Ratings based on 1,025 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
This hotel was in a great location for a college tour trip. There were good restaurants within walking distance. The average cost of Lyft from and to the airport was $30. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is bare bones. Only hand soap but luckily we had our own toiletries. Had to go to front desk to get a hair dryer. No coffee maker in room. Bed was extra firm. The room was clean and met our very basic needs. The cost was much less than many other hotels in the same area. I would recommend this place if budget was a main factor and you were okay with an extremely basic stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare minimum

Posted Mar 16, 2017
location superb. Staff ok. Others sucks. Hotel only provide tiny pack of poor quality shampoo & a tiny (2.5x3x0.3cm) piece of poor quality soap. I felt itchy each time using it & decided to head to buy shampoo & shower gel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I should visit reception to borrow hair dryer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Felt like I had gone back in time!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Only that is was funny how bad it was.
Cons: Everything could be improved. Update the bedding, curtains, carpet, etc. Get rid of all the NO signs everywhere. Be friendly.
Location: The location was great, which is why we stayed there when all the other hotels were booked up due to convention.
This was definitely an experience........not to be repeated, but not really regretted! I felt like I was in the movie The Shining or something. Negative Signs everywhere about what you can't do. However we laughed more than at anyother hotel at the signs and conditions. It is old, smelly, small and unfriendly. I actually had to pay EXTRA for a second person in the room. Only stay here as a last resort! The beadspreads were dated and old, however, the beds themselves were not uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and nice staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The staff was very helpful and the accommodations were just what I was seeking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Stillwell Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback were glad you had a good stay at our hotel.Come to L.A. soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Meets a Need

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location near the Microsoft Theater. Room was bigger than expected.
Location: Microsoft Theater is nearby. There are also lots of restaurants near the theater.
Perfect hotel if you just need a bed and a bathroom for a night or two. We stayed at the Stillwell because of the location to the Microsoft Theater. Closer hotels near the theater were double (or more) the price of the Stillwell.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Greeting, room condition and accommodating requests
The overall experience was not pleasant. We were greeted rudely and got a room with a leaking roof. When asked to change the room, they denied our request. Additionally, we got in on a day where it was pouring rain, and instead of accommodating us to a room that was available before check-in, the receptionist rudely declined our request. Overall, would not recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
by SHELDON

Comfortable

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Joy

Comfortable, overpriced, outdated but clean room

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty expensive for a hotel that hasnt seen an upgrade for over 20 years. It felt like I was sleeping in my bedroom from the 80s. But it was clean. Just extremely over priced. No parking and overnight is $25 in the lot next door.