Ratings based on 1,021 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity to great food and Union Station
Location: Union Station, Philippe's, Little Jewel of New Orleans po'boys and beignets. Olvera Street shopping and Mexican food, Chinatown.
Great location! Right on the edge of Chinatown. Dim Sum restaurants all around. Just steps from the historic Avila Adobe and the shopping stalls at Olvera Street. Across the street from The Original Philippe Classic French Dipped Sandwiches. Little Jewel of New Orleans is just another block away. $20/hr Foot Massage at Spaabulous in the shopping center out the back door. $4 parking on site. Bagels, Raisin Bran, fruit, juice and coffee get you started for the day. Walk two blocks over to Union Station. Admire the beauty of the architecture and decor. Go downstairs and purchase a $7 day pass for the Metro and explore LA at your leisure. No traffic or parking hassles. Room had two Queen beds, was clean and comfortable. Mini fridge to store sodas and leftovers. Filtered water available at elevator location. Wonderful staff. Only needed a place to sleep four adults in comfort. Metro goes all the way to Universal Studios, which was our main destination. Hollywood and Highland was a bonus. Great base for discovering Los Angeles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chile

Location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The only reason you would choose this hotel is its location. It's one block from Union Station, and if you travel by train is the place to stay. The room was very outdated, smelled bad, the carpet and the couch disgustingly dirty. Poor breakfast. At check in they take the imprint of your credit card - who even does that anymore? But again - the location is unbeatable. Only short walk from the major transportation hub and LA Chinatown. My advise - rent a car and stay somewhere else. If you bring your car to this place, they will charge you $16 a night for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Location.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Excellent location to the sights and sounds of LA. Union Station access to the beaches was great. Metro system efficient, clean, inexpensive. Do not need a car to get around. Weather was warmer and sunnier than Boston. Our second time staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Paula, CA

Much better than expected

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Location: The location in Chinatown, with all its charm and flavourful restaurants is priceless. Also, a walking distance to Central Station, the Cathedral, etc
The rating of so many hotels is arrogantly above what it should be that finding a place, which under-rates itself is pleasantly surprising. Metro Plaza definitely deserves a 2.5 star rating. It's centrally located (Chinatown), has decent, even interesting rooms (those with king beds), rooms are quiet (some have views of city skyline), bathrooms updated, parking is VERY economical, breakfast is a frugal buffet, but, do we really need all these extra calories of decadent breakfast venues? For this level of experience you would pay double one mile further downtown without any added advantage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

무난했다

Posted Jan 29, 2016
무난햇다. 유니온역과 가깝지만 코닿을거리는아니다. 그래도 유니온역이 교통이 편리한편이니 괜찮았고ㅡ 객실이 넓고 청결했었다
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego , CA

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: big room and clean
Cons: if change the comforter.
Location: close to train station
I recommend this for someone need to take train. walk to train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland NZ

Excellent staff

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: I liked how convenient it was to union station. I also felt very safe even though there are some homeless people around they don't bother you.
Cons: It would be great if they had a microwave and an electric jug to make a nice cup of tea.
The hotel room was super clean and the front desk staff were very friendly and efficient as was the staff in the breakfast room. Nothing was too much trouble. They booked a tour for me and booked a taxi for me at the end of my stay. They also let you store your luggage there if you need to which I did whilst I went on a tour of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Great stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016
It was a great short stay. Close to everything. Will book again in the near future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good Location

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We come here at least once a year and stay here because of the location and quite honest the price is reasonable. This past time we were very disappointed, we had 5 rooms on the 4th floor and 2 on the 3rd floor. The hallways on both floor smelled had a very strong pot odor, we had to run to our rooms. The wifi barely work, weak signal. This hotel is DUE for renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Indoor parking is cheap only $4 a day, very close to the front desk and the elevators. No coffee makers in the room, but each floor has a cooler with hot water and ice machine. Gas station across the street. Close to highways.