday until I said something. The food was absolutely divine in every way, though. For us this was a very high-end hotel and I guess having stayed at the Four Seasons and the Ritz-Carlton elsewhere I expected the same sort of attention, but it was lovely and we definitely did enjoy our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ocean Front

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beautiful setting steps from the Ocean A real pleasure to open the balcony door and over look the Pacific - spotted dolphins on several occasions! Off a busy road but once in hotel and particularly on the beach you are unaware of the traffic - the ocean sounds surround you Staff were all friendly and helpful Loved the complimentary nespresso in room and Molton brown toiletries Some rooms were being renovated but no obvious disruption
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

California dreamin' on Malibu Beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel!
Cons: Can't do anything about the horrible traffic on Pacific Coast Highway.
Location: Walking distance to the Malibu Farm restaurant and pier, plus the Malibu town center, which are really nice.
Great experience. You can't get closer to the Ocean. Accommodation are first rate. Restaurant and bar are excellent. Staff is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: A small area where people can sit and relax if they have checked out.
The hotel is quaint and has the perfect blend of luxury and a remote get away (without being too remote). Food is very good and it is a lovely family type of atmosphere. Unfortunately we did not have good weather and the beach was washed away. My recommendation would be to have an area where guests can relax and read (that is not the restaurant). I would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury boutique hotel on the beach in Malibu

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Beautiful luxury hotel, wonderful restaurant, fireplace in room and balcony with ocean views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Great Hospitality

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We were staying in Malibu for just one night and were recommended the Malibu Beach Inn. Loved everything about the hotel from the location to the room to the people. had one hiccup regarding reservations for lunch, but the manager, Allessandro, came to the rescue and ironed out any kinks. Great customer service story!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice little boutique hotel at the beach front

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The inn is right on Carbon Beach front. Our room has the great view of the beach and the pier. The dinning room has both indoor or out door dinning. Watching and hearing the waves pounding the beach and watching sand pipers playing the waves are wonderful dinning experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Amazing stay. Checked in to fresh chocolate chip cookies and a man lighting the menorah. Very special for me. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, ON

Perfect End To A Perfect Vacation

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Clean Room Good sized room Location, Location, Location! Food was great too
Location: Awesome location right on the beach Carbon Beach Pier is nearby, as is Getty Villa (worth an afternoon to see) Did I mention beach/ocean location!!!
Wife and I recently toured Southern California for our Anniversary. The entire trip was wonderful and we stayed at beautiful extravagant hotels the entire time. But the highlight came when spent the last few days of our trip in Malibu. We had planned to only have lunch at this hotel to enjoy the awesome ocean view as seen from internet images. But after seeing the hotel, and the location (right on the beach with all rooms having an ocean view). We changed our plans, cancelled our prior arrangements and spent the final few days of our time in California in paradise. The hotel is literally right on the beach. It has an awesome dinning terrace extending out over the beach practically touching the crashing waves. We slept with the sounds of the ocean waves lulling us to sleep. The room was immaculate with a private balcony, sitting area and fireplace. And that was the smallest sized room they offered! I've never been so relaxed and at peace in my life. The experience was so wonderful we miss Malibu and The Malibu Beach Inn ever day (especially dealing with a wicked start to winter up here in Canada :P). The perfect ending to a perfect vacation. I'd recommend the Malibu Beach Inn to anyone. It's worth every cent!