Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and historic hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Always something interesting to look at in the pool, grounds etc. Great people watching. But seriously, it has been years since I have been in a room with no coffee pot. I don't want to get dressed to go get the morning coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Very nice place but probably not for me

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I think this was my own fault. I chose a hotel that was too posh for my own good. I'll start with the positives, room was awesome! Huge, clean, comfortable, had all the amenities I needed. Location was great, easy for me to get to the places I wanted to go to. Negatives: most of the staff I interacted with were not friendly. But maybe it's because I don't dress up in designer suits when I'm on holiday and prefer to dress down. This hotel seemed to be for celebrity wannabes and I guess I was cramping the hotel's style. That said, the lady at the bar who served me and my local friends was very nice. WiFi - I can't believe that for the price I paid for the room I had to pay extra if I wanted WiFi. It's 2017, it's the US of A and they wanted to charge for WiFi? Shocking! I probably wouldn't stay here again because I just didn't feel welcome even though I was a paying customer. Shame because the room was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch new zealand

A Star Attraction

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Great location on West Hollywood with a short walk to Sunset Boulevard, and a very relaxing environment.
Cons: I could not help but think how much smarter the staff would have looked in white shorts with belts as opposed to the grey unbelted shorts.
Location: Great location with a short walk to Sunset Boulevard.
Sunset Marquis is a superb property in a great location and an amazing atmosphere. The facilities offer a great combination of indoor/outdoor food and beverage options and two swimming pools in a very relaxing environment. Friendly and attentive staff ensure a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Great stay in a lovely hotel; no free wifi though..,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Beautiful hotel and room, great location and restaurant was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Ivanna, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

An oasis in the middle of the city

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The room was large and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful and the pool, restaraunt and lush landscaping made for a relaxing stay. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by Douglas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
I can't wait to go back. Best hotel bed EVER! The service was phenomenal, and the grounds were gorgeous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Over-rated!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
This place was highly recommended to me so I indulged in a room here during my recent stay in LA. I was treated badly by the staff the whole time. I felt unwelcome and when there was a huge mistake and my room was stripped (no linens) when I got home from dinner on my final night, the front desk staff made no effort to make it right, instead I was told it was my fault since I had the "do not disturb sign" on my door in the morning and was forced to wait in the hallway while the maid threw a sheet on the bed and this was not the experience I bargained for. Stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome place, close to Sunset where I worked that evening