Ratings based on 1,880 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Paradise at Portofino

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Their beds felt like I was sleeping on a cloud, very comfy & heavenly i slept &dreamed the night away. So relaxed i decided to stay a couple more nights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great staff and location

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Every staff person were met were helpful and friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is located by a yacht harbor and the ocean with many conveniences and, because much of it is restricted from traffic and outside parking, not crowded with people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ok hotel, look elsewhere for views.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfy.
Cons: Pillows were flat. View was lacking. Music can be heard from restaurant. Neighbors can be heard walking upstairs and taking showers.
Location: Lots of things to do in the area. Restaurants and nightlife are plentiful or if just want a walk on the beach, it's nearby
We found this hotel on Expedia for a reasonable price. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly valet and reception staff. We were given a room in the first floor that was an ADA room. I felt it was a bit small but acceptable. The marina view that was promised on Expedia fell flat. It was a view instead of a sidewalk, then some grass and trees, then a parking lot and then the hotel restaurant Baleen. Behind the restaurant was the marina. Expedia, please change the wording on the room description. It's a room with a parking lot view. As for the rest of the room, the bed was fine but the pillows were flat as pancakes! Bring your own from home if you can. The bathroom had a walk/roll in shower, which was fine until you used it and got half of the bathroom floor wet. The mat got completely soaked. The rest of the bathroom was ok. There is also a mini fridge that has a plastic tie on it. I'm guessing if you break the tie, you buy the contents? We didn't want to find out, so we left that alone. There was also a variety of snacks and drinks available for purchase, but with a mini bottle of Patron going for $29, we decided to leave those alone too. And speaking of things to purchase, there were tags on things saying that if you liked this item, you can take it home but your credit card will be billed accordingly. The cute seal on the bed was $35, scratchy bathrobes were $65, pool towels were $25. Overall we had a good stay, but will look elsewhere if we are back in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

夕焼けが、とにかく綺麗‼️

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: 車があれば、特に不便ではない!
海側の部屋に滞在し、夕焼けを満喫❗️ 朝から夜まで、オットセイの鳴き声が聴けて 非日常に浸れた! ホテルロビーも、重厚感があり、暖炉が素敵でした(^◇^)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from joisey

Portofino is slipping

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Location is great, on the water and near Redondo Beach
I've stayed here about a dozen times, but I will likely find alternatives. My room smelled like urine The air-conditioning didn't work And other sundry small items
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Loved this hotel the view and location where prefect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey

A little tired waterfront place

Posted Oct 20, 2016
I've stayed here a number of times and it's not bad. the Decor is a little worn out. The novelty of the sea lions is cool once or twice. The bar isn't open reliably according to its schedule. The restaurant across the parking lot is pretty decent. Not the best but not the worst. It's good if you're into the blueblood yacht theme.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Area
Cons: Everything
Location: Location great loads to do
Rooms are great. Great location. All very good .............😀
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from windsor, ont

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Nice waterfront hotel with your choice of marina or ocean view. Short walk to restaurants and the pier. The hotel staff were cheerful. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I have stayed at the Portofino Hotel in pass and got a room with view which was spectacular, however on this stay, I got a room facing the walkway and view was not that great, but everything else was great, a little pricing but if you get what you pay for, and the overall experience was excellent