Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2009 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Sep 10, 2009 on Hotels
the room looked nice, clean, and the air conditioner worked great. Mini fridge was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lithonia, GA

This is the Motel I'll use when visiting LA

Posted Sep 9, 2009
This is a nice place to stay, close to downtown, and convient to the freeway
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San diego

Good for the Money Paid.

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels
Its a good stay in a convenient location for the money paid. I recommend this hotel if you only intend to save some marginal bucks and be good to your pocket. There are no surprises in the hotel. All the facilities are as expected for the money I paid. The Management team was friendly. They give a fridge which is of no use (It was almost not working. I used freezer to cool my soda). They have a microwave in the office room and I had to walk every time I wanted to heat or boil milk. Bath room was clean, Closet was big, Room was not spacious and there was just little space to walk in between the two beds I had in the room, TV was showing 4-5 channels, I did not like the comforter over the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Needs Improvement

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels
Only 5 TV channels, no tissues in room, no coffee pot, no phone books, no Bible, soda machine out of order for the two days we were there, no english newspapers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Simple and clean

Posted Aug 31, 2009 on Hotels
If what you're looking for is a room to go back to at the end of the day, in a relatively safe area (normal common-sense city guidelines should apply!) that is clean and well-kept then this is perfect. It's a simple motel room which is normal size by European standards and small by American standards. The hotel manager is first generation Chinese; one reviewer mentioned he appeared rude, this is not the case, he is perfectly friendly, but comes across as quite blunt as he doesn't speak much English. The 'breakfast' is just coffee but that's the case in most independent motels... to get anything more is lucky! It's close to the metro and offers easy and quick access to the freeway and there is adequate parking spaces. We left the maid a tip each day (as is usual for California) and our room was cleaned spotlessly. They also made an effort to take notice of when you left the room for the day so we were not disturbed before. Around the hotel are numerous restaurants and bars... the hotel recommends some good ones in reception. Look for the courtyard area near the hotel which has quite a few good places to eat and drink as well as some interesting shops. We were looking for somewhere cheap, clean and comfortable and that is exactly what the Royal Pagoda offers. If you're looking for more, stay in Hollywood or Santa Monica.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2009 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2009 on Hotels
Very cute hotel! Clean, interesting decor, seems to be newly renovated, though quite small. Stay here if you really like a firm, firm mattress!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2009 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great deal for the price

Posted Jul 29, 2009
If you're looking for a Motel 6 level stay, I'd think it would be hard to beat this place. Cheaper, cleaner, more convenient to downtown LA, this place met all my requirements and left me feeling satisfied for finding such a good deal.