Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Don't stay here unless you're a snob

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendlier hotel staff. Should treat everyone the same. If I can afford to stay here, don't treat me like I'm nobody
Location: Only bars, and strip clubs close by
I was called one day before I was to arrive and informed that the pool would be closed for a private party for 2 of the 3 days I would be there. It was too late to get a comparable room at an affordable price. I told them this was my granddaughter's first trip to LA, and I was disappointed, so they offered us to use the pool ACROSS THE STREET. When I arrived to my room, there was a used bar of soap in the shower, so I know the shower was not cleaned. The coffee pots were always empty in the lobby downstairs, or out of cream, and I had to wait every morning for them to make and bring more. Yes there's a Starbucks across the street, but, I should at least expect a cup of coffee in the morning. I reserved the "king size" bed, but it was not a king size---it was more like a double size. Staff needs hospitality training. I guess only elite, or famous people are supposed to stay here. I travel a lot to LA and have stayed in hotels much finer than this one, and treated much better. I reserved and paid for my room through Expedia, but when I checked out, they told me I had a dinner, and "a lot of drinks" on my bill. We never ate or drank anything at all at the hotel. So someone charged their food and drinks to my room--Probably because every evening when I returned to go to the elevator, a lobby person would loudly ask my name and room number with other people always around to hear my room number. Charges were removed but will never stay here again
5 out of 5
by Ofelia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura from San Diego

Love love!

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
We went to the Sunset Stowe for a staycation. What an amazing place!!! It's everything I hoped for. Amazing service all around. We had room service, drinks at the Tower Bar and all was great. We will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Surprise Surprise

Posted Jul 18, 2015
I was very disappointed that the hotel don't have a media room with a computer. It was very difficult to book any tours because we couldn't print any thing. I was very upset at the end of my stay. There were local call charges, they dont let you know that in advance. They have a rule no outside alcohol on the premises. They have extremely high Minibar. I have never seen that rule at any hotel. The location wasn't that great either
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockwall, TX

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: History Style Location Price
Cons: Housekeeping; they forgot to replace our bathroom mats one morning, but that's being nitpicky as the front desk took care of it ASAP.
Location: LOTS of places to walk to in both directions...The Sunset Tower is in THE prime location for getting around Sunset on foot.
My wife and I just finished a four night stay at the Sunset Tower, and we had a great time. The main reason for staying here as opposed to The Beverly Hills or the Wilshire is location...and we like to walk if possible. From the hotel you can easily walk to Barney's Beanery, Sunset Plaza (Le Petit Four!), Chateau Marmont, Rainbow Room, Laugh Factory, Comedy Store..etc. Not that we don't mind driving, but it's nice to have several options that you can reach witih a relatively easy stroll. As for the room...I'm sure we were given one of the smaller ones, but it was PLENTY for my wife and I. I LOVE being on the corner which looked down onto the strip, as I like the hustle and bustle of the city. The bathroom was very spacious and comfortable which - for an older hotel - isn't always commonplace. We also enjoyed our time at their bar, and enjoyed breakfast overlooking the pool and downtown L.A. one morning; the service was fine, and our breakfast was very good. As for our vehicle service, the valets were VERY quick to retrieve our car when needed, and were very courteous and pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sunset Tower...hopefully we'll get to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from New York

Great overall

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Good food, nicest staff, GREAT location, hotel room could use some work!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Great Hotel on Sunset

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Hidden treasure of peace and tranquility on Sunset. Quiet hotel with great staff. Great pool, bars and restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Les from Manhattan

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Small room...Huge service. Loved the place!!
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels