Ratings based on 1,780 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Little Tokyo

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Hotel is within walking distance (10 minutes with luggage) of Union station in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles and 1 minute walk to Gold line train at little Tokyo/Arts District station. 10 Story hotel we were on the 8th floor at the rear overlooking car park which I suspect is a quieter room than those at the front. The top two floors were being renovated during our stay but the noise was not intrusive. Several Japanese markets nearby and many Japanese restaurants around. Closest American style supermarket required train trip (no car) which we rolled into one of our many sightseeing trips. Rooms were Japanese themed and a little bit tired but may be in for a future makeover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great value; good hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Location; great eating and cool Japanese shops nearby. Bathroom.
Cons: The bathroom could use more light.
Location: Japanese Village, ramen shops, downtown LA
Hidden gem in Little Tokyo, in DTLA. Was there for a conference and stayed at the Miyako due to it's economical pricing. I was a bit hesitant as it was a little far from the conference venue, but overall I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Check in was seamless, the room was simple and clean, and featured a Japanese style toilet (warm seats, bidet), and slippers. Staff was also helpful upon check out and held my bags all day until I picked them up for my flight. Very attentive hops and polite desk staff. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel Beside little Tokyo

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I always stay in this hotel when you go to LA. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Convenient to Little Tokyo

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to restaurants. Pricing was good. Clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms.
Location: In the middle of Little Tokyo with many restaurants a short walk away. The Japanese American Museum is a block away.
This is my second stay at the Miyako Hotel. The rooms are in very good/new condition, clean, and efficient. I wish that the lighting in the main room and particularly the bathroom were brighter. There is a safe in the room but ours was not bolted or otherwise secured. Someone would have looked obvious carrying the safe out of room but the safe should be secured. The staff is great and pleasant. If you want to walk, shop, or eat there are plenty of options nearby. Also the Japanese-American Museum is a block away. For those who are driving their own vehicle, valet parking is provided for $30 per day. Some may say that this is expensive but there are in-out privileges. Many of the other hotels in the area charge as much as $50 per day. Another option is to use the public parking garage a half block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location, near good Japanese restaurants and

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: furnishings, decor is somewhat old
Location: food, arts district, easy access to other DTLA areas and Staples Center, LA Convention Center, etc.
A small hotel with limited amenities but reasonably priced and within walking distance of Arts District and surrounded by many choices for Japanese food. Very close to Metro stop which takes you to Union Station and access to the extensive Metro system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel in downtown LA

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet. And a pleasant unexpected surprise was the bidet in the bathroom.
Good location in what appears to be a revitalized area close to China Town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It was very clean

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Lower prices
Location: In the middle of the little Tokyo district is Los Angeles. Anything you want is within 3 blocks of the hotel.
All I wanted was a bed and a bathroom and that they had. Be careful about the package you buy. Mine came with an $18.00 breakfast included in the bill. I never eat breakfast so I still have 7 tickets for 7 breakfasted. For $2100.00 a week, it is a 3 star hotel with 4 stars prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to lots of attractions

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff are great and the rooms are very comfy.
Cons: Internet stability
Location: Close to museums such as The Broad and MOCA, city hall and Grand Park, the Japanese plaza, and walking distance to most Downtown locations.
Miyako hotel is right next to the arts district which is great for anyone that enjoys museums, good food and a short walk to downtown. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The room I stayed in had a good amount of space in the main bedroom area, and I was pleasantly surprised by how big the bathroom was. While this location is a little pricey (it is LA after all) I definitely felt I got my money's worth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

OK hotel, but way overpriced and overrated

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The room was clean.
I can't understand why people voted so high this hotel. It was close to three hundred bucks for one night, to find there's not even complimentary water (you want water? then pay 1.5$ per each tiny one you touch). Wait... Seriously? I am not asking for a bottle of champagne. Just water! No parking either, unless you pay premium to a valet, or go to the public one, which costs money too. Neither complimentary breakfast. The room? Very so-so for that price. The toilet was one of those Asian ones with buttons for bidet and such, but ours was malfunctioning. Our floor was currently being renovated too, which was kinda annoying. Hey but at least the place it's close to some bars and restaurants, and in the other side of the street there is a grocery store where you can buy water, in case you feel like rebelling and not buying Miyako's. The area looked a bit sketchy late at night though; better not to walk around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The bathroom light was so dim I almost couldn't find the toilet!