Ratings based on 2,610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Views of downtown
Cons: Carpets could be replaced in hallways and elevators should be upgraded
Location: Central location, however the neighbourhood is not the best.
We never stayed that long at the hotel other than to sleep, however, the staff were very accommodating when we had to call them about an issue with the TV. The hotel lobby was under renovations so it was disappointing, however, the room amenities were good. The GOOD-The bed and bed linens were very nice and comfortable, and the new LG TV (although the cable service was out for 1 entire day), coffee station, remote telephone were a nice touch. The views from the room of the LA downtown was breath taking, and given the price of the room there was no other bargain deal in downtown LA. The BAD-The bathroom was very small with no counter space. The black and white theme of the rooms and hallways made the place seem dark. It would have been nicer with a different color palette but that is a matter of personal taste. The surrounding neighbourhood is not that desirable but it was only a couple blocks from downtown LA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Good value for price & location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The rooms were nicely updated. The lobby & other spaces are still under renovation, but I think it will be a nice spot when it is complete.
Cons: Heating/cooling
Location: Very convenient location
My room was recently renovated & had a beautiful view of the downtown LA skyline. The bathroom was very small with shower (not bathtub) & there were a few little things wrong, but worked out ok. It is in walking distance of the Metro station (about 4 blocks). Uber & Lyft were very inexpensive to get around downtown & I took Metro to other areas. It is kind of in a fringe area on the edge of downtown. There were fewer homeless people on the streets than in the fancier areas so I felt safe. The concierge was helpful. You can get on the dash for 50 cents across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Dirty room. Cant control air conditioner (freezing inside). Stained carpet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convenient if you need to be in Downtown LA. Old.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Old hotel. Cosmetic renovation is in progress. Room cleaning could be better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salinas, United States of America

Great place to stay if your hanging out downtown

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Walking distance to restaurants and shops.
Overall it was good. Average. The staff was nice, rooms were clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Nice hotel. Great Views of Downtown LA.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Breakfast at the JiST Cafe was phenomenal. It's also in little Tokyo which is a pretty cool area to walk around.
The staff was great. Gabriel checked us in and upgraded us to a higher floor with awesome views. The room was cleaned very well by the housekeeping service. The hotel was recently renovated and looks nice however, it seemed to be a budget friendly renovation as some of the tiles were falling apart in the room and bathroom, even though it was just remodeled. Also, the parking is really expensive. You might get lucky and find street parking and can use it if you're an early bird, most of the meters start at 8am. There is also a garage across the street that's half the price. The hotel is in a great location in downtown, LA and overall has a great vibe, very chic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bien hotel para quedarse en Los Ángeles

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Todo me gustó. El personal muy amable.
Location: En el Down Town hay muchos restaurantes, tiendas y todo queda cerca.
El hotel se encuentra en el down twon de Los Ángeles, las habiataciones son cómodas y aseadas. Tiene una excelente vista y se encuentra cerca de tiendas, restaurantes y el metro.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Close to subway
Cons: Neighborhood could be better.
Location: see previous comments
If you are a business traveler and have a need to work at a desk, you need to be aware that the lighting is really bad. In general, the lighting is so bad. Its a shame because you can tell they are really trying to please their customers. I've stayed there several times (good room rates that meet my employers allowable hotel expense) and all the rooms have this problem. I've shared this with the front desk staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

There was insects in my room (ants)

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything
Needs some work before anyone stays here. They are infested with ants. Costumer service isn't great either you have to get everything on your own.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amenities? We never heard of such a thing.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: I did like that I was offered to get my room serviced every day!
Cons: That the room types aren't specific on the room so I got a super small room after I saw a completely different layout on the website a bit misleading
Location: There's a really nice ZARA & H&M and some nice outdoor shops that are near this hotel.
This hotel, in my opinion, is OK.... I mean I understand they're going through renovations but they could atleast have room service! the ceiling in room 1002 has brown stuff on it looks a little nasty.