Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No major complaints but room for improvement

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. A big-time shout-out to them.
Cons: Room lighting was terrible, especially if both people wanted to read in bed. View was of a concrete-block wall; who knew what the weather was outside?
Location: Easy walking to points of interest. Easy access to public transportation.
Main purpose of trip was to attend an event at Staples Center. Unfamiliar with LA -- landed on this hotel because it was located nearby, was reasonably priced by LA standards, and was also near a transportation hub that allowed for easy travel to other areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable but hidden costs!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Don't advertise free breakfast if you need to pay for it upon check in!
Location: Close to LIVE LA, staples center and convention center.
Overall a good experience with friendly staff and a clean room. The negatives for me where the extra charge of $14/day for amenities. These amenities were H2O, breakfast, golds Gym access etc. I book hotels with "free breakfast" as one of my priorities. I guess one needs to read "resort fees" under the room price! On the good side, the breakfast covered all food groups. The room was clean but at times noisy. A nearby club and the venting system outside my window contributed to this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Lack of service and organization

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We have a corporate rate at this hotel and several of our employees stay here from time to time. Unfortunate that upon check in, we were sent up to a room that had dirty sheets that clearly looked slept in and had not been changed, the bathroom door was off the hinges and could not be closed (set to the side), and the bed was definitely not a queen bed. Then I call down and I was asked to come down and get new room keys. No offer to help with bags or "I'm sorry about the inconvenience, let me bring you new room keys, etc...". So repack and go downstairs for new keys only to be sent up to the same floor in a room where there is major construction going on in the room next door. Drilling, sawcutting, etc...I call down again and mention this and was told "it's not construction, they're just installing granite. If you want, come down and i'll switch your room." This is when I said, "no, you will bring me keys to a new f'ing room". Finally we were put in a room that was ok but wasted an hour of time where I wanted to nap before a very important business meeting and was not able to. I guess what I'd say is, train your staff and work on your service. You're competing with other hotels that have impeccable customer service. And, keep your rooms maintained and clean...for the price, I could have stayed in many other places downtown and will next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Nice hotel in a great location. Close to LA Live/ Staples Stadium and the metro. Lift was not working when we are there and had to walk up stairs to the 5th floor for the 5 days we were there. Didn't have to pay the service fee which was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The O Hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: It's downtown location, ease of access, cleanliness, has everything I need for business related travel.
Cons: 1. I would suggest they improve the quality of the lighting throughout. 2. Provide non starch options at breakfast.
Location: Close to all things downtown LA. My favorite Italian restaurant is Bottega Louie.
The best thing about the O Hotel is its proximity to everything in downtown LA. You can park your car and walk to meetings, great restaurants, entertainment, you name it. The overall ambiance is contemporary sheikh.The rooms are spartan but comfortable - you don't really need more. They offer a continental breakfast (it would be nice to see an alternative to starch on the menu). The staff is always pleasant and helpful. I would suggest they improve the quality of the lighting throughout. Everywhere is dark. It works for the ambiance. It's ok at the check in desk, it's bordering on ok in the hallways. I can understand energy efficiency, but even in the rooms, it's dark - all the fixtures are small and do not cast a broad band of light. You don't have an option for making it brighter. The most important place where lighting could be better is in the bathroom - the sink area is dark (not good for putting on makeup).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Expected More

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: Hotel Amenities. No ice machine on the floors, elevator stopped working Saturday night thru Sunday and we were on the 5th floor.
Location: Staples Center, LA Live, The pantry within 5 mins walking.
The one good thing I can say about this hotel is the location! Super close to Staples Center, LA Live and The Pantry. Other than that our stay was less than exciting and a lot worse than I expected. The hotel Amenities sucked. We paid $14 each for "resort fees" we never used. There was no ice machine on the floors, elevator stopped working Saturday night thru Sunday and we were on the 5th floor. The lady who answered the phone in the restaurant gave me a hard time for changing my order 2 seconds after i placed it. Room service was delivered in take out boxes/bags from the restaurant rather than delivered nicely with plates/silverware like normal hotels. I had high hopes for this hotel and was vert much dissapointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of fake charges-Prepare for no resolution

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: staff seemed nice on the phone and in person
Cons: Working shower would be good. I used someone else's if that is cool with you, great. Issue resolution-Non-Existent
My room not available so they put me in a queen room which is fine with me. The next day they made me switch to my original booked King room. The shower did not work well at all. Attempt to repair never happened. They said they were going to remove the $14.00 per day service fee for my inconvenience of switching rooms which they never did, whatever. There is also a $48.00 charge hold on my credit card they will not remove and are unable to tell me what it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique room, sweet price

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Cozy room for good price
Location: LA Convention Center
Great for business stay for one. Hip, modern decor. Decent breakfast. Cozy bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice and clean hotel, No parking

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Clean room, nice staffs
Cons: need to check in faster, only 1 person was checking in before us, took more than 20 mins.
Location: Convenient location, in the heart of downtown, walking distance to Convention center and Staples Center.
Hotel room is clean, friendly and helpful staffs, TV has variety of channels even HBO, which is nice. Breakfast was terrible for $14 resort fee that we had to pay, no bacons or sausages, just cereal, bagel, eggs fruits, only orange juice. This hotel also has no parking, we had to park next door for $18/24 hrs, one time we parked 1d 2h 50' and they charged us 2 full days for $36.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, United States of America

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Small hotel, walking distance to Staples, Microsoft Theater, FILM, and other LA sites. Quite noisy if you get a room facing the street but overall, fine. Would stay again.