Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

最高にラグジュアリーなホテル

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: ラグジュアリー、キッズプログラム
Cons: 特になし。安ければ最高。
ロサンゼルス郊外にある最高にラグジュアリーなホテルです。宿泊費は高いですが、それに見合うサービスが整っています。キッズプログラムもあり、こどもは最高に喜んでいました。その間、大人はゆっくりとした時間を過ごすことができました。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on cliffs

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed and room, extremely friendly staff.
Location: Remote location but plenty to do onsite, restaurants, pool, spa, hiking and golf course next door
Excellent room and facilities, beautiful views, especially of spectacular sunset over the ocean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to read that you felt Terranea has excellent facilities, friendly staff and beautiful views. Please come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect place for wedding anniversary weekend

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Amazing views, great staff and the hotel is in perfect conditions. I can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Terranea to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meeting some of our wonderful associates. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Another great weekend at Terranea

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: I love the spa. It's amazing . It overlooks the ocean. Perched on a cliff . This is honestly my favorite 5 star resort in all three counties and I'm a resort/hotel buff. If your picky about the rooms make sure you upgrade into a casita
Cons: Some of the rooms are plain . But you can always upgrade !
Location: Definitely go to the French fine dining restaurant Mar'sel. Excellent view overlooking the ocean. You must go to the spa. Ask for a couples treatment!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that Terranea is your favorite, especially mar'sel and The Spa. We are looking forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

What a treat!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: See above
Terranea was recommended to me by friends who live nearby. This is a world class Resort with wonderful restaurants, spa, beautiful spacious rooms, and an extraordinary location 45 minutes south of LA. If you're driving north on the Pacific Coast highway from La Jolla this is a great spot to stay for a few days!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time at Terranea and we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CDMX

Posted Oct 19, 2016
excelente opción su buscas un hotel con todas las comodidades, y quieres descansar, si piensas salir a conocer los alrededores no lo aprovechas
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review, Ricardo! We hope you will visit again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

LA Stay Cay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The variety of restaurants without having to leave. The location and views of the ocean.
Cons: The bath soap too small. Nelson's kitchen should be expanded. People had to wait over an hour because the kitchen closed During the middle of dinner
Upon our arrival, the valet staff was very courteous and helpful. It is a wonderful getaway with all the amenities, like a spa, restaurants, pools on in the property. The shuttles are very helpful if you can't walk long distances. The restaurant, Nelson's, is a nice casual spot to watch the sunset. The room was very comfortable and we appreciated the turn down service. The landscape and location is unsurpassed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Jessie! We are happy to learn you enjoyed a wonderful getaway. Please come back and visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Lacks management oversight of staff.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Surrounding area
Cons: Service, food quality, housekeeping
Beautiful hotel that deserves better management. Service was very poor around pool and mar cel restaurant. Housekeeping never showed up to clean our room. Food was terrible around pool area. The hotel needs to revamp quality of food. This could be a five star hotel if management used the four seasons or st regis models how to treat guests. If i amgoing to pay five star rates then i expect a higher level of service. Unlikely to retun
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are committed to delivering exceptional service to every guest and your service mistakes are not typical. We have shared your feedback with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Amenities are nice

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: absolutely nothing near by except a shopping center a few miles away with Trader Joe's and Italian Avenue restaurant which is excellent and good value
It's a very nice property with beautiful views and tranquil park like setting directly on the coast. Our two areas of disappointment were the high cost of food on site. Nelsons is way too expensive for what you get with such a casual atmosphere. The other disappointment was the location of our room. We were located next to an exit door right at the entrance of the Vista pool. We felt like we had no privacy or peace and quiet. This should not have been a room it should have been a storage area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing and location of your room and will share your comments with our management team for consideration. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent facility.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Perfect getaway. Clean, friendly and excellent position.
Cons: The car park fee of $38. I paid over $500 for my room. That did not include breakfast.
Location: Spa and golf if you want those facilities. Amazing coastline position.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review, Andrea. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing and will share your comments with our management team for consideration. We hope you will consider staying with us again.