Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Upscale trendy but disappointing

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel close to 3rd Street Promenade and the beach. It's very trendy and upscale and decorated beautifully but the staff (front desk) was not friendly and not helpful at all. I've stayed at some beautiful 5-star hotels and this certainly looks like one but they treat their guests with disdain. I was not impressed with front desk or the Penthouse staff at all - they act like they are doing a favor if they deign to speak to the guests. Someone had a horrible headache and requested aspirin -- housekeeping doesn't stock any, giftshop was closed and the only recommendation the front desk has was to go the the nearest gas station several blocks away --?? No offer to help and I was surprised that they didn't have anything to help -- it being a trendy "party" hotel seems like they'd have something on hand (Vegas hotels often do). Our room was on the 15th floor- gorgeous view but was extremely noisy 24 hours a day with weird sounds/vibrating noises - I thought maybe it was the Penthouse restaurant (17th floor) that turns into a bar/club at night but it was constant -- turns out the front desk told us at check-out that it was probably the elevator. For an exclusive hotel, they should warn guests or insulate the elevators much better. As a travel industry professional,I wouldn't stay here again for a 5-star experience-- just visit the (very noisy) Penthouse for drinks and "to be seen".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from miami

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very nice hotel, everything is almost perfect. We lived the room furniture/style/decoration. Comfortable beds. However when they say ocean view room, be careful. It is only a partial view from far (hotelnis not oceanfront). Our room was just next to the elevator, we were disturbed by its noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Great hotel. But all charges should be made known

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Total costs should be Made known up front. Not as add ons later.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dominican Rep

Needs 24-Hour Room Service

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Very Boutique
Cons: 24-Hours Room Service
Great Experience will definitely stay there again. This Hotel is a real classy place it has a great Rooftop Restaurant that all guest should visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntington ny

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Was a great experience ...really nice room & restaraunt was awesome...we watched the sunset one night it was perfect...staff very friendly & accommodating...very convenient to walk into town and/or the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Great boutique hotel quiet street

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Brothers weekend in LA had a great stay. Near to great restaurants easy access to beach. Fun times at the Penthouse and the Bungalows. Would definitely recommend this hotel great value for the money in an expensive area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmdale CA

Pricey...especially if you don't look at your bill

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Staff was warm and friendly. However, the clerk who checked me in failed to mention free wifi was provided in the room and also did not tell me about the included waters and bicycles for rent. Then later, I saw that they charged me for those amenities without ever so mentioning them AND failed to take off my $25 free food/beverage credit for my room service charges. The woman I called up later to complain to after seeing the bill, credited me back that money, but had I not have looked at my bill, I'd be paying $50 extra. I was NOT Happy about that part.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claremont, CA

Great historic hotel in the middle of Sta Monica

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: So close to the beach and 3rd Street Promenade. The rooms were very nice and so were the in-room amenities.
Cons: The Penthouse Bar is a main attraction, they just need to do a better of job of herding all bar guests to avoid disrupting the hotel guest experience.
Location: You can walk to the Santa Monica Pier & 3rd Street Promenade. Valet includes in-out privileges, which is nice. Overall, great hotel, check out the PH!
I stayed here for my birthday weekend and was looking forward to a relaxing hotel experience near the beach with great views and services. We checked in in the afternoon and were immediately provided with our room. Valet service was a bit busy, not sure if they are understaffed on Saturday afternoons, etc. Later in the evening, the Penthouse bar attracts a lot of people. They did a good job of prioritizing hotel guests from the bar guests, but it would have been nice to reserve an elevator for hotel guests only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with a nice staff

Posted Apr 1, 2017
This was a nice boutique hotel with a good staff. We loved the turn down service and housekeeping was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: everything :)
Cons: nada
Location: location is perfect - close to 3rd St Promenade, easy running on 1st, Lyft was quick to show up when I needed a ride
Pricey hotel but you get everything you pay for!! It's beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, cozy bed, good bathroom products and a desk to hop on your computer. Room service was quick. The Penthouse bar is gorgeous, a fun vibe and the bar tenders and very attentive and provide great service. It's a block from 1st where you can run and see the beach, and super close to 3rd St Promenade which is fun. I'll definitely stay here again!!