Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Cute hotel just wish staff were friendlier

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The room and hotel was clean and comfortable. Very trendy! Overall, our experience was great but when it came to check out the staff was pushy and not so friendly. We were 5 minutes late to check out and threatened with a late charge..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yokohama

I recommend this hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The location is great, the staff are excellent and the decoration is stylish. The only concern was water pipe. It must be old and you have to run it for a while before you can use it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Near Cedar Sinai

Posted Jul 8, 2016
I enjoy the funkiness of this hotel. Staff is consistently hospitable. Wish there were thermostats in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location. Close to LACMA

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Cute, quirky, small.
Cons: Just add a decent cup of coffee and it's fine.
I only wished for a bit more light, and a hot cup of real coffee and real cream in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
メルローズアベニューにある 立地が最高なホテル。 近くには ロンハーマンや 撮影スポットの羽の壁、 ポールスミスも 徒歩ですぐ!!! ホテル内の匂いがいい香り 部屋もお洒落で大好きなホテルです
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice cute hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Cons: there's no fan in the bathroom...therefore you need to wait a few minutes to use it after your roommate...
I really like the hotel set up...very cute and special. the room was clean and nicely arranged.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good location, no-frills hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Eclectic design, great location
Cons: Air quality and temperature control.
Location: The Grove and Melrose shopping is nearby.
I stayed here for its location, not for its comfort or amenities. The dual-bed room is on the first floor, sound proofing is minimal. To get fresh air the window has to be opened but it also is the smoking corner so it is at your own risk. The stale air was not too pleasant but at least they had ESPN and a good selection of TV Channels.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Palihotel - Cheapness disguised as hipness

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: I love the darkness, the sense of seclusion, and the general aesthetic of the place.
Cons: The service is terrible and slow. The staff places great emphasis on hipness -- haircuts, looks -- and no emphasis on efficiency.
Location: Location is great. Can't be beat, especially if you're a skateboarding LA hipster. It's ground zero for that community.
The Palihotel is a dark, intimate, charming boutique hotel, no doubt about it. The rooms are clean and loaded with off-beat details like bundles of unread old books stacked in the corner and garage-sale paintings on the wall. The problems come when the hipness gets in the way of comfort. Like, for some reason, the rooms don't have separate thermostats. So if someone in the hotel is cold, the hotel turns up the heat for everyone, and vice versa. I came in from the blistering LA heat, hoping to find a nice cool hotel room, but it was hot and stuffy. Then, later, during the cool night, the room was freezing cold, and there was nothing I could do about it. The minibar includes bottled drinks that require a bottle opener, but the hotel doesn't provide one, and there are no phones in the rooms to call down to the front desk. You have to go to the front desk and ask them for a bottle opener. And it turns out they have one. One. Which they have to search around in the desk for. The hotel also has thick, comfy terrycloth robes, but they are not actually in the rooms, you have to go down to the desk and ask for those too. They will bring them up to your room -- eventually. Both times I've stayed there, it took hours for someone to bring one up to my room. And the bathroom fixtures are in bad need of replacement. I've stayed in two different rooms and in each the bathtub fixtures were completely non-functional, just broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location and parking ($20/night). Comfortable mattress. Restaurant on site. Cons: The overall lighting was very very poor in the hallways, room and bathroom (everything from carpet to walls and headboard are a dark depressing green). White popcorn ceilings! Ladies, the bathroom lighting is no way conducive for applying makeup. Small, lumpy, and square-ish pillows with no support. No thermostat in the room. No closet or safe in the room. Also no clock, alarm or phone. Thin walls (you can hear guests and housekeeping in other rooms and street noise). I stayed here for 7 nights in a 1st floor room facing Sunset and it felt like a basement dungeon. Needless to say, I will not be staying again.