Ratings based on 1,496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: The rooms could be more clean.
The hotel was of good value, the staff helpful, and the breakfast good. If it were more clean, I'd be very enthused.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Sejour dans les palmiers

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: La piscine et la cour intérieur ainsi que le petit déjeuner
Cons: Rénovation, et des sèchoirs à cheveux qui fonctionnent.
Location: Pour visite L.A. c est un peu loin car beaucoup traffic mais le prix est meilleur. Plusieurs commerces sont loin, ça vous prend une voiture
Les photos du site de l hotel sont exactes et c est bien relaxant après une longue journée de visite de se prelasser a la piscine. Personnel accueillant. Petit déjeuner américain chaud et froid bon et varié. Serait quand même dû pour une bonne renovation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NC

Worst first /lasting appearance ever...

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I'm an average traveler...This may be the worst first appearance that I ever experience when entering a hotel room. The carpet and furniture was so dirty that it looked like a room that should have been taped "Keep Out". Refrigerator had so much ice build up that the door would not close. Tub had so much scum and mildew around it that I was afraid to get close to it. Therefore, getting in it wasn't an option! All phones in the room were out of order...couldn't even dial the front desk. Air-condition roared like a jackhammer was coming through the ceiling and finally gave out 2 of the 3 nights stay. When the door was in the locked / latched position you could still see through to the outside. Maybe that was the standard built in peep hole elongated to have one continious view. On a positive note: when asked to be move the staff did fine another room. However, the appearance remain the same!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regard to the overall cleanliness and condition of your room and the hotel. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Very old hotel with little left to offer.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Maintenance man was very friendly, even when he was called to advise us how to turn of the blinking signal that we had a message on the phone.
Cons: Through cleaning, new mattresses, bedding, towels, repair all broken things. New Wi-Fi server (one that actually works)
Location: Location was good for us, close to family. Area seemed safe and had shopping close by.
Beds not comfortable for a 12 year old. Changed rooms 3 times , finally settled for an extra mattress on top of existing one in hide-a-bed . Shower did not work in second room. During our 12 day stay they did not have Wi-Fi although advertised- as free. Everyday it was a different excuse- mostly with a surprised look- "really I'll tell the manager". Once the assistant manager attempted to set it up in our room - failed and gave my husband a phone number to call (their IT person) who attempted - failed and said someone else would contact us. This did not happen. Pool was old and patched- places looked moldy so my grandson would not go into it. Housekeeping rarely left enough towels. Which were very rough and well used. Never vacuumed the room during the entire stay. Sheets did not fit bed properly and came off the corners during the night. They could not seem to remember to give us cups most of the time...Nor coffee..... Decent breakfast foods but did not change once during the 12 days. Exactly the same everyday, some days the fruit was on its last leg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regard to the overall cleanliness and condition of your room and the hotel. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1950s Mattress

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Outdated rooms, with mattress that completely sunk into, felt springs and was hard. Most uncomfortable bed ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room in regards to the mattress being not comfortable. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Parkinn by Carlson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential to be a 5 Star-Needs updated and cleaned

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The Pool/full breakfast, close to everything and the staff was very friendly and accommodating!
Cons: The hotel is overdue for updates. Needs some TLC & maintenance...paint, new carpeting, real shower curtain, new locks on doors that work all the time
Location: Location was great, near shopping, restaurants, Disneyland, Beaches, Hollywood, LA, etc....
READ ALL the other reviews, it is all true. The best features of this hotel was the pool, full breakfast, the garden view and the staff was very friendly and they did try to make us happy. FYI-the Hot Tub IS STILL broken and it's now July 2016! Such a waste of what could be a great hotel. It is way over priced. Everything needs updated, cleaned and maintenance. All these negative reviews and nothing is done about it tells me they really don't care which is a shame. Spend $10 more and go elsewhere you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, and especially disappointed of the hot tub. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal, qc

Deception

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: rien
Cons: entretien pisicine, chambres et petit-dejeuner
Tres decu. etat de l'hotel, pas de wifi, sieges de la salle a manger sont sales...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed...

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pool was extremely dirty, short staffed, rooms are in serious need of updating. Won't be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Horrible Experience!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Implode the entire Hotel and start ALL over.
Location: Good location as I always stay down the street on "Hotel Row"
I have stayed at numerous Hotels, but NEVER like this! Upon my arrival I noticed there was NO TV in the bedroom, but there were two (2) in the living room. The room was not fully cleaned as it looked as if the maid had rushed out and forgot to return to finish making up the bed, and the fold out bed was out and unmade. The carpeting didn't seem to have been shampoo'd in who know how long (so much for my morning sit ups and push ups) as the carpeting was stained and VERY dirty. Room was very dated and musty smelling. The bathtub surround had mold all around and NO hot water. When I asked the front desk to have a TV moved to the bedroom, their answer was, "most rooms don't have TV's in the bedrooms". However, I had requested for a TV in the bedroom when reserving my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room in regards to the television issues. We will review the conditions of your room with our maintenance staff and the management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Parkinn by Carlson standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two room suite without the basics like two tvs

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Grounds are very run down, sidewalks filthy and need power washing, many rooms you walk past have plastic taped in windows (turns out they have serious mold problems). Room had nice couch and chair that looked new, but all the wood trim and door were badly in need of a paint job showing age, chipped, and dirty. There was only a tv in living room that didn't fit the space so there was a gaping hole beneath it, no tv in bedroom but the furniture and wall showed at one time there was. Bathroom - shower had mold and the tub looked ancient and had at one time been painted but poorly done, mirror was damaged. Just everything looked very run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regard to the overall cleanliness and condition of your room and the hotel. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.