Ratings based on 1,291 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location. Walking distance to the pier.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Needed shower bar in the tub. Hard getting in & out of shower with shower door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great location with excellent service, nice lobby and amentities. The rooms are a little outdated and worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Luxury in the sun

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: N/A
Location: Walking mall and Santa Monica pier are very close. Beach and board walk right across the road. Excellent choice.
Great location, great setting, great staff. I enjoyed the time at the Fairmont.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Doug Conti, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words, Mike! We are very lucky to be in such a centrally located area of sunny Santa Monica! We are so happy to have offered you the genuine "Fairmont Experience" we try to provide to all guests. Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us again soon! Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, d.c.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
room through expedia was in unrenovated part of building. I upgraded when I got there to a nicer, newer room. I think if you book through expedia, you aren't given the best rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Doug Conti, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention! I can assure you we absolutely love having guests with us who have booked through Expedia. Our property actually has 27 room types so there really is a room for everyone's preferences! However, the standard room that is advertised on Expedia is typically what is booked the most. We are currently in the process of renovating our standard rooms so we are very excited to have these available to all guests very soon! Warm Regrards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Hotel but strange extra costs

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The room was quiet and the view of the ocean was lovely.
Not at all sure why this hotel advertises one price and then charges a "resort fee" as well. That came as a surprise. Either the facilities are part of the hotel or they are not. But if they are part of the hotel, they should be included in a single price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Doug Conti, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
BrunoB, Thank you very much for your valued feedback! You are right, the resort fee absolutely should be included in the description at the time of booking. I will personally see to it that our reservations team is checking all booking sites to ensure this is clear to all our guests at the time the reservation is made. I do hope to have you come visit us again sometime soon in sunny Santa Monica!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Dec 27, 2016
There is no store in or close to the hotel for purchasing some essential stuff things that you may have forgotten on may need during your stay . The only parking is valet so it is not convenient to get your car quickly and it is expensive .Concier does not sell tickets or provide details for Disney or Universal ECT that is unusual for a five star facility . It is an OK hotel but not five star material .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Allyson, Hotel Management
ka, I apologize for our property not being what you had anticipated. We are currently under construction for our new convenience store with a to-go option from our FIG restaurant called FIG Marketplace. We hope you will reconsider coming back to us in the future. Warm Regards, Allyson Humphrey Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Lovely hotel but some problems. Heat was not working in my room, and internet, though expensive, was very spotty. When i was leaving and called down for help with my bags, no one ever came so I ended up doing it myself. Small problems, admittedly - but unbefitting of a hotel or this class and cost
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beaitiful hotel, unfortunate noisy neighbor

Posted Dec 9, 2016
If it weren't for the noisy bar next door that kept me up until 2 am each night, the hotel itself is excellent, with some of the best staff I have ever encountered! (Other than the girl who checked us in, who was a bit snobby and unfriendly) The room was wonderful with gorgeous view of ocean and pier. However, the noise at night was too much. Would not stay here again. Which is so unfortunate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Luxurious Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and the room was spacious and luxurious.
Cons: Our room overlooked rooftops of other buildings - the fee to upgrade was significant. There weren't too many other options for a better room.
Location: Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade with Great shopping.
My Daughter and I stayed at this hotel, this past week and I have to say we really like the hotel. It was right across from the beach and close to the Promenade, which was great; however a bit of a walk to the Santa Monica Pier. The Staff were all friendly and attentive.