Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missoula

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great location downtown near Union Station, restaurants, a craft market and convenience stores. Staff was very accommodating of our requests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great stay

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Great room and very clean. Wifi worked good and we had a great recommendation for Chinese food next door. Room was ready early and the staff were super nice! Close to shopping and right across the street from union station. Best rate for location!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somewhere

Close to downtown LA/Chinatown

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Hotel is old, dirty carpet and old smell, slow elevator. They have a designated hotel parking which you pay $4.00 each day. Other people can park for $10.00 all day. There's subway and mexican restaurant beside the hotel. You can tell that some customers are staying there or parking frequently so that they can sell around the area. Free bagels, bread small muffins, cereals, coffee and juices for breakfast and hot & cold water dispenser on each floor. Flat screen tv and small fridge in a king size not too comfortable bed. Front desk is not that friendly, kitchen staff lady is nice. They close the gate of the parking at night for "safety" they said and you have to go inside to let the guy open the gate. Lowest rate on a weekend for $129.90 King bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Very well located hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Near Union Station, Olvera Street, Chinatown, Little Tokyo. Art District and Downtown. The staff was kind, the breakfast OK, but the condition of the building and the rooms were not so good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Hotel was alright close to downtown area

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: What we like about the hotel was the location. The hotel was close to the places where we wanted to go.
Cons: We realize that the Hotel is a little bit old, however, the smell in the hallways can be improved by changing the hallway carpet for the new ones.
Location: The Hotel location is ideal to people who would like to walk around the City Parks and go visit City Hall. Has easy access to local Chinese market.
Our experience was enjoyable with the location of the hotel close to business and point of interest areas where you can access by walking. We enjoyed walking around to City Hall and City parks including the china town district were you can select and taste different kinds of food. The public transportation was excellent. The weather at the time were very mild and excellent for us. We had a good time and was beyond our expectations. The only draw back is that the communication skills on the evening staff. It needs to be improved for people who does not speak Chinese.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for LA's Union Station.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Great location for Union Station. It was an easy experience.
Easy enough but getting to be run down. There were buckets in the hallway to catch water from constant drips, including one right by my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Location: Only about a 6 minute drive to the convention center. I took an Uber which only cost me $5.
I was in search of a hotel that was in my price range, fairly close to the LA Convention Center, and provided breakfast. This hotel did just that. Unfortunately they didn't provide a hot breakfast, but they had bagels, lots of fresh fruit (apples, bananas, oranges), and different types of pastries. They also provided free coffee and tea which was nice, but the coffee wasn't Starbucks. This hotel gave me a place to sleep, at a good price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, affordable downtown hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Free parking, good wi-fi, rooms are clean and quiet.
Cons: The continental breakfast is almost too basic to be worthwhile.
Location: Across the street from Olvera St.; short walk to the train station.
Comfortable, clean, quiet basic hotel close to Olvera St. and the train station. Free parking in a covered garage with a short walk directly into their lobby. Their continental breakfast is pretty limited, but otherwise the place is fine. We'd stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hesperia

LOUD

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Clean room
Cons: Do something about the smell in the lobby! Expand your breakfast. Get a waffle maker!
Location: Downtown location. Plenty of places to eat and things to do
Paper thin walls. Hotel is on a very loud busy street. Lobby reeks of the Subway sandwich place next door. However, room was very clean. Continental breakfast is pretty limited. Mattress kinda hard but despite the noise I slept well. Should be an $80-$90 a night hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Location and value.
Location: Phillipe's, Union Station, Olivera St., Chinatown, & downtown LA are in walking distance.
Clean, quiet room is close to Union Station. Check-in is easy.