Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location/ kid friendly

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: Exhaust fan in the bathroom. Better sound insulation on streetside windows (e.g. triple glazed windows)
Location: Walk along the park across from the hotel and enjoy the view of the ocean. Walk to Santa Monica Pier and enjoy the rides and overall atmosphere.
The location is great. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There is no parking so be prepared to pay $45/day for parking. Kid friendly hotel. There were lots of kids, including ours, enjoying the centrally located swimming pool. We enjoyed a good breakfast buffet by the pool. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We rented a suite. The bedroom and living room were a bit noisy. We could hear the neighbor's TV and sometimes the people walking in the room upstairs . The bedroom faced the street and even with the window closed we could hear the sound of cars passing during the night. The bathroom should have an exhaust fan.
2 out of 5
by Peter

Don't get my room. Great people / location

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Bad sleep
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

ゆったり寛げる大人の時間

Posted Apr 9, 2016
部屋の目の前が海で夕陽がとても美しい!清潔感のある心地よいホテルです。バーやレストランも美味しかった。朝ごはんのパンケーキが美味でした。また行きたいです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2016 by Leah E., Hotel Management
Dear HHH, Thank for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed our amenities, restaurant and we were able to provide you with a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will visit us again soon! Best, Leah Edwards, General Manager
5 out of 5
by SHARON from New Jersey

Lovely community feeling

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place with special energy. Staff was very helpful. Pool and surrounding area lovely. Onsite breakfast option was quality. Great location without feeling surrounded by too many other people.
4 out of 5
by Benjamin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kristi from rumson

the good with the bad

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
the oceana is a great hotel and it has a nice vibe. I have stayed there at least once every year for the past 8-10 years. Some of the same things that got me hooked on the Oceana, like the beautiful rooms, the lovely pool, where you can sit and have coffee in the sun and the amazing breakfast are just as nice as ever. But there are two noticeable differences. 1-this has become much more of a family hotel, which is great if you are going with kids. Its definitely not as peaceful and cool around the pool as it used to be. So if you're going to stay there on a weekend, it's probably going to be tough to score a lounge chair and pretty noisy. And two, the service is sometimes good, and sometimes bad. That never used to be the case. This time I had horrible service upon check-in. So bad that if it wasn't 1130pm going into Easter weekend, that I would have left and gone somewhere else. But the staff the next day, including the general manager were very apologetic and worked hard to overcome the bad feelings check-in left me with. From then on, more of the same. Sometimes amazing service at the bar and restaurant. Sometimes we never got what we ordered. And it wasn't that the staff wasn't working hard. They just needed more people. Overall, the good prevailed over bad, but I had stacked up enough good experiences to overcome this one bad one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Leah, Hotel Management
Dear Kristi, Thank you taking the time to write us a review and for your continued loyalty to the Oceana. I appreciate your compliments about our atmosphere and breakfast, and I am so glad that you liked your room and our pool area. Thank you, as well, for letting us know about the service inconsistencies you experienced. I sincerely apologize - that is not the norm for us and you should not have experienced that. I am glad that you have had many great experiences at The Oceana but cannot apologize enough for this stay as you should never have a bad stay. I will surely discuss your comments with my team to ensure that that these issues do not happen again. I hope that you will continue to give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future, but, if nothing else, I want to express my gratitude for your visit and your review. Best, Leah Edwards, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun "beachy" vibe in great location.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Good find on the westside thanks to the pool and close proximity to the beach. Sweet and helpful staff. 11am seems a little early for check out and charging for water by the pool was excessive but otherwise a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Manfred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels