Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kennett Square ,Pa

Beautiful setting.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Ocean views and lots of live entertainment.
Cons: More comfortable lounge chairs at Cielo pool.
Location: Great location near the South Bay beaches and restaurants if you want to leave the property.
We arrived and were put into a Casita which required self parking and handling of our own luggage. This was not optimal. Tylar switched our room and we had a nice ocean view in the main hotel! She was wonderful! The property is stunning! I feel that for the cost of staying here you should not have to pay extra to have a comfortable chair at the Cielo pool and a daily cost at the spa pool. The Vista pool is very relaxing. Overall it a a wonderful place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful oceanfront resort

Posted Jul 14, 2016
We had a short stay but had a beautiful waterfront view. The pool and slide entertained our kids and room service was great. The hotel was about 45 minutes to 1 hour from theme parks but worth the drive to spend a few relaxing days. They also had a spa and kids club but we didn't have enough time to try those out, maybe on our next visit to LA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the view beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Best trip ever! Great location. Great staff. Beautiful views. I would highly recommend this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at Terranea. We are delighted that you felt this was your best trip ever with beautiful views, great staff and a great location. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本、神奈川県

リゾートホテル

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: 自然に囲まれている、アジア人が少ない。
Cons: あまり期待はしていないがスタッフの対応が平均以下。 レストランの料理の質レベルが低い。
Location: 海にも山にも自然に囲まれていて最高!
すべてのストレスから解放されるホテル。 プールもスパもリゾート気分満喫。 とにかく環境がよい! スタッフの対応やレストランの料理のレベルが申し越し良いとなお良い。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan Kobe

とてもゆっくりできるホテルでした

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: ホテルを含めた周囲の環境
Cons: お湯の出が悪かったような気がします
Location: ロケーションは抜群です
骨やすめを目的にした旅行でしたのでとてもリラックスでき、よかったです 観光とは一味ちがった体験ができラッキーです ただショップの数が少なかったのが難点かもしれませんが、孫文ダウンタウンやラスベガスで買い物ができたので大きな弱点ではありませんでした また来たいです
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, SF

Posh hotel with a gorgeous view. Very kid friendly

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Stayed here for the 4th of July weekend and it was packed. The grounds were beautiful and service was surprisingly fast for the amount of patrons at any given place (pool, restaurants, concierge etc). 5 star grounds, 4 star service- just weren't quite there yet with training their staff. Lots of activities for kids and dogs are welcom as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Drea, Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing service. View of cliffs and Mtns were undo

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Im going back again. We didnt wanna leave.Great service and place to stay. By far the best place around. Views of ocean and Mts were amazing. Place was spotless. If I had to find a negative it would be the hidden 30$ per day resort fee and the food was very expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Great weekend away

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Went for w quick weekend getaway with a friend. We had a wonderful time. It's beautiful and felt like we went so far away from LA!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Terranea for a quick LA getaway. Please come back again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly, professional staff. Cigar bar in lobby is great. Food was good. Beautiful landscape. Clean, quality rooms. Salon has a good stylist. Gym.
Cons: Massage was bad. Poolside food wasn't so great. No game room or arcade. Few activities.
Location: Beautiful setting. Close to LAX.
I stayed for 3 nights. Food and staff, and facilities overall are excellent. They were shooting a film during the stay, which was cool but also the opposite of relaxing. (They had spotlights shining into the restaurant while we were eating dinner.) I got a great haircut at the spa, but the massage was sub-par. I asked for a deep tissue therapeutic massage, but it was more like having a snake wiggle around on my back for an hour. Massages at hotels tend to be mediocre, so this was not a surprise. I took 1-star off of the staff rating for the disappointing massage. The coast is beautiful, and the beach is small but picturesque, and the views are spectacular. Terranea is a fantastic place to host a traditional wedding, a conference, or a convention. As a resort, there isn't much to do except relax, swim, and play golf, although they do have offer various classes in their well-equipped gym. It would've been nice to have a game room and an arcade. I wanted to give it 5 stars, but I gotta save that for a perfect experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to learn you found the staff to be friendly and professional and that you enjoyed the beautiful landscape and salon. We appreciate the feedback regarding your spa experience and will be sure to share your comments with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, resort still has some flaws

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Breathtaking location, you'll forget you are so close to LA. No swim-able beach, but Redondo and Manhattan are a quick drive. I stayed at Terranea 7 years ago, on opening day. The experience was an absolute disaster, I was curious to see if things had improved. Improved - guest service, everyone was very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. Rooms: Nice, but not 5 star, maybe 4-4.5. Things are breaking and getting worn out, either housekeeping isn't communicating this or maintenance doesn't care. My toilet handle was broke (making the toilet unflushable), easy fix, so I fixed it myself. Vanity door was coming loose. Great water pressure in the shower, but the shower doesn't drain well, if you shower more than 10 mins you'll need to turn the water off so you don't flood the bathroom. This was an issue 7 years ago, so I'm guessing it will never be fixed (no one wants to re-plumb an entire resort). Restaurants: Sea Beans, Bashi, Nelson's and the bar - all were very good with good service. Live music at the bar was great. I was told that Nelson's gets incredibly busy during the summer and they always run out of the ice and glassware - that's unacceptable. Pool: I always thought it was odd that the spa pool, which is an adult pool didn't have a jacuzzi. They recently opened the Vista Pool which does have a jacuzzi and it's 13+, but it is only open on the weekends, I don't understand. All of the adults pools close at 6pm (when they are even open), again I don't understand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you found the resort to be in a breathtaking location and that you found the guest service pleasant. We appreciate your additional feedback and will share your comments with our management team to further investigate. We hope you return to stay with us again soon, please don't wait another seven years.