Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing experience

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: The experience and convience
Cons: No
Location: Great food and shopping
The staff was the most accommodating staff I have ever felt with. The stay was perfection. Frank
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star property, 3 star service

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Luxurious, tasteful decor. the spa
Cons: More outlets conveniently located for phones, computers, accessories, etc.
Gorgeous facilities, impeccably well-built and appointed, great location. Had all the polish you'd expect of a 5 star hotel in Beverly Hills.....until I checked in..... Room wasn't ready so I went to work out in the spa / excise facility, which is very nice. When it finally was ready, I was told that the card reader on the room door wasn't functioning so had to go find a manager to let me into my room. He couldn't give me any keys at the time, so I got dressed for my meeting and didn't return to the hotel until about 9pm later that night, where I finally was given a set of keys to my room. I must have dealt with 4 different people throughout the whole process. I'm not convinced that booking thru sites like expedia provide any advantage at these properties other than maybe lower cost. You can feel the depleted energy you get when the receptionist looks at her computer to see you've gone thru a 3rd party. Sorry to be harsh, but this has happened more than once to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great hotel, great location, great staff

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds, great pool, wonderful staff
Cons: Enforcement of pool policies
Location: Great shopping, dining and close proximity to beaches in Santa Monica
The title summarizes the experience. We are Montage fans and this hotel does not disappoint. The staff is well trained and really do want the guests to enjoy their stay. There appeared to be some miscommunication between Expedia and the hotel as we received an email about Expedia Plus daily amenities, the hotel did not receive this communication but fulfilled the expectation regardless. On our prior trip Paintbox, kids center, was not open. This time it was and the kids enjoyed their time with the pleasant lady who ran it. The roof top pool is a great spot and is active. We did reserve a cabana for Super Bowl and had a pleasant time until the end when the hotel allowed a large group of disorderly people occupy a cabana on the end. This was our only unpleasant experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inaccurate online room description

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Obviously the hotel was gorgeous and in a wonderful location. However, the rooms we stayed in were not what we had booked online. When I was searching for places to stay, the Montage Hotel was a top choice. On the Hotel.com website the Premier GardenTerrace Suite was listed to have 2 King beds. I even called to confirm and the information line confirmed that the rooms in fact had two king beds. When my family and I arrived, the hotel staff said they were upgrading our rooms, seemed to be a surprise bonus. Upon entering the room, I noted there was only one king bed and then a sofa sleeper (although there was no additional linen anywhere in the room). I went down to the front desk to ask about the issue and they informed us that there were no rooms as described on the website. Had I not gone through the trouble of calling to confirm I would not be half as upset. I know will need to confirm the prices as I believe there was a significant difference. I will also be following up with Hotel.com.
3 out of 5
by Matt from Santa Barbara

The Value is Simply Not There.

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
The Montage is a lovely hotel. The service was far from the best I've had, but still top notch. The location is excellent. My room was simple, but well appointed and spacious. But quite simply, you don't get what you pay for here. With astronomical price tags, I expect outstanding everything across the board. I found it to be standard issue luxury served with a healthy dose of stereotypical LA pretentiousness. While the staff was friendly, it was all with an air of artificiality. Additionally, I felt nickel and dimed after realizing I had no complimentary water or coffee in my room. A small bottle of champagne was included, and as essential as that may be for some, I would have preferred the other two elements fundamental for life instead. Furthermore, the street noise in the room was borderline absurd. In other words: nothing special, slightly condescending, and extremely overpriced... but hey, maybe that's your thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Very attentive staff, location. You do feel special when you pull up but that feeling ends when you arrive in your room.
Cons: Rooms and lobby just aren't spectacular. Feels old, not even in a rich way. They need a new rooftop pool.
Location: Heart of Beverly Hills. Couldn't be much better.
We were really looking forward to our stay here. We were anticipating it being one of the finest hotels we ever stay in. It was not. Great location but the infrastructure just isn't there.
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ferrari.girl

Amazing hotel, location & staff!

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Orbitz
The Montage is an amazing hotel in the heart of Beverly Hills. Our stay was incredible as was the staff. We will definitlely be heading back as it is centrally located to everywhere you want to be. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and no expense is spared with ammenities. Breakfast on the roof top was wonderful, the bar and it's offerings were terrific. Simply incredible, decadent and indulgent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

First class service!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. . Will stay there any time we are in town.
5 out of 5
by judeh

Montage

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic through and through. Impeccable service, excellent location and great staff. Looking forward to the next stay!