Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Handy location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location,and friendly staff.
Cons: The beds, and cleanliness.
Location: Great location, close to Walgreens which was useful.
Lovely friendly staff, and very helpful. Rooms ok, beds to small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Average

Posted Nov 9, 2016
You get a lot less for your money in Santa Monica than you do in other areas (e.g. Downtown). The motel was adequate but no frills. We parked fine but when it's busy it would be tight. The room was clean and basic and service checking in and out was fine. Overall it was fine, nothing exceptional but nothing to complain about. It's about a 20 minute walk to Santa Monica pier, probably an extra few coming back as it's uphill!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Lots- AC, cleanliness, polite staff
Location: Santa Monica, beach, LA
I arrived at 8:00 to check in. The only available room was a small, hot room with wrinkled, dirty sheets. No air conditioning. I exclaimed to the surly receptionist that it was a terrible room and that I was a return customer. She basically told me tough, I could move in the morning. Having looked at the sheets and condition of the bed, I slept in my clothes. They did move me to a different room the next day that was marginally better. However, for the price - quality ratio was way out of sync, It was extremely expensive and not worth it. No AC, no coffee machines in the room; a ceiling fan, and cheap blanket made it an unpleasant stay. I could not recommend this motel. Santa Monica has a lot of nice hotels some for less less money, some for a little more, some for a lot more, but at least the sheets will be clean and all the staff friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

85 degrees and no AC in the room

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Cons: Please put AC in the room, plus don't put lot of bleach on the room coz smells like hospital.
Location: 20mins walk or 7mins drive (1.3miles) you will be at the pier and beach which is kinda nice.
When we got there they let us check in early and really appreciate that. But no ac in the room once we got in there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10min walking distance from Santa Monica Pier

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Our room was clean but the bath room was small and not clean. The front stuff was very nice but I would not stay this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Selling point, location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Location was great, close to shops and beach The bed may have been the worst bed I've stayed in, the mattress springs were broken and creeking all night Hard to recommend the hotel to a friend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2016
Booked accom the day of arrival. Room was quiet and clean. Slept in one morning so left a note for house keeping to come back and do our room last. We went out for the day and came back after 11pm and housekeeping didn't come back .which in our eyes was no big problem at all. Went to reception to ask for clean towels and told reception what happened. They were lovely and gave us new towels on the spot and took our used ones. She apologised for house keeping a mistake. Over all experience was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing room but convenient location

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: I felt the staff was quite pleasant at check in and when checking out.
Cons: Better quality control on room cleaning and maintenance.
We weren't left enough towels or wash clothes. There was blood on the wall in the bathroom. The toilet paper holder fell apart when I tried to unroll some paper. We had two bottles of shampoo left in our room, but one was almost half gone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad night

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Old uncomfortable mattresses, broken thermostat so no heat. Thin old blanket, and refrigerator made huge clunking noises in the middle of the night. I was terrified after the first one as I thought someone was trying to get in my door. It's a sketchy area, yet I paid top dollar. Front desk closes at night and there is no phone in the room so you're stuck there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Our room was a closet, not what was shown online!

Posted Mar 31, 2016
We reserved a queen bed. It was a full size bed. The bed should have been retired in the 1990's. It dipped in the middle and was so uncomfortable. The bed was shoved up against a corner, no headboard because the room was so small. The noise from the traffic was loud. I feel like the owners pulled a'bait and switch'.