Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

OK Hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms.
Cons: The gym
Location: Good.
I honestly have nothing great to say. The hotel itself was very nice. The room was very pleasant. The valet drivers are kind. The staff? Not too impressed. They really do not go out of their way. You ask them a question and the average answer is, "I wouldn't know that". The gym, is not a gym. It is a hotel room with broken equipment. My friend and I couldn't spend our time together because at least 3 of the machines were down the entire stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very pretty hotel close to the beach and nice room

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: It's quiet and has a lovely outdoor courtyard.
This is a great small hotel located only 20 minutes from the beach. I was there for a workshop so its close proximity to amenities was very convenient. I ordered room service 3 times and the food was delicious and the staff courteous (and quick!). The only 'event' was that the toilet, whose handle had required jiggling to stop it from running, overflowed on my 3rd day. I was in the shower so didn't realize it was happening. Eek. When I phoned the front desk they were very apologetic and kind and quickly moved me to another room and took care of the situation quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Expedia community. We love our guests, and are so happy to know that you had a great stay at The Belamar. We're happy to know that our team reacted quickly to address the maintenance issue, but we apologize for any discomfort that you experienced. It was our pleasure to welcome you, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay and some more great food! Sincerely, Tiffany L., General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient for the airport,shopping,and beach

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Room size, in room facilities, cleanliness and nothing to complain about.
Cons: Bathroom - looking a little tired.
Location: As above.
This is a no frills but good hotel. It delivers what it says in its offering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ray, Thank you for the opportunity to welcome you as our guest, and for taking the time to review our hotel. Manhattan Beach is a great city to take advantage of all the wonderful things LA has to offer, and it sounds like our location was a good fit for your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Tiffany L., General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great staff and a great breakfast for the price

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice hotel and great location. Staff was courteous and facilities were clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the review and for being our guest! Our team works very hard to give our guests the best experience possible, and we're so happy that you received the service you deserve. Our restaurant is amazing, and soon we'll be expanding our breakfast on Sundays to include a brunch. We hope you'll be able to enjoy it on your next visit. Sincerely, Tiffany L., General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel with valet only parking, double beds

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: close to hotel
Cons: get queen beds in the room and allow patrons to park their own cars
Location: Manhattan Beach is a cute town with lots of fun shops and restaurants.
This hotel was a bit disappointing. We were a family of four visiting colleges and we discovered upon arrival that the two beds in the room were doubles, not queens. Needless to say, it was a tight fit with two teenage boys. Also, was not thrilled that we had to keep tipping valets every time we wanted to leave the hotel. In addition, were were charged $15 per night for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience and for the valuable feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your comments and for any insight in improving our guest experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location. Manhattan Beach is a fantastic place to explore. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again. Warm regards, Tiffany L., General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The location is close to the airport and Manhattan Beach. The staff was exceptional! We enjoyed the hot tub and the restaurant. There was some traffic noise heard from our room and the window treatments are in need of replacement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so happy to know that our great location and exceptional service team made your stay a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Tiffany Lesperance, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

A Gem of a Hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: As pleasant as the hotel was during my stay, I discovered that it is about to go through a total renovation. I therefore have no suggestions.
Location: During my stay, I focused on urgent matters and did not explore the community. The hotel is in a beach town, however.
The Art-Deco inspired Belamar provided me very comfortable, quiet, and clean accommodations for my 4-day, 3-night stay at a location very convenient to LAX and to Redondo Beach, Torrance, and Rancho Palos Verdes. My room was very spacious and nicely furnished. Staff (front desk, valet parking, and maid service) were all friendly and efficient. The really big, and pleasant, surprise for me was the hotel's restaurant, not so much small as intimate. The buffet breakfasts were outstanding, and the dinner menu, though small, ranks as gourmet. My favorite was the horseradish encrusted, baked Chilean sea bass, sitting atop a mushroom risotto, sitting atop roasted sliced beets, and very nicely presented. The wine list was more extensive, and the wait-staff, at breakfast and dinner, were friendly, attentive, and very professional. I was so impressed with the restaurant that I hosted a party of five for dinner on my last night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you received the exceptional service you deserve from every department. Second Story restaurant is definitely a hidden gem, and we're glad that you were able to experience it during your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, and we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Tiffany Lesperance, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Close to beach , shopping and restaurants! Close to airport! Uber ride only 15.00 from lax. Great location and area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing The Belamar, and for sharing your great review! Manhattan Beach is a wonderful place to visit, and it sounds like you enjoyed our proximity to all the fun things to do there. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Warm regards, Tiffany Lesperance, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Very helpful staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Really enjoyed the breakfast. Never made it back in time for happy hour, but I'm sure it was just as good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic breakfast! Our Happy Hour is definitely just as good, and we hope you can stop by during your next visit for some drinks and yummy appetizers. Warm regards, Tiffany Lesperance, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Jorge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels