Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent classic hotel with a great look

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, style, very vintage and cool. Good restaurants in hotel and good central location.
Location: Right by Hollywood Blvd and lots of shopping and touristy sites. Close to Runyon Canyon too.
The hotel decor and room decor are really cool with that vintage look. It has great ambiance. The restaurants in the hotel were great too. The location is good, but a little touristy. And it is not close to the airport, which is a bit of a downside. But otherwise, you are in a good central location for doing lots of things in LA. I also enjoyed hanging out by the pool, where they have drinks and food to order. You can walk to Runyon Canyon (about 10-15 min walk) for some great city views - I definitely recommend that. The only main downside is that it's basically like staying in the Times Square of LA - very touristy outside. As a result, I found it hard to find a good restaurant within walking distance. The restaurants in the hotel are probably your best bet unless you want to drive further (which I also recommend, since LA has lots of great restaurants elsewhere).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient location.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
The room was very warm and welcoming. Conveniently located to everything. Loved the bar and the lobby area. Staff very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Feb 10, 2016
This hotel is right on the Hollywood walk of fame and only a short walk to the train station. We originally booked just a standard queen room. When we checked in the floor in the entrance of the room had not been cleaned properly. Additionally, the room was very small. There wouldn't even had been enough room to open our suitcases properly. We spoke to front desk and they were very helpful. We were upgraded to a Cabana room which was clean and much more spacious. For a five night stay it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel on Hollywood walk

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Very nice conditions and within walking distance of some cool Hollywood scenery and things to do. The staff are very nice and professional. You have to use the valet parking but its so busy on that street it's not really a bad thing. Be careful in the room to look at what is free and what is for purchase though, as it seems like it would be easy to open a bag of chips and then get charged for it. The water bottles are marked "$6" so be careful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Hollywood

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Excellent location at the heart of Hollywood Boulevard. Walk out the door and you are right in the action. The hotel is a little dated but offers great history. Loved everything about it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Old-school Hollywood glamour.
Classic Hollywood hotel with a modern twist. Perfectly located on Hollywood Boulevard opposite the Chinese Theatre. Can get a little bit noisy if staying around the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
We have stayed at The Roosevelt in Hollywood CA twice and loved it both times. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and professional. We will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice but a bit disappointing

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and had cool decor (though a bit old and not too fancy).
Cons: Water pressure, free wifi, better service.
Location: The Mann's Chinese is across the stree, the Hollywood Bowl is up the street, the Hollywood Highland mall is right there. Pretty convenient and central
I know a lot has to do with the time of year and the nature of the trip. BUT: Wifi is not included. You have to pay about $15 for 24 hours. That seems like a SUPER cheap move for a nice hotel. Also, the water pressure is very mediocre. Maybe it's a California thing? But as a Cali resident, I figure they could leave a note asking people not to waste water but not make the pressure low. The location is good if you like touristy areas but you step out onto Hollywood Blvd and see tourists galore. This can be good or bad. The room service we ordered came in wrong (they fixed it) but it was wrong the first time so that was a bit of a strike against the service. The valet is convenient but at $42/night, it's a bit steep. I think they need to roll all these fees into their payment structure so they don't come off so cheap. I would possibly stay here again but I wasn't too impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Good location, some minor issues

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We arrived at the hotel and we offered an upgrade on our room to a cabana room. The room was extremely small, with hardly enough space for two suitcases and two hand luggage. The pillows were very uncomfortable, though the bed itself was decent and the room stayed very dark at night/in the morning. One of the room lights was burnt out so lighting was dim, even when the lights were turned on. The shower did not drain properly at all, so by the end of the 5-7 minute shower you were standing in about 4-5 inches of water. The water itself did not maintain a consistent temperature and went from lukewarm to boiling hot without touching the tap. The location itself was good- right on Hollywood Boulevard and the burger restaurant was amazing. We didn't discover free wifi in the lobby until the day we left when we heard desk staff tell another patron. We ended up running across the street to Starbucks when we needed the Internet. Charging $15 a day for wifi in the room is crazy, but seems to be the norm in the US. The pool area was really nice with great ambience at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Good location, great hotel, upgraded my roommate no charge