Ratings based on 1,296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Isha from Reno, Nevada

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel in the past and always had a fabulous experience. This time the hotel felt run down, dirty and the wait staff was terrible. I had to ask 4 wait staff and wait over an hour for a towel by the pool. The next morning I went to the pool at 9am to drink my coffee. It is posted that it opened at 7am yet when I arrived dirty towels were everywhere and furniture was piled into the waterbeds. The last straw was when I stepped into the shower and dirt ran through my toes down the drain that was already in the shower. It was disgusting. I am extremely disapointed...especially for how expensive the rate was.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
The rooftop experience has been removed due to private events. Close at 10pm on other nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

horrible guest experience!

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: rooms are okay
Cons: all customer service
Location: great downtown location
the first day my room simply wasn't cleaned! when i enquired, i was told someone would come to clean the room (it was now 7 pm or so). when someone did arrive, he complained that this took him off his break. my colleague was also staying at the hotel and he too did not have his room cleaned. that evening i wanted a bottle of wine from the minibar. there was no corkscrew in the room. i called the front desk and then room service. neither helped (although they said they would). i went down to the front desk myself twice, with no success. i was ultimately told that the hotel charges for a corkscrew...and did i want one? what? the hotel is in serious decline from prior years, and i strongly suggest one stay elsewhere. by the way, when i respectfully spoke with a "supervisor"...there was no engagement...no interest...no "im sorry"....no interest in any way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't clean room

Posted Jun 10, 2016
After letting them know that room was not cleaned, I would of thought they would get done. Nopr
4 out of 5
by Cuauhtemoc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by matt from laguna beach

bad stay at the standard

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Honestly, i was pretty disappointed in my stay this time. I usually love the standard but this one really left a bad taste in my mouth. i took a shower and somehow the steam caused the smoke alarm to go off...at 2am for 10 mins straight!! i asked them if there was a fire and they immediately asked "did you take a shower?" clearly they knew that caused it. would love to see what happens if there's actually a fire on the floor. i took another shower in the morning and like clockwork the alarm went off again and lasted for about 15-20 mins this time. the staff was unfriendly and pretty unhelpful and wouldn't even let me get a drink at the roofbar at 1am because it closes at 1:30am. i told them the issues of the smoke alarm the next day and you'd think any manager would want to make the stay right and include free parking or something but they did nothing of the sort which is causing me to write this poor review.
4 out of 5
by John from Pasadena

The Standard: Modern, Stylish, Hip

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
I live in Pasadena and was attending an event at one of the restored hotels DTLA. Decided to make an overnight of it and found a cool room with a nice price at The Standard. Made a great little overnight "getaway."
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by rudy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trendy Hotel that still has the Vibe

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Be sure to check out the large mural of bicyclists in the hotel gym (located on the third floor). That alone is worth the visit.
Enjoyed my stay immensely and took advantage of the rooftop/pool garden, the lounge on the second floor, the restaurant and the gym. Must defend the hotel in terms of some of the reviews regarding minimalism and noise. Look, if you're in Los Angeles to take your children to the theme parks, the Standard is not the place to stay. This is a hotel for the young crowd that likes to party, and for business travelers looking for a place that is trendy. The minimalist setup in the room is part of the charm. The staff were great and friendly. I for one appreciated the hotel having security to check the key cards when accessing the elevator. The security wasn't there for my entire stay, but was there when the hotel had a scheduled event on the rooftop. Definitely coming back.