Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Virginia

Beautiful hotel with stunning views

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We were here for our 23rd wedding anniversary and it was amazing from the time we got there they gave us a bottle of champagne and a upgrade to a higher floor the staff every last one of them we encountered was the best ever they made our stay just as beautiful as their hotel we already plan to come back in June this is definitely the best hotel we've ever stayed in
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Terranea to celebrate your anniversary, Darryl. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meeting some of our wonderful associates. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Terranea in June!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view from the room not what I was expecting.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Televisions in the room very outdated.
The view was disappointing and when inquired about a better room they wanted an 150 per day to upgrade room with a view. I thought when I made the reservations I was getting a room with a view. Not very accomadating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Zack, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the resort. We are sorry to hear that the experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have recently renovated our guest rooms, including brand new televisions. We hope to have you back as our guest again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SB

Good hotel if you only want to chiil

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: No of pool options
Cons: Food was very salty in their newly renovated restaurant. More activities to do with kids like bike rentals, kayaking etc. from within the hotel would
Location: not much to do around than hike. They do have a spa in the hotel.
The resort is good with its location and dining options but there is really nothing to do with kids besides being in the pool and taking a few hikes. the beach is a rocky beach and the small sand beach is a hike away. Its good for may be a day or two but i will not recommend it beyond that with kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would be happy to share additional information about our numerous activities by land and sea offered by our Adventure Concierge for adults and children alike. Our offerings range from kayaking and bike rentals to horseback riding and falconry. We also have a Tide Pool Kids Club with experiences and camps designed for our younger guests. We hope you will consider visiting again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

Fantastic Ocean view resorts esp. for family!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Got almost everything for different age range of family members, pools for kids, golf for golfer, food and view for everyone.
Cons: Place free bottles of water in room everyday without asking. Car wash when arrive.
Renovated Catalina Kitchen got the best food and service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Tommy, Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Terranea and found there to be something for all ages. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Dec 26, 2016
I was there for a few days for my birthday. The entire staff was attentive and friendly. Everyone from the hotel staff, restaurant employees, and the valet staff provided excellent service. They made sure that I had everything I needed and wanted. I definitely plan to return but a longer time so I can enjoy all that The Terranea offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Jerome, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing Terranea to celebrate your birthday. We look forward to celebrating many more occasions with you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on cliffs

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed and room, extremely friendly staff.
Location: Remote location but plenty to do onsite, restaurants, pool, spa, hiking and golf course next door
Excellent room and facilities, beautiful views, especially of spectacular sunset over the ocean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to read that you felt Terranea has excellent facilities, friendly staff and beautiful views. Please come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect place for wedding anniversary weekend

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Amazing views, great staff and the hotel is in perfect conditions. I can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Terranea to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meeting some of our wonderful associates. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Another great weekend at Terranea

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: I love the spa. It's amazing . It overlooks the ocean. Perched on a cliff . This is honestly my favorite 5 star resort in all three counties and I'm a resort/hotel buff. If your picky about the rooms make sure you upgrade into a casita
Cons: Some of the rooms are plain . But you can always upgrade !
Location: Definitely go to the French fine dining restaurant Mar'sel. Excellent view overlooking the ocean. You must go to the spa. Ask for a couples treatment!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that Terranea is your favorite, especially mar'sel and The Spa. We are looking forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

What a treat!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: See above
Terranea was recommended to me by friends who live nearby. This is a world class Resort with wonderful restaurants, spa, beautiful spacious rooms, and an extraordinary location 45 minutes south of LA. If you're driving north on the Pacific Coast highway from La Jolla this is a great spot to stay for a few days!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Terranea and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

LA Stay Cay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The variety of restaurants without having to leave. The location and views of the ocean.
Cons: The bath soap too small. Nelson's kitchen should be expanded. People had to wait over an hour because the kitchen closed During the middle of dinner
Upon our arrival, the valet staff was very courteous and helpful. It is a wonderful getaway with all the amenities, like a spa, restaurants, pools on in the property. The shuttles are very helpful if you can't walk long distances. The restaurant, Nelson's, is a nice casual spot to watch the sunset. The room was very comfortable and we appreciated the turn down service. The landscape and location is unsurpassed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Jessie! We are happy to learn you enjoyed a wonderful getaway. Please come back and visit us again soon.