Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Mostly great; however, we paid a premium for valet parking, only to have an item stolen from our car!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Noise AC

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Very very loud AC. Couldn't go to sleep at night. The staffs told me is normal. I been into so many hotels in the past over 15 years. Never experience with this they call normal noise AC. If they call themselves upscale. Please fix your AC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015
The staff and room were great, but could have been cleaner and air con quieter. Over all was a really nice hotel to stay in. Would definitely use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

A charming, beautifully run hotel close to shops,

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Excellent restaurant with gourmet food and friendly, efficient wait staff and manager. We felt very welcome and special. Great charm and atmosphere.
Cons: Cannot think of a thing
Location: Close to Universal City, the Metro, shopping and restaurants. The Metro was one stop away from the Chinese Theatre and all the tour opportunities of
The hotel was clean, beautifully appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, doing their best to make our stay a memorable experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grans

Bon emplacement, hôtel familial

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Accès facile métro, voiture Navette à disposition pour accès métro et Universal studio Cadre agréable
Cons: Le service concierge Bruit de la climatisation
Location: Proche Universal studio, Warner bros, une station de métro d Hollywood blvd.
Idéal pour un séjour en famille dans un cadre agréable : jolie décoration, piscine, bonne restauration... Nous avons passé une semaine en famille. Nous avons pu profiter d Universal studio, Hollywood blv, Warner bros, beverly Bills grâce à la navette gratuite qui vous amène à une station de métro et au parc Universal studio. Ensuite, la voiture est nécessaire pour santa Monica, Venice Beach, long Beach, Malibu, santa Barbara...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The gate to the pool slams shut and is very loud if staying in a room nearby.
Love The Garland. Our favorite place to stay when visiting family in North Hollywood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Every staff member here was so pleasant and more than happy to help in any way. The staffs mood just made our stay that much better and I wouldn't hesitate returning. Shuttle to universal on time always and will also drop you at metro for train to Hollywood walk of fame. Hotel close to nice supermarket and other stores. Restaurant at hotel was great and food and staff excellent. Pool clean and movie night at pool was a nice extra included. If I had one thing to say not so positive it would be that the hold 100 a night on your credit card I case you want to charge food or other incidentals to your room and I didn't like that and I didn't know about this prior to arriving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. The food in the restaurant are very good and the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The shuttle to Universal Studio is a nice touch and very convenient. Overall experience is very good , won't hesitate to stay there again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Avis mitigé

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: La navette gratuite pour Universal studio et le métro. Petite piscine mais agréable.
Cons: Pas de wifi dans les chambres et le bruit
Location: Tout près d'universal studio et du métro pour rejoindre le centre
Hôtel agréable mais situé juste à côté de l'autoroute. Chambre propre et agréable à l'exception du bruit : de l'autoroute mais surtout des voisins...mauvaise insonorisation. Pas de wifi dans les chambres. Point très appréciable la navette gratuite pour Universal Studio et le métro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, convenient hotel, inflexible management

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We booked The Garland because of its convenience to Universal Studios and the generally positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Whilst the room was clean and well appointed, we were disappointed that the room we got was not that which had been described to us by Garland staff over the phone prior to our booking. On arrival we queried this, but the manager showed remarkable inflexibility. She even refused to let us move a roll-away better into one of the larger suites, despite there being amply room and our preparedness to pay the unreasonable upgrade costs. Ultimately we ended with a four-bed room for five of us! Also, it is worth noting that the food and drink (incl. water) is well over priced).