Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in Marina Del Rey

Posted Mar 22, 2017
This hotel has been completely redone, inside and out. The rooms are immaculate, the beds comfortable and the pool and hot tub are great. The location is quite convenient for trips to the beach, as well as Venice Beach and Santa Monica, and LAX, but it is pleasantly quiet at night. The only part of the stay that seems completely pointless is the mandatory valet parking. The hotel could certainly just charge for parking (if the $$ is important to them) and offer valet to those guests who want it as an added service. It was quite silly to have to wait and watch the valet run 30 feet to get the car and bring it over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: There is no option to self park, so you have to pay a nightly fee for valet parking. An add-on to keep in mind when you are quoted a room rate.
When we come to LA, we always book a room at the Marina Del Rey Hotel. It is our home away from home. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. There's a big walk in shower and cozy robes to relax in. We haven't had dinner at Salt, but always grab drinks at the bar before heading out for the evening. There are gas fireplaces outside that provide a cozy atmosphere while you visit and sip cocktails. Marina Del Rey Hotel is first class and we feel like this is the best kept secret in the area! Cannot wait to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by gtellez, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for writing a review on your visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and look forward to your return. Best, Gerald Tellez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect stay on the marina - away from the chaos

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Central position - close to the airport and to Santa Monica.
Cons: I wish the receptionists knew more about the things to do nearby (instead of relying solely on the concierge - that leaves at 6 pm).
Location: Ride bikes to Venice Beach and/or Santa Monica. A few minutes drive to Abbott Kinney, where you can find lots of hip shops and restaurants.
We had a very pleasant experience. The hotel might look old-style from outside but actually it's been recently renewed inside. The room was just perfect, with a beautiful view on the marina. We loved in particular the pool area and the restaurant, SALT - lively and relaxed environment at the same time - perfect to enjoy the sunset while sipping wine. I would definitely recommend it to friends that want to enjoy LA but do not want to deal with the chaos of Venice beach (5/10 minute ride) or Santa Monica (15/20 min ride).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by gtellez, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return. Best, Gerald Tellez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhinebeck, NY

Nice Surprise

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The furnishings, the staff, the fact that it was spotless.
Location: Great for walks, bicycling, etc
I was on a business trip to LA and took my wife to tack on a vacation at the end of the trip. When wanted to see the Marina del Rey area and booked this hotel. Everything was perfect. The location is convenient, the hotel is of the 1950s motif but beautifully renovated, thoroughly modern. The staff is polite and helpful. The room was spotless and beautifully furnished. We loved the restaurant, Salt, the food was excellent. I can't say enough about this hotel and restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by gtellez, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our guest experience survey. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. All the best, Gerald Tellez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Modern Revival

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Stayed here 12 years ago because of the location. The entire hotel has been updated, so not just a great location but a great hotel. The intimate size of the hotel makes the service from staff very personal, from the front desk to the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Gtellez, Hotel Management
Hello John, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback with us. I am glad you loved your entire experience. I will share this with my team. We look forward to your next visit. All the best, Gerald Tellez Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice but ac would not go below 71f degrees

Posted Mar 13, 2017
I like my hotel rooms at 68 degrees. The thermostat would not let me go below 71 degrees. Other than that I would come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize that you experienced issues with your AC. We will absolutely look into this right away and hope that it did not affect your stay too greatly. If you should find yourself back in the Marina, please feel free to reach out to me personally. We would love to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too hip for us

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Hip hotel with loud music in lobby all the time. Room was small but beds comfy. Good hotel room safe. Close to LAX.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your experience. I apologize that the music was too loud for your liking. We do hope to accommodate all our guests to the best of our ability and I regret that we could not accommodate better on this subject. We certainly would love to welcome you back again in the future and are happy to adjust the music as well. Thank you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

View of the harbor

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful. Greyson was excellent. The French omlette was my daily breakfast- delicious! Dinner around the fire pits, appetizers and cocktails - all wonderful. Wish valet parking $30/day was optional
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Gerald Tellez, Hotel Management
Hello Peacful, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to your return. All the best, Gerald Tellez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Beautiful spot close to many things.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Close to Venice Beach, Santa Monica, Malibu and easy access to highways for other spots. Pretty views from the room , pool and hot tub. Shopping is close by. You could walk to it. The only slightly annoying thing is the valet parking. We were in and out a lot and it would have been nice to self park sometimes. We never had to wait though, they were quick and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your experience. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Mandatory $30 per day to park

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Super nice hotel on the water with a beautiful view of the marina. Extremely comfortable beds. Great decor and friendly staff. Eminities unclude outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. I would totally recommend this hotel. Just be prepared to pay $30 per day for parking. This was my only complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Kayla Luskin, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience. I apologize that parking was a detractor from your stay, but do hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable overall. We certainly do hope to welcome you back again soon!