Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Paradise

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Such an amazing resort. So many pools and restuarants. One of the best places we have stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are delighted to learn Terranea is one of the best places you have stayed at. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Luxury hotel with stunning views

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Wow! I went with my husband and two girls for a staycation before school started for my seven year old! Upon arrival, we were pleasantly greeted by staff members, valet, and more staff. Once we arrived at the front desk for checkin, we were offered champagne and water. Although they were not able to accommodate our early arrival, we were given card access to the pool. The family pool was perfect for the kids. They loved the perfectly sized water slide and the food service at the pool was on par with what you would expect at a nice hotel. The king room had an amazing view of the ocean and the cliffs. The restaurants can get a little hectic around dinner. Reservations are highly recommended! Dinner at Nelson's one night and Bashi the second night. Dinner was expensive was worth it for the views at sunset. Ice cream at sea beans for dessert paired off our perfect evening with family and friends. Would definitely recommend this place to local who need a vacation from vacationing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are glad to read that you felt Terranea was the right choice for your end of summer staycation. Please come back and visit us again soon with your husband and two girls!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
overall, the stay was fabulous. I was a little disappointed to find the tub not clean and the mini fridge made noise all night...even after replacing the first noisy one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Please accept our apologies for the mistakes you encountered. We value your feedback and have shared your review with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will come back and stay with us again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel bad dining

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Unbeatable views but poor dining choices and poor cocktails for a resort that is in a city that is not lacking of culinary talent or mixologists. Sure u can dine out but why have to leave the view?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review feedback and for choosing to stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regard to your dining and cocktail experience. Please know that we do our best to provide excellent service and dining options for guests and your comments are valued. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arnhem

Super plek uit de hectiek van de stad

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Super locatie - alleen de bedden zijn aan de smalle kant - hele goede restaurants en heel aardig en nette medewerkers - vanaf terranea ben je binnen 45 minuten in downtown los angeles
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Geachte gast Hartelijk dank voor je recensie te delen . We zijn blij om voelde het resort een geweldige toevluchtsoord weg van de hectische stad aangeboden en dat u genoten van de kamer en de locatie. We zijn blij om terug te verwelkomen om je te zien .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Very good hotel but not 5 star

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Stayed during Olympics and TV is room was pathetic quality and old poor quality panel that didn't work then when fixed had v weak image. Also pool staff kept shutting the children's water slide for breaks. Over an hour shut for lunch, had to complain 5 times and then still little attention
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please accept our apologies for the service mistakes you encountered. We will share your feedback with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back as our guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I got married here and upgraded to one of the bungalows and was oh so very impressed. I've stayed in many high end hotels in my lifetime, but this place definitely has got to have been the best experience. The rooms were phenomenal, the service impeccable. While we were having our ceremony, someone from staff came in and left flower petals, a bottle a champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. It was AMAZING.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Gorgeous hotel with amazing views

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Loved the pool choices (adult, 13+, all ages); loved the coffee shop; loved the beauty in the landscape and decor; loved the restaurants and menus
Cons: More signage as to "how" to get from one place to another (lots of winding paths and stairs). A little more menu options at the adult pool
Location: It's south of L.A. which is nice to be out of the hustle and bustle, yet easily accessible to many beach areas with a short drive, and shopping etc.
We enjoyed our beautiful bungalow room near the ocean (although we did need to keep the drapery shut since 1st floor allowed people to see in our room from all sides). Rooms were taken care of nicely by hotel staff. We really enjoyed the adult-only pool which was very quiet and relaxing and right on the cliff near the ocean. But the hotel provides a pool for 13 and over, and then the general beautiful resort pool for all ages with lots of kid activities. The menu's at the pool were limited on food, but you could easily order at the general restaurant and bring poolside. This is a pricey hotel so be prepared to pay resort prices for your food and drink. We always got a breakfast sandwich at the lovely coffee shop and this was nice. The hotel has a beautiful walking path all along the bluffs on the ocean and it hooks up to the coastal trail just beyond the hotel. We enjoyed our dinner at the main restaurant and at the casual restaurant along the ocean. Would definitely go back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear G.C., Thank you for sharing your review and choosing to stay at the resort. We are glad you found the hotel to be gorgeous with amazing views and that you enjoyed the Bungalows. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Absolutely stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and cliffs adjacent. Truly a 5 star experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you for the feedback and for choosing to stay at Terranea. We are glad you found the hotel to be beautiful with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and a truly five star experience. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nortern california

Great experience

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Loved terranea resort! Views are expectacular! Will definetly return