Ratings based on 1,399 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz CA

I Will Return to This Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: see above
The hotel staff was excellent (three-day stay) with our questions and needs. The price is good with parking $4 a day for each of our two cars. For the first day stay, as a woman by myself, I felt safe walking that historical old town area. The hotel is centrally located for visiting much of Los Angeles attractions. When we left, my boyfriend forgot his suit and we called 200 miles away. They told us it was in lost and found and asked that we call call a week later the morning of the day we would be going by LA and they have it at the front desk. I will return to this hotel for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Chinatown hotel.

Posted May 27, 2017
This hotel is convenient for exploring Chinatown and Olvera Street. I stayed there and went to a Dodgers game by taking the shuttle from nearby Union Station and was very happy with everything. There is a parking garage affiliated with the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Within Walking Distance of Union Sta.

Posted May 24, 2017
Chose hotel due to location near Union Sta. Used subway and light rail extensively while in LA. Both located inside Union Sta. Incredibly convenient!! Hotel could use a renovation--especially in hallways and lobby area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Left

Posted May 24, 2017
Worst I ever went to checked in so bad I went to eat and never went back tried to call that night and yesterday but of course no answer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 23, 2017
Had a great stay really clean and comfortable hotel is perfectly located in the middle of everything great food in the surrounding areas overall great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Accessibility to Work

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: I have been seeing this hotel whenever I do my 30-minute walk from my work.
Cons: I don't know yet at this time.
My first time to get a hotel in Los Angeles. I find the hotel cleaned: the beds are warm and cozy and very comfortable. The hotel is very accessible to my place of work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good Downtown location

Posted May 19, 2017
Chose Metro Plaza due to its proximity to Union Station. This meant the shuttle bus from LAX to Union Station was at my doorstep. Plus using the Metro from Union Station to get to Hollywood, Universal Studios, Dodger Stadium, Santa Monica, LA Coliseum, Griffith Observatory & Anaheim was also very easy to access. So the location for me was outstanding! Hotel itself served every function I required and my room was large enough, clean, with a comfy bed and fully equipped bathroom. The fittings are somewhat dated & the corridor carpet had certainly seen better days. Breakfast was a bit lean, all plastic plates/cutlery & not a wide choice. All considered I was really satisfied, mainly due to the location that for me was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Large rooms and close to Union Station

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Large rooms. Not expensive.
Cons: Clean entrance door.Tell manic cleaner in the Breakfast Room to stop cleaning the food and drink bench while people are trying to get to it.
Location: See Art Deco Union station.Take free Dash B bus around city, Blue Bus R10 across road to Santa Monica for $1.Go to Citadel outlet by free shuttle
Rooms facing the major street are noisy but,worse than that, the heavy room doors have no mechanism that slows down their closing so every door closing nearby keeps you from sleep. Area around the hotel is uninspiring but clean. Can walk to downtown from there. Reception staff not welcoming but will answer your questions..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel smell was really bad , the staff not even friendly at all . Kinda rude . I woukd recommend it to anybody
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Auckland NZ

Nice basic clean hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
I stayed 2 nights, Front desk always eager to help, gave directions. Breakfast adequate for me. Room old but very clean. Bad lighting and very few power sockets. Very close to union station the hub of transportation. Took the big blue bus to Santa Monica right across the street from hotel. Walking distance to city.