Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven Ct

Beautiful historic B&B

Posted Jun 21, 2016
The Bissell House was owned at one time by the inventor of the Bissell hand sweeper. It is managed by a family of adults. Everything about it is elegant. The breakfasts are superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastvale, CA

MUST STAY!!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly
Cons: Parking for bigger cars is all I can think of:)
It was my first B&B and it sold me on never doing a hotel again! Awesome people run this house and it was just amazing! I got a free upgrade to a King and the room was clean and lovely, bed was super comfy!! If I didn't live closer, I would rebook! I ever do another 3 day conference you can bet I am staying here! Thank you again for all the amazing service! Just don't drive a large truck or you will have to park on the street. :) -Sam RN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort, aesthetics.
Awesome stay all around. Hosts were most accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego North County

lovely victorian B&B

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: What we liked about this B&B is the charm of the place and the hospitality of the people. They made us feel like family.
Location: Near Old Town Pasadena! Very nice area to check out. We also walked in the neighborhood, which was really beautiful.
What a great, quaint, getaway, so peaceful, and yet near the city. Wonderful. Great breakfast too! Beautiful home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient to freeway, old Pasadena & restaurants

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Ambiance was perfect and every was so authentic.
Cons: if you are looking for a homey bed & breakfast and do not need the "chain hotel" standard rooms and you want character, this is absoulutely for you
Location: we went up to Universal Studios - only 20 minutes away. Old Pasadena 5 minutes and 5 minutes to Huntington Library & Gardens. Many great restaurants
The owners were charming and the hotel a complete Victorian experience. Great attention to details; it is modern you are looking for this will not work. The hotel is authentic, cozy and so much character. A beautiful veranda surrounds the house, perfect for an early morning cup of tea or an early evening glass of wine. the owners set up afternoon tea/coffee and cakes (help yourselves) . There is a little library with comfortable chairs and quite a selection of books, a beautiful living room to sit by the fire, meet friends for a chat, fresh flowers and garden views. Breakfast was freshly made and tasty and we met some wonderful and interesting people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Whittier, CA

Charming Victorian B&B

Posted Mar 29, 2014
We love staying at Victorian B&Bs! This is a favorite, close to home getaway! When we don't have much time for travel, we know we'll enjoy the beautiful grounds, porch seats, parlor, afternoon desserts, charming room and delicious breakfasts! As we stepped through the front door, Julie greeted us and checked us in...suggesting a yummy bbq restaurant a couple blocks away. What a fun mini-vacation and visit with other like minded guests!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just lovely and relaxing-

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient to Pasadena and South Pasadena
Great, delicious breakfast- served pleasantly with style-we had a n on-line special deal thus we were given a small room and since a lll rooms were not booked, wondered why the owner didn't extend the courtesy of offering us a larger room - even though our room was small it was very comfortable - had we stayed more than one night it would have been too tight for my husband. Otherwise we would absolutely recommend and stay again. Lovely relaxing living room, and porch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice couples getaway

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Great B&B with helpful staff. Nice homey feel and delicious breakfast. It's a historical home so expect some antique fixtures (I.e. separate faucets for hot/cold water). There also is some road noise but none of these things bothered us. We had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mammoth Lakes, CA

Would stay again

Posted Oct 31, 2011
Location: There's a Thursday night farmers market on Mission along with lots of trendy shops and places to eat.
House architecture and furnishings are charming. The staff is extremely friendly and the food is delicious. There are several rooms to relax in and the pool and area around it are also nice areas. We were disappointed that the WiFi was spotty and usually didn't work. We went to the public library where we had no trouble connecting to the internet. We'd definitely stay at The Bissell house again and would recommend it to others. It's in an area of other beautiful homes and has a relaxing atmosphere about it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, CA

Not Impressed

Posted May 7, 2009
If you want thick dust on the wood furniture and bathroom fixtures, no stoppers in the sink or bath drain, a bed too high to climb into, stale three-day-old pastries sitting out without refrigeration, and skimpy cold breakfast food, stay here. I saw the hostess when I checked in. No one was there afterward.