Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The hotel entrance is nice but the rooms are not they don't have refrigerators or microwave
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Batesville, Arkansas

Good value in downtown LA

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Price for the location is very reasonable.
Cons: Some kind of shelving in bathroom to hold customer toiletries would be very helpful.
While the space was small, the room was clean, quiet, and a bit charming in a funky, vintage kind of way. The room was quiet and clean and completely adequate for a non-picky traveler looking for safe, convenient lodging in downtown LA. Breakfast is a nice bonus, but for folks wanting more, there are several eateries nearby, including Subway, IHOP, and more. A reasonably-priced parking deck is just a few doors down the block from the hotel. I would stay there again if I needed a hotel in that part of town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel, everything is very old

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: I would say nothing
Cons: Shut down for an year and do full renovation
I would say please avoid this hotel at all cost. We paid decent amount. I know its a 2/3 star hotel but there are some basic things which must be good for any hotel. This one is good for nothing. They should shut down for an year and do the renovation. We booked this hotel for 2 nights. Let me highlight how terrible the room was, first of all everything in room was atleast 10 years old. Electrical sockets not working (pic attached), air conditioning/heating unit was old (pic attached), flush got clogged, worst mattress, bed frame. I think they use the cheapest mattress. All night i was not able to sleep. So i requested another room for second night. Again the room condition was same. Same age old Air conditioner, broken hair dryer (pic attached), worst mattress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Close to Microsoft Theater and Staples Center.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Central location. Good breakfast.
Cons: 1st room was not as described. Tiny! Bed was standard, not queen size. Up-graded room was nice with King bed, bring other rooms up to that standard.
Location: Microsoft Theater, Staples Center.
Easy to find with MAPS. Room not up to Expedia description. Manager up-graded to a nice room. Included breakfast was better than most Hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but need a complete makeover

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nice location and complimentary breakfast.
Cons: Needs upgrade.
Overall stay was ok. Stayed there for three days. Its in downtown so close to various places. Hotel is really old around 100 years. A/c / Heater unit looks like from 80s. Rooms are very small. Economy ones do not have a bathtub. Do not have their own parking but there are 2 ,3 public parkings nearby this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will do the trick, for overnight

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: How close it was to our destination and the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated so that it looks clean, because it has an old, worn look to it.
Location: This hotel is located in downtown, L.A. There was an IHOP at the corner and lots of shops too. We were about a block away from the Staples Center.
We stayed at this hotel because we were out-of-towners coming to see at concert at The Novo. I saw this hotel and it was close and had a great price compared to surrounding hotels. The hotel doesn't look bad in the lobby. They had it decorated for Christmas, with a large Christmas tree. The clerk at the counter had a heavy accent, and it was hard to understand what he was saying. When we got to our room, it was very tiny. Our view was the top of the building next door. The bathroom was kind of gross. They did have a large T.V with cable though- if you care for that. I did like the complimentary breakfast they provided downstairs. Checkout was easy. So if you need a place to stay overnight- this will work without breaking the bank.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Nice from the outside but terrible inside

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The room is dirty and dusty. The heater/aircond is probably from the 80s. The shower had good water pressure but the water was luke warm. If you are looking for a hot shower after a long day's work prepare to be disappointed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good value for the location, but needs some love

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: For DTLA, it's affordable and the location is great.
Cons: Fix the plumbing and put a little money into some renovations.
Location: Shopping and dining nearby. LA Live, etc.
The Milner Hotel is a decent budget-friendly choice if you're staying one night in LA and need to be downtown. The rooms are dated, but have surprisingly comfy beds and quick wifi. The shower never heated up, though. I didn't have time to call down and move rooms, so I just suffered through the cold. Staff was fine. Not super friendly, but not cold either. My room and bathroom were very clean, which is always a plus when looking at more affordable hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nothing more than a room

Posted Dec 7, 2016
I was disappointed by lack of normal amenities, such as parking, restaurant, etc. With what I paid additionally in parking (atleast $18 per night) I could have booked a nicer hotel that includes parking and maybe a pool (it is LA after all). I think it is also my mistake for booking in Downtown LA; won't be making that mistake again. Room was a nice size and clean but hotel itself is very dated and in need of upgrades.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downtown Los Angeles

You can do better for your money

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The rooms given we not the rooms advertised on the website. Rooms were so small you couldn't even fit your luggage. Beds were dirty, bathrooms were subpar. When switched to upgraded rooms, hot water for showers was scarce. The only upside to this hotel was the location and the morning breakfast.