Ratings based on 5,493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A Grande Dame in Need of Attention

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: As always, the ship itself. As such, I would still recommend guardedly on this basis
Cons: As above - urgently. Pride of ownership.
I adore the Queen Mary - the engineering marvel she is, her lines, and her history. So, it is very sad to see her slowly deteriorating for want of care. I gather the City of Long Beach still owns her, but leases out to a private operator. Am not sure, then, who is responsible for her maintenance but it is, clearly, not being done. Apart form the token new xmas lights on the smoke stacks, she needs paint (badly), varnish all over her bright work, polish to her brass, new carpets, and deck repairs. Of the two main elevators, one has been out of service for a month, making access to the ship tedious slow, even off peak. Costly as this may be, the City took on a heritage property in trust and with that comes the promise of due care and attention. As regards staff, middling at best. None stellar. They show no pride in working aboard one of the most unique hotel properties in the world and are currently comporting themselves at "Holiday Inn" level at best. The room was, unfortunately, also disappointing. Tho' elegant history still shone through the mediocrity, the wall paper was scuffed, bathroom in need of many repairs, and details just not attended to. All in all a sadly melancholy experience that should have been memorable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Live in the History

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Loved the ship. Loved the ambiance. Liked the charm of the room.
Cons: Only thing I would like to see changed would be the bathroom things (shampoo, etc). This seemed a step up from a motel, but not much. But that's a
Location: Great location in LB.
Having read a lot about the history of Ocean Liners and the role of the QM in and after the war, I was really excited to stay here. Loved the ship. Loved the ambiance. Liked the charm of the room. Made me wonder who the soldiers where that stayed in that very room on their way to war. Only thing I would like to see changed would be the bathroom things (shampoo, etc). This seemed a step up from a motel, but not much. But that's a small thing. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape May, New Jersey

Quite cozy for an 80-year-old ship

Posted Nov 14, 2016
And nostalgic return to 80 years ago when passenger liners were in its heyday. The rooms were cozy and unique for the time period it was built. We were disappointed that there was a $22 charge for parking and you were forced to park two blocks away from the hotel, unless you wanted to pay $26 for valet. Tack on another $15 for facilities fee that allows you to use Internet, this made our stay less enjoyable. PS The parking lot was completely empty for a Monday night stay and we still had to park two blocks away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nostalgic and educational

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: I loved it all. The history and living the life on the boat as it once was. Particularly loved the free audio tour, the ghost tour and the Princess Diana Museum. Amazing place to visit.
Cons: Somewhere to go with my 15 year old daughter after 10pm. Neither ready for bed but got kicked out of the bar due to her age.
Location: No idea I am afraid only had a short stay and enough on the boat to keep me entertained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, United States of America

Fun being on a ship.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
We took the ghost haunted tour which was fun. Had a drink in the bow's observation bar at happy hour prices. Even the snacks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Very interesting

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: We liked the history of the ship. We liked being able to go around and explore the ship. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We got lost trying to find our room and they offered and showed us our room.
Cons: There were hidden charges with this purchase. $22 for parking and $30 for amenities. I didn't see them outlined when booking the room like you do with Vegas hotels. Never the less the stay was worth it.
Location: The ship is located by the shipping yards so you do have to drive a bit to get to something to do. We drove to both Redondo Beach and Venice Beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: History
The overall room was awesome and the decor with historical features
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Don't compare QM w hotels. It's a ship to love!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: It's a ship and it feels like it. Good.
Cons: It didn't sail. LOL
Location: Awesome free shuttle to Long Beach. Enjoy the stay
I loved how well preserved the Queen Mary is. I enjoyed a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

So full of amazing history

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Spent a whole day on the ship enjoying the history. Went over to Long Beach and found a great Wine Bar. Enjoyed walking around the marina and shops.
The energies and history of the ship was just amazing. Being in the rooms and taking the tours was great. Had a great time, can't wait to come back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The history of the ship . Something fun to do after our cruise
Cons: Prices room service breakfast said it was 17 ended up being over 25