Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit to LA

Posted May 16, 2017
Well located, comfortable room, walkable neighborhood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown

Posted May 14, 2017
Rooms were nice and clean and room service for breakfast was excellent! The decor was nice as well. Service at the bar was slow, but overall good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel!

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: walkable to central market, Broad and Disney concert hall but need to plan route to avoid highway ramps and sketchy areas like the tunnel.
large bathroom and room. comfy beds, stylish lobby and rooms! warm pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orem utah

Great Hotel in LA downtown

Posted May 10, 2017
Sometimes you don't know what what your going to get with a non chain hotel. Glad I tried The la hotel. Service could not have been better from everyone I met. Hall figs were worn, but everything else was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Everything about our hotel stay was great, EXCEPT the front desk staff that were opening rude and dismissive to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great hotel, expensive parking, noisy rooms

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Nice beds and linens. Happy hour weekdays 4:30-7pm with cheap beers and bites.
Cons: Parking situation is expensive.
The LA Hotel Downtown is a great hotel. The huge atrium welcomes guests into luxury and comfort. Rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and linens. Unfortunately, no mini-fridge or microwave in the room, which I figure these days is pretty standard for any size room. We stayed on the 7th floor on the west side of the hotel over the pool. Thursday and Friday were pretty calm and quiet, but Saturday guests were roaming the halls, yelling and conversing in what seemed like right outside our door. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper and was woken up by hallway noise and traffic on the 110 highway during the late night/early evening. Maybe request a room on the east side of the building. The only other gripe, which it seems everyone complains about, is the parking situation. The only in-hotel option is valet, which is $40/night with in-out privileges. Right across the street at the World Trade Center is a massive self-park parking garage for half the price. There are two entrances to the garage. Thurs-Friday we entered through the N 3rd St entrance and paid $22/night (entered evening and left late morning). Saturday we entered on S Figueroa St and paid $14/night. Not sure why the discrepancy. Maybe the two lots have different rates. Maybe it was a Sunday when we left. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

They charge for wifi in the room!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Any hotel that charges for wifi in 2017 is not worth returning to. Essentially it is similar an airline that charges for peanuts and a blanket.
Location: If you like good restaurants Otium is a 10 minute walk (222 S Hope St). Other than that you are stuck with mediocre choices. After 11PM nothing...
The hotel staff was very nice. The decor is expensive looking, but cold in a Trump Tower way. The $40 dollar a night parking fee is a lot, but the bizarre practice of charging for wifi is absurd. Unfortunately after 11PM virtually nothing is open in the vicinity of the hotel. Next time we are in the center city it will be back in the real center near 7th.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dana point

Loyola Law School meet and greet

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: New and staff was so helpful
Cons: Outside grounds could be cleaned up
Location: Close to downtown area was safe
My daughter was accepted to Loyola law school. We needed a place downtown to stay the night. She had stayed here before and recommended we stay there. The hotel was magnificent, staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fine hotel near performing arts in LA

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Not much!
Location: In financial district, but within a short, easy walk to Performing Arts venues, which makes it perfect for attending symphony and opera, etc.
I loved this hotel. It was quiet, peaceful, with a beautiful lobby, very comfortable and quiet guest rooms with all amenities, including an empty refrigerator, so one could keep leftovers, etc. Bed was very comfortable, large windows overlooking LA skyline. A nice outdoor pool! The staff, particularly Donna was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The restaurant and room service were excellent with a nice menu of organic foods, excellently prepared. The location within a short walk to both Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion for opera were the reason I chose this hotel and I'm so glad I did. I would definitely stay there again. The only downside was not the hotel's fault, as it is located in the financial district, there is really nothing around there to walk to, but in some ways that made it more quiet and peaceful. And LA is just not a walking city for the most part!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Overall ok, but need more quickness and information when checked in.