Ratings based on 949 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Fun, well-maintained older hotel. Good pool. Walls in rooms were thin, allowing some noise from neighboring rooms and hallway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Staff was friendly, loved the cocktails at the pool. Very relaxing trip after a day at Universal Studios.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location if you want to be in Studio City.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were exceptional, the location for my personal needs is great, the room is delightful, clean, modern and comfy.
Cons: Wifi is very spotty and wasn't very reliable.
Lovely hotel and the staff are fantastic. I called to try for a last minute reservation the morning of my check in. Spoke to by far the nicest man by the name of Howard. He was humorous, helpful and took my phone number down to call and let me know if I could check in early. I did manage to do an earlier check in and the entire front desk crew were incredible. Very lively pool area (loud but fun) and the rooms are delightful. Looks renovated, amazingly comfortable bed, I was on the 5th floor facing a quiet area, cute bathroom, clean and so convenient. Only thing I would have liked is a refrigerator as I'm used to the chains like Marriott and Hampton Inns etc., however, with a foodstore opposite and Starbucks plus other stores, it was no big deal. Will definitely stay there again. Will admit though that the direct rate booking through hotel website was cheaper than Expedia but it was too late, I had used Expedia for this booking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Wonderful hotel and staff!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean and location.
Cons: N/A
Location: Universal Studios is a couple minutes away and with the shuttle taking you there and back is amazing! A grocery store right across the street too.
The staff were very kind and helpful. Free shuttle that takes you to Universal Studios was extremely helpful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville,KY

Needs to upgrade simple to fix deficiencies

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location and basic facilities.
Cons: Some literature in the room showing a map of the facilities, times that pool, restaurant, bar were open and location of elevators, ice machine etc.
Location: n/a
There is no elevator in or near the lobby. My second floor room near the pool was very noisy making rest in the afternoon impossible. Many of the staff had poor command of the English language. The printer in the business center was "out of toner" for two days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Mid century modern old hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pea green color in the hallway is aweful and the carpet is just as bad. I think that this hotel was beautiful back in the day but you can tell that it has been renovated. I should of taken a picture of ceiling over tub in bathroom because although it was painted you could see bubbling under it. Paint was peeling off a spot on tile in shower surround. I asked for a refrigerator for our room since in small print I saw you could ask for one for twenty dollars a stay. They dropped off the oldest looking small refrigerator but it did work. Pool area was beautiful and the lobby was too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2016
The hallway is a bit outdated but room condition is comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Good hotel to get to universal studios.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Close also to Warner bros studio, a must see.
Location: Universal studio and Warner bros studio,
We took the free shuttle that the hotel offers to universal studio and it made it easy as we where a family of seven. The staff on the front desk where very accomadating and helpful, I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very Nice & The Price Was Right

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: If I could improve one thing about the hotel it would be to cover the shower vents that are no longer functioning or pest spray them when possible.
We booked this hotel last minute and had no idea what to expect. I researched it and saw it had a prominent history in California but was nervous on what modern accommodations it had now. The lobby is beautiful and very clean. I felt as though I was in a really high end hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful with everything. They had no problem taking their time in making sure I knew where to park, what accommodations they had, and how we could get to UNiversal Studios the easiest. Our room was an absolute delight. You could tell they really take care of each room. Our sheets were clean and the bathroom very modern and clean. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 in cleanliness is because in the shower there was a vent - that possible had a purpose prior to the updated renovations to the hotel - and before we took a shower a big spider crawled out from it. In the morning another spider was found in the shower. The hotel also gave my husband and I a smart tablet in the room at no extra cost to use for the stay that told about restaurants, grocery stores, attractions, and information about the hotel. It was so cool and a great help in finding where we could eat late in the night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

always great.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
This is a fantastic place to stay. We have stayed 2 times and will stay again. Love the rooms and the kids love the pool.