Ratings based on 1,370 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel has a rooftop with a pool.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: rooftop
Cons: the customer service. they need to be nicer to guests.
there was only one desk person at the front desk. it took half an hour to check in. we had trouble getting in the rooftop night club. this hotel was not great. the customer service was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overall pleasant stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Awesome décor and great location if you are there for business downtown. Great pool and bar areas.
Cons: Better TV and remote. Coffee pot in room. Better ironing board and iron.
Location: Again, great bar and pool/lounge areas. Room service was great and very nice.
Hotel staff was very helpful, but if you are looking for a 'brand new' hotel this is not the location. Awesome décor and place to hang out. Room was nice, but missing a higher-end feel to the finishes. Clean and useful, just missing a the stepped-up feel of other Standard Hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Millennial Heaven

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Cons: Add a microwave to the facility. Lower the valet parking rates.
Location: The Westin Hotel 2 block away
Very expensive valet parking - cost is twice more than a daily car rental rate. Amenities: cool to see a room with 3-4 ping pong tables and a lounge. Roof top pool, lounge and beergarden - accessible to anyone staying at the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Rude staff when I checked out. Toilet malfunctions loud, noises heard from my room 50% of my stay there. Also if you want to use the pool as a guest it's only open 12-8.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Room was scant. No garbage can in bathroom and entire bathroom flooded when using the "modern shower".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The Standard is iconic, worth a visit if nothing else except for their awesome Ping Pong bar. The rooms are made for the minimalist, but they are lacking a sort of coziness. Although the decor was unique, it wasn't my style and made the room feel a bit cold and outdated. We initially had some trouble with our room (it was the wrong size bed) and they weren't exactly quick to fix it - in fact, one of the front desk agents was quite rude. We tried again with someone else who was great and we really appreciated his help. The hotel boasts about their 24 hour room service, but when we tried to take advantage, they were out of almost everything on their menu! Thank goodness they had delicious French fries. Overall, I would not recommend The Standard for a long stay but it works for a quick night in DTLA, especially because of such close access to everything else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Room was a little barren and depressing but clean and modern.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
To hipster. Add some comfort to the rooms. Thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trying to be trendy, but cold and uncomfortable

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
I'm a 30-year old who stayed at The Standard with my boyfriend on a Friday night. The hotel has a pretentious vibe, and is thrifty masquerading as trendy. The room was industrial and cold with yellow and gray stripes dripping down the wall, the small TV jutting out of a pipe is awkwardly off center and the man at reception was not friendly nor gave us any information about the hotel or its amenities. We wanted to enjoy the lounge but when we walked to the top of the stairs were informed that we needed stamps and that hotel guests were not guaranteed after 9 pm (no one told us). Then we walked outside, got in line and were told they could make an exception for us because we were "special" and stamped our hands to enter the lounge rooftop bar... Give me a break. Overall, not worth the $260.00/night to stay here. I would however recommend the rooftop lounge for a $20.00 cover or free on the guest list.