Ratings based on 3,241 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette hill, pa

First time in LA

Posted Jul 15, 2017
This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The vibe and decor was very laid back yet chic and modern. Rooms and service was impeccable. We were offered early check-in upon arrival. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Nice, clean, room was cool in temperature. Room was cleaned every day! Free trolley to Universal studios! Friendly and helpful staff! Nice restaurant
Cons: More bathing soap and option of a firm mattress?
Location: Close to Universal studios which a trolley is provided to transport to for free. The Grove, Chinese Theater, and Warner Brothers Studios tours
Stood for a week. Bed seemed to be to soft for my taste. I am use to a firm mattress. Staff was friendly and helpful at front desk for Lyft info and Hotel info and local attractions. Cleaning Service cleaned the room every day. Cleaning service seem to be tight on giving enough bathing soap for a group of four or extra blanket. Soap was small as is and during whole stay was given 1 extra bar after 3 days, was supplied a lot with body wash instead. Extra blanket was removed from room after 4 days stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ridgefield, CT

Nice Hotel Close to Universal and Hollywood

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Overall look is very nice with a very nice medium-sized, well-used pool by kids. There was a restaurant, which we did not try, but was always filled.
Cons: There was no iron or ironing board in room closet. This was a big negative for me. Hotel parking fee was really high as were most hotels in SoCal.
Location: Shuttle to Universal Studios and at this stop can grab the Metro to Hollywood. The shuttle was a big plus. Without it, there is nothing near hotel.
Very hip sixties looking hotel with a nice pool, fire pits and lounge chairs giving this area a neat and relaxed vibe. A popular place for adults to bring their kids for a day at the pool. There is a movie screen by the pool, which was very cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We stayed this hotel for Universal Studio, the shuttle bus was very helpful. The building was kind of old, but room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Banos, CA

Clean and kid friendly

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Very nice hotel. It is a kid friendly hotel with a heated pool and movie nights by the pool. Free tram/shuttle to Universal Studios. I would definitely recommend this to anybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Ticked all the boxes

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Stayed with family for 4 nights and was great. Particularly appreciated the free shuttle to Universal. Would have loved breakfast to be included as small children want to eat NOW.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quiet Oasis

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Quiet, spacious rooms.
Cons: A bit more choice in the restaurant.
Location: Near to Universal Studios and Studio City metro, which can quickly take you to the heart of Los Angeles.
We picked the Garland for a 5 night stay in Los Angeles because it was close to Universal Studios and the underground (metro) station. This meant we could have easy access to the hussle and bussle of LA but could enjoy the quiet space The Garland offered at the same time. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bus to Universal and the metro station was great. The restaurant was fine, although not a lot of choice, but there are plenty of other options around Universal Studios.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Good place to stay in LA with the kids.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I liked the overall vibe of this place and it was in a good part of town and close to the attractions. Free shuttle service is a cool touch. Movie night by the pool was super cool. Our room for the two nights was very clean and had one of the better bathrooms in the 11 day road trip we took throughout CA and NV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Perfect location for Universal and the shuttle was the best. Very friendly front desk staff and bartenders at the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great hotel with wonderful amenities.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The Garland provides a great room with plenty of amenities. We used the gym and the pool along with the free trolley service to the Metro red and Universsl Studio city walk. Only negative was the price!