Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Convenient Location

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel was ok. Had a weird smell and our tv stopped working on the last. The price was fine considering...... Also it was close to the tourists area near Highland. Which is where we spent a few days. Overall, not a bad place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose , CA

It's near Walk of Fame

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Hotel is poor. Fridge doesn't work. A/C sucks. Noise isolation is awful. And the price is not cheap. Hotel Staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel needs to fix and upgrade a lot to deserve 3 stars hotel. Otherwise, this hotel is 1 star for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. I am sorry you feel that way and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We pride ourselves in being a very clean and well kept business that keeps our guests happy and coming back. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again sometime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loomis, California

The Dixie Hollywood

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We arrived at the The Dixie at 10:30 and the gal at the front desk was super nice and helpful. We were famished and she suggested some 24 hr places and a fabulous Thai restaurant that we could walk to. She texted first thing in the morning to make sure we were happy with our room and that things what were to our liking. The facility is clean and grounds are adorable. Super convenient location to walk to several places of interest and conveniences such as restaurants, shopping and drugstores. The parking is free and there is an adorable little diner for breakfast right at the entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Dixie Hollywood Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come again sometime! Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great staff, and that's about it.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The location is perfect for an economical Hollywood experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rest however leaves a lot to be desired. The beds and pillows are uncomfortable and the sheets were frayed. There were dead bugs in the bathroom light fixture. The room smelled badly and looked runned down. It felt more like a 4 star hostel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Dixie Hollywood Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All of our guest's feedback is important to us and greatly appreciated. I regret to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in being a very clean and well ran business that continues to keep our guests happy and coming back. I will consider your feedback and look into these matters. I surely hope that you will reconsider staying with us again sometime. Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below expectations

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Location: Thai town has good restaurants. Close enough to walk to Griffith Observatory and close to public transportation.
We knew we were booking discount accommodations but this was still disappointing. The bathtub faucet wasn't fitted properly, the room smelled, there were no buttons on the phone and we could hear conversations from the room next door. Especially annoying when it was happening late at night. The location was good but otherwise I wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Dixie Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All of our guest's feedback is important to us and greatly appreciated. I regret to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in being a very clean and well ran business that continues to keep our guests happy and coming back. I will consider your feedback and look into these matters. I surely hope that you will reconsider staying with us again sometime. Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The rooms are dirty and old. Staff are not so friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Dixie Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All of our guest's feedback is important to us and greatly appreciated. I regret to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in being a very clean and well ran business that continues to keep our guests happy and coming back. I will consider your feedback and look into these matters. I surely hope that you will reconsider staying with us again sometime. Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Ok hotel near the Pantages theatre

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: We liked its proximity to the Pantages Theatre.
Cons: The room needed to repainted, chipping paint in many places. The one chair in the room was old and dirty-needs to be replaced.
Location: This hotel is close to the Pantages Theatre, Musso & Frank Grill and within a short driving distance to the heart of Hollywood.
We had a good experience. The room was clean and the staff was very nice and attentive. We appreciated having a hotel close to the Pantages that was clean and affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Dixie Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. All guest's feedback is greatly appreciated and important to us. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced and will look into these matters. Overall, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again! Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tucson,arizona

Not the best in the area. Felt a little seedy.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location to hospital was what made us choose this hotel. Not on a sightseeing vacation.
Cons: Cleanliness
There was no additional furniture in the room - only a bed and two night stands. I mentioned it on the way out and was told they forgot to put the rest of the furniture back in the room after updating the floor. The tub was dirty and the lights were too bright and could not be dimmed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Dixie Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All of our guest's feedback is important to us and greatly appreciated. I regret to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in being a very clean and well ran business that continues to keep our guests happy and coming back. I will consider your feedback and look into these matters. I surely hope that you will reconsider staying with us again sometime. Sincerely, Dixie Hollywood Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A 3-Star rating is too high for this hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: There was a breakfast place right next to the hotel exit that had really good food!
Cons: The bed's and bathroom were upgraded yet the AC/Heater was very old and some walls needed a touch-up. No parking security guard was present.
Location: Since it's off of Hollywood BLVD, it was a short trip down to the walk of fame.
I decided to go with the 3-Star undisclosed discounted price on the supposed main chain of hotels (I.e. Best western, Days Inn,Holiday Inn, ect.). But I didn't receive any of those. Instead, I received The Dixie Hollywood (I did check to see if they were affiliated will any of the "main hotel" chain but couldn't provide a connection. Check in was easy, but when I got to the room I noticed the temp knob on the AC/Heater had been remove. To my understanding this is common practice. So I went back to the front desk to let them know and they were going to call maintenance. Well, maintenance had gone home for the day and nobody could find the knob/s. I asked if there was another room i could be moved into and was told no (yet the "Vacany" was still flashing as bright as can be). The front staff then offered to provide extra blankets. All the other amenities were fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Dixie Hollywood Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. All guest's feedback is greatly appreciated and important to us. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced and will look into these matters. Overall, I hope you enjoyed your stay and will consider staying with us again sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
It was really nice, very closed and well situated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Dixie Hollywood Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come again sometime!