Ratings based on 4,066 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Beautiful building, great downtown location, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful and polite staff, though did a lot of mistakes: in the evening at the hotel restaurant we could not get food we ordered, then we found that after spending a day in our rooms we still are not checked in because of receptionist mistake. Other than that everything was excellent!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Overnight stay only. Easy check in. Room on the small side. Simple decor in the room. Bed somewhat lumpy, not the most comfortable. Overall, just an okay experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Classic hotel in downtown LA

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: The hallways to the rooms are long and a little institutional. Art work and different lighting would make it feel a lot more welcoming
Location: The location could not be better it is in the center of town
This is a very classic old hotel with a lot of charm. The main public areas are amazing and impressive. The Bar is great, there is a coffee shop that is perfect in the morning. The rooms are clean and in a classic style. I felt that all the furniture was new but again very classic. The bathroom was very clean and recently remodeled. Our room was somewhat small but that was all that we wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Location was perfect. Loved the history.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: upgrades - carpet is very warn...just OLD stuff not just old style - owners need to put a little money in these rooms...couldn't see TV from bed.
Location: right next to great restaurants, sky ride in US BANK Tower and Pershing Square.
We had a club room and it was nothing special...went to the club lounge to get a latte around 4pm and the machine wasn't working...just had come hard candy out - again sort of disappointing. Breakfast was just ok...hardboiled eggs, pastries and cereal...nothing special. I wouldn't recommend the club - I'd save the $ and go to Starbucks right outside the hotel...No extra blanket in the room and it was supper cold...heater just blew air - not warm air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming historic hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We stayed on the eve of the Women's March in LA which started across the street from the hotel. On a crazy busy day, the hotel staff was caring and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. Greg the bartender in the Lobby Bar is a gem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
First room smelled musty. Second room smelled like paint and the toilet didn't flush. Neither bathrooms were cleaned properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Its best days are long gone

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Charming lobby - good for film crews
Cons: Needs renovation
Location: Location ok
Room I was in turned out to be old-fashioned and worn. Trash can handling next door at 5am!!!! Very noisy! Old-fashioned windows can't handle noise
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IT

Regret to book it

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Love the hotel's lobby. Pretty and historically. BUT there room is so old and bathroom is so nasty feel like it's a public bathroom. No fan in the bathroom, toilet didn't even clean when we first check in. Sound insulation is poor. You can hear people talking while they pass by you can even hear other room flashing their toilet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

American Horror Story Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: total overhaul of the hotel
Location: It is near downtown.
Disgusting and Haunted. I would NOT recommend staying at this hotel. Not clean, maintained, or efficient. The building seems in disrepair overall. Management was not there for holidays. Long lines to ck in. Bed was stained, dirty, and old. Shower didn't work. Iron was useless to iron clothes. Key card didn't work first time and had to go wait in line again. After I got back, I picked up my car and left without sleeping in that old bed. If you like American Horror Story or The Shining, this is the perfect gem for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Excellent piece of history in sparkling condition!