Ratings based on 1,196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Historic Oceanview Santa Monica Hotel, lovely

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The room was quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable, no overused mattress here. The balcony door was sound proof and I could not hear my neighbors.
Cons: During breakfast on the patio the clean up crew only cleaned the tables and left food and trash on the floor - very unappetizing.
Location: Best location in Santa Monica within walking distance to the Pier, the beach, 3rd Street Promenade, Metro Station, restaurants and much more.
Beautiful historic ocean view Santa Monica hotel that's walking distance to all the SM hot spots. We came for a one night getaway and were happy with the hotel's location, close to the SM pier and 3rd Street Promenade and with all rooms having ocean view. Close to all the tourist spots but not right on top of them made the Fairmont Miramar a great choice for us. Very good service, I had forgotten an overnight item and the front desk provided it no charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you so very much for your kind review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our amazing location. Please accept my apologies for the condition of the patio area-- this will be addressed. We hope you come back and visit soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very attentive staff.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Location: Great location near the beach and great shopping.
Great food at a reasonable cost. Great location. Very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Donna, Thank you so much for the 5 stars! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank your for the kind words about our staff. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Bank, NJ

Great Location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Very much enjoyed the stay. Great location and very attentive staff. The hotel rooms are a bit 'dated' and the pool area rather small given the size of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice people but they to have more maids in the am

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Cons: more am maids
they need to hire more am maids. rooms are seldom ready before 3pm and thats bs because most nice hotels will let you check in early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
This was a wonderful hotel and the staff was amazing! They really made our stay very special. Would come back whenever we can!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue WA

I feel cheated

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Nice dive way
Cons: to much to be improved to list here.
Location: Great Location, the 3rd St Promenade and the beach are in walking distance.
I booked a Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Ocean View, what i saw on the picture was a beautiful room with a few, the balcony had a glass railing that you could see through. What i got was a filthy room with a stained carpet and dirty bed sheets, the balcony railing was made of thick concrete, pretty high, to see the view you had to go outside and lean over the railing. The sink in the bedroom wasn't draining we asked for a room replacement, they told us the they can not give us another room unless we pay for an upgrade, and that they will fix the sink. We came back in the evening the sink was not fixed. We paid $1750 for three nights, I expected a little more or at least what i paid for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Fairmont Miramar, Hotel Management
Alexander, Please accept my sincerest apologies for your poor experience. In looking at your photos, it seems that you were in fact placed into the room type that you booked, however the location within the building is what caused the room layout to be slightly different than our photos, and for that I apologize. Furthermore, I am so very sorry at the condition of this room and that we were unable to find a suitable alternative while you were here. Though I understand that your cannot be undone, I would very much like to opportunity to show you a true Miramar experience and hope you will book again. Warm regards, Stephanie Berman Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Great location, Exorbitant prices

Posted Jun 17, 2016
The Fairmont was lovely and the location was ideal within Santa Monica. Obviously, you pay a premium for an experience like this, but it seemed that the hotel was nickel-and-diming everything along the way. We enjoyed our stay, but I'm not sure it was worth what we spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Sam, Thanks so very much for the 5 star review. I am sorry you felt as though we "nickel and dimed" you- this is in no way our intention and I hope you will give us another opportunity to show we are very much worth the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Great, helpful

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great helpful waiter at dinner- from Ohio like us. Gave us ideas. Very helpful staff. Great for kids-pool service and kid friendly! Excellent view. Proximity to pier awesome. Helpful concierge for out of town ideas for us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Jenn, Thanks so much for the 5 stars and your wonderful words about our staff throughout the property. We are so lucky to have such a wonderful team to help create lasting experiences like yours. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
Nice hotel in a good location. Bartenders are very friendly and great customer service. Rooms need updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and feedback on the rooms. We hope you will stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
This was a fantastic hotel with walking distance to the beach and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Stephanie Berman, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars! So glad you enjoyed your stay!