Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Overall, we had an enjoyable experience - breakfast offered a decent selection of food, the hotel is in a great location, and facilities are generally calm and quiet. However, given the price of our stay, I was expecting a greater value. Most of the staff ranged from pleasant to uninterested. The lobby rug and reception chairs are in desperate need of cleaning. While our stay did not detract from our experience in Santa Monica, I would not return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pac nw

Surprising restaurant

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Liked the place. Pool closes at 6pm... Great food and more reasonable room service prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Leah E, Hotel Management
Dear HL, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to dine in our restaurant, Tower 8! We hope you will come back and visit us soon. Best, Leah Edwards, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location/ kid friendly

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: Exhaust fan in the bathroom. Better sound insulation on streetside windows (e.g. triple glazed windows)
Location: Walk along the park across from the hotel and enjoy the view of the ocean. Walk to Santa Monica Pier and enjoy the rides and overall atmosphere.
The location is great. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There is no parking so be prepared to pay $45/day for parking. Kid friendly hotel. There were lots of kids, including ours, enjoying the centrally located swimming pool. We enjoyed a good breakfast buffet by the pool. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We rented a suite. The bedroom and living room were a bit noisy. We could hear the neighbor's TV and sometimes the people walking in the room upstairs . The bedroom faced the street and even with the window closed we could hear the sound of cars passing during the night. The bathroom should have an exhaust fan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

ゆったり寛げる大人の時間

Posted Apr 9, 2016
部屋の目の前が海で夕陽がとても美しい!清潔感のある心地よいホテルです。バーやレストランも美味しかった。朝ごはんのパンケーキが美味でした。また行きたいです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2016 by Leah E., Hotel Management
Dear HHH, Thank for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed our amenities, restaurant and we were able to provide you with a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will visit us again soon! Best, Leah Edwards, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun "beachy" vibe in great location.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Good find on the westside thanks to the pool and close proximity to the beach. Sweet and helpful staff. 11am seems a little early for check out and charging for water by the pool was excessive but otherwise a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Emerald Hills, CA

Old with a face lift

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome very friendly and accommodating
Cons: Internet
Location: Beach, and good restaurants
The place was average but expensive for the price. The internet was very sporadic at times and the signal was not good in room 119
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

kleineres Hotel in Santa Monica in sehr guter Lage

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Stylisch
Cons: Zimmer allgemein etwa auffrischen, Bezüge der Liegen am Pool können man mal erneuern
Location: gute Lage am Ocean Drive,
Wir waren 5 Tage im Juli dort. Sehr relaxte Stimmung,keine typisches Tour Hotel, gutes Essen im restaurant, netter Service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Pool, layout.
Cons: More soundproofing
It's a great hotel, but a little loud. You can hear your neighbors conversations next door, owing to the older construction. And the sheets, oddly, were loud as well, as if they were too starched.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central & old fashioned style Hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We had a very pleasant 3 night stay. The bed was a bit lumpy on one side but the Ocean view & general comfort was very nice. The restaurant on site was good. A bit on the pricey side. We did not use the valet park because there was plenty of public parking 5 hrs at a time across. We will go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NNYC

This is such a wonderful place

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This was my family's fifth annual stay @ Oceana...we just love it from the cold glass of Prosecco at arrival to the really spacious and lovely decor in the suite to the perfect little pool in the inside courtyard (yes, very Melrose Place) to the great breakfast buffet (best link pork sausages on the planet) to a really caring and attentive staff, this is definitely our go-to spot in Santa Monica