Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with A-list clientele

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Warm, friendly, attentive staff. Excellent restaurant with spectacular terrace. First rate restaurant.
Cons: Small but serviceable gym. No bathtub in kingside standard room. Small driveway in front often crowded with cars.
Location: Centrally located with easy access to Hollywood and Bevwrly Hills.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Summer from Texas

Beautiful historic building, great area, tiny room

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, historic hotel spilling over with old Hollywood glamour and lore. Lobby and grounds were gorgeous. The poolside terrace is heavenly for breakfast or early dinner/cocktails with an unbeatable view of downtown LA. Now for the negatives: staff not very helpful and not too friendly. Our room although with a very lovely view of downtown LA from the 6th floor was TEENY TINY I mean the tiniest room I've ever stayed in apart from maybe a cruise ship bedroom. And the room had a dusty smell and linens were not fresh. I would definitely return here to have dinner/drinks at the restaurant but I require a more accommodating room for this price and thus would never stay here again. There are far better hotels with way bigger rooms in the west Hollywood area for the same rate.
5 out of 5
by Dixie from Berkeley, CA

Best Grand Art Deco Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
A restored Art Deco Dame. At night the hotel looks stunning wedding cake with lights. Great bar. The manager Dimitri is quite a character to observe. Very friendly and service oriented staff who love the building too. Recommend the view out back of the hotel at sunset for the golden hour. Feel like Clark Gable and Carol Lombard sipping a cocktail. Room was comfortable but noise of sunset strip motorcycles sleep disturbing. Great bull ride bar across the street to check out too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

My favorite hotel in LA

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Great location on Sunset. Very warm, attentive staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location on Sunset. Walking distance to Chateau and Sky Bar.
Tremendous hospitality from check-in to check-out. Dimitri is the best host in town at the Tower Bar and restaurant. It is worth the trip just to have dinner there.
5 out of 5
by Brett

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by tamayu from new york

old hollywood

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel is classic old hollywood style. i stayed in a basic room so all of the hollywood glamor associated with the stars did not translate. i think that to get that it needs to be a suit and up.
2 out of 5
by Hye

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The worst value for money. Plus the rooms are tiny and outdated. Really did not enjoy my stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
schöner Ausblick über die ganze Stadt - wenn ich mehr schreiben muss, dauert es länger als 1 Minute!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LA that Zevon would like; very nice ambiance.

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Quintessential LA . Beautiful people; Cali cuisine ; nice views. Not the Hollywood Hawian hotel LOL