Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

It still is one of the best

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: ambience, by the beach, comprehensive facilities with pool, jaccuzi, spa, etc.
Location: close by Venice Beach and the board walk amusement park
After almost 15 year absence due to overseas assignment, my wife and I had returned to the property and what a delight it was to experience the same ambiences with a new look of more like a mediterranean beach resort. Although it was busy being holiday seasons, our room and the common area including the pool area and the lobby was very quiet and felt like home. We looked forward having a breakfast at the beach front caffe every morning followed by a long walk towards Venice Beach and sometimes to the north. Thank you very much for providing us with a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we look forward to our next stay at the Shutters on the beach. Sincerely yours, James NY
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Excellent hotel, right on the beach. Nice rooms.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Standard of rooms, swimming pool, location, helpful staff.
Location: Close to 3rd street precinct and pier. Also an easy walk or cycle to Venice Beach.
Couldn't fault our stay. Everything we needed. Really helpful concierge. Comfortable room, nice bathroom.
5 out of 5
by Jackson

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
great location....the staff is amazing....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of our favorite places to visit.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location and quaint decor.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great for walks along the beach and shopping in Santa Monica.
We enjoy this hotel for it's location and comfortable atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Phillips Ranch

Charming Hotel, but.......

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel, very charming. The staff were fantastic, maybe the best my wife and I have ever experienced. Room was great, like the hotel itself, very charming, romantic and comfortable, loved the view we had. Restaurant top shelf, everything we had was very good. The only downside as a guest in a top hotel, was the homeless people you run into as you exit the back of the hotel to walk on the beach or down the strand. Our heart's go out to them, but they are literally standing right at the gate. One man was yelling threatening and vulgar statements at my wife and two other young ladies as we stood near the gate looking at the ocean on Sunday morning. Fortunately, he stopped only for a moment, then kept on moving as he screamed at them. He never addressed me. The words he was using were again very violent threats! We felt very uneasy. This would be the only reason we would not return. I think the hotel should have a security guard at this part of the hotel just to be on the safe side.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from NYC

Perfect Getaway

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Just what i was longing for... quiet relaxing pool area... steps to the ocean...bicycles... fantastic food...Perfection!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ホテルの雰囲気はとてもよい

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
宿泊客は、無料で自転車を借りることができたので、とても便利でした。 プールも、温水プールもあり、子供連れでもまた来たいホテルです。 帰国後、請求書を確認した際、プール再度で食事を1度しかしていないのに、3度したことになっており、身に覚えのない請求があり、今、カード会社を通じて確認中です。全てよかっただけに、そのことだけが残念でなりません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sao paulo, brazil

An oasis in LA

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Great hotel, beautifully decorated spacious rooms, awesome staff and great facilities! Couldn't ask for more!