Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: decor, service, staff, food
Cons: the outside. It looked pretty seedy from the outside. But the inside was completely different.
I was completely surprised at how nice this hotel was. Completely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location and beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: the history and the staff, extremely clean room.
Cons: bathrooms are a bit dated in rooms. In room coffee service is basic the kind you get in a cheap motel.
Location: Bottega Louie for amazing food, Cicada restaurant if you are looking for somewhere special to eat, Seven Grand for cocktails.
Check in with Victor was very pleasant he was helpful and friendly. Overall we found all the staff to be very nice. The hotel is of course historic and it was lovely to experience that. However there is no room service on weekends and most of the restaurant / bars shut down early over weekends which is a pain (although there are plenty of great places to eat and drink within very short walking distance). I would stay here again but probably during the week. I would be sure this time to bring my swim suit for a swim in the historic pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Lovely boutique hotel in downtown LA Close to restaurants and LA happenings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Pleasant trip

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The size of the room , clean and breakfast
Cons: The elevator needs some upgrade and make some scaring noise
Location: It is located on the center of downtown and easily accessible to transportation bar and restaurants
This hotel is well located in LA downtown , friendly staff , very comfortable and clean room, good breakfast. Just the elevator needs some upgrade the rest everything is excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Average

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Breakfast and housekeeping
Location: It is walking distance from Chinatown.
Room looked much more smaller than the picture and it wasn't cleaned properly. The sheets were dirty and the toiletries were not replaced after my check-in. I also woke up sweating at 3 am because the power went out due to electrical work in the hotel. The breakfast was okay and the staff was really good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Lovely place with tons of charm and character. I got upgraded to a spacious corner suite which was a great surprise. Hot breakfast in the morning was quite wonderful. Wish I had had the time to use the gym facilities but I was in town for work. Next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Classic Style, Relaxing, and Comfortable

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Hotel was nice. Furniture was tired and needs to be replaced. Food was good. Staff was nice, but did not seem to have the training of most branded hotels. Overall experience was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

Better than we expected!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
First time at this hotel and they made a great first impression. All the staff were friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. The downtown location was convenient for the activities we had planned. A great part of this hotel is the access to all the amenities (pool, basketball court, fitness center)and the full breakfast which was included. We had to pay for parking, but it was a parking garage connected to the hotel. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jap

Downtown reasonable hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2016
I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Hotel location is quite good. The hotel is quite old, but hotel room is quite acceptable. But terrible thing is the lift is terrible. There are 3 or 4 lift but only 1 lift was working, so we have to wait a long time to go up or down. Besides, our room also has bad odour. Amenities are also not being refilled(the boz for amenities are left out blank)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

The elevator are horrible

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Staff are friendly and helpful
Cons: fix the elevator
Location: location is good
Old hotel, the room is clean and tidy, facilities is old, staff are good and pleasing, the light in the room a bit too dark. The elevator shut down in the second day after I move in, all four elevator stop service for whole day and i need to walk 11/F to my room up and down few times. In the third day, only one elevator back to service but this elevator keep shaking and shaking when I am using, this is horrible and I think the facility is too old and need to renew or fix.