Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, poor quality control.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Located next to Hammer museum, with short walk to UCLA. Going through renovations currently, but at minimal cost or not quality checked. Many cosmetic problems in rooms (wallpaper coming up, drill holes showing...). For $189/night I expected a nicer room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel near UCLA

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was very helpful. Room was large and spacious.
Cons: Overall facility and reception bare bones.
Location: A block form downtown Westwood village and UCLA
Hotel staff was very helpful. Room was large and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Good stay.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The hotel was in a great location, close to UCLA Med facility, business, freeway and dining.
Good band for the buck. The staff was very accommodating as wee were in need of a rollaway bed for an additional guest, they instead upgraded the room at no charge to provide an extra bed. That was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Safe area! Wonderful staff!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I would definitely stay here again! Perhaps if you're looking for spa service and a hot tub or a pool you can go elsewhere & waste your money however if you want a really nice warm and friendly place to stay this is it! we had no problem getting in and out of the city by using city buses and trains… What a wonderful stay we had! We will be going again. One or two little items need some upgrading for someone who's really picky or pretentious this may be an issue...otherwise great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The room was clean but a little cold. The wall heater, unfortunately, was right next to the desk, so I was blasted with hot air as I worked there. Breakfast should be more than just grains and fruit. There was cereal, a pancake making machine, bagels, bread, and a small assortment of fruit. The night clerk and the day clerk knew their jobs well enough, but both were more businesslike rather than being pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel right in downtown Westwood

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, price, size of the rooms.
Cons: Things are getting somewhat jaded - bathrooms, hallway carpeting. Not enough to be objectionable but age is showing.
Location: Right downtown, with plenty of restaurants, shops, etc within a couple of minutes walk. Close to UCLA campus and the Medical Center.
I needed to stop over close to UCLA for a couple of different days. Had stayed further out by Santa Monica on previous trips, with mediocre hotels at typically inflated prices so decided to try the Royal Palace at about half the price for a better location. The prior reviews were pretty accurate - especially the v. tight parking (but at least it's free!). Included breakfast is typical and pretty basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A. Big Bear, CA

Great choice!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I was going to UCLA with a girlfriend of mine for an event where we needed to be waiting in line early in the morning, so I wanted a hotel nearby to make it a bit easier. This hotel was one of the closer ones, and it had good ratings so I thought I should give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by the room interior, all the amenities they provided, and the wonderful hotel staff themselves. The room was great, the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was amazing! The staff was kind and very helpful with answering all of my questions and giving me assistance. (I don't come to LA often, so I appreciated the help!) The walk to the part of UCLA we needed to get to was about fifteen minutes, but there were other parts of the campus that were right across the street from us! Lots of restaurants nearby, it was very convienent! They also offered free parking, which was helpful. I asked if I could pay extra to keep our car there after we checked out since we weren't sure when the event would be over, and the hotel staff just let us keep it there for free! The hotel was warm and inviting and it was a great time staying there! My friend also ended up forgetting her jacket at the hotel, but a quick call and talk with the staff and they will be mailing it to her today! Great experience. Totally would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles, United States of America

Ok

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Great
Wasn't very impressive but dicent enough for a one night stay. Price was reasonable Location is great, nearer down town Westood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Room was spacious, staff is friendly. Price is very reasonable.
Cons: I don't have anything specific to tell. I was really satisfied.
Location: Great location and reasonable price for hotel in this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice and clean for an older place.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Room was very nice and clean. Good breakfast and fast wifi. Vending machine was a life saver. The best part was the location.
Cons: Thin walls so you can hear people even if they just walk by. Sink only had very hot water.
Location: Great location. Right next to UCLA and in the heart of weatwood. Lots of diverse food options nearby and plenty of entertainment.