Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mark s.

hollywood hideaway

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Orbitz
great little hotel 500 feet up in the hollywood hills. a quiet secluded spot just blocks from the noise and congestion of the city with an amazing view overlooking the hills and city. the hotel itself is a bit old and worn but the location makes up for it. the staff was great, i would say the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel i've stayed at. one negative, i couldn't access the wireless internet but it was available at the magic castle, their main location at the bottom of the hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan G.

Business Trip

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on CheapTickets
The only problem with our stay was that we did not have hot water for the first day and didn't notice it until the evening so it did not get fixed until mid next day. That meant a cold showers for my wife and I. Once it was fixed, everything else was great. We will stay there again. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Veek

great value and unbeatable location

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Orbitz
the room was uphill, but we had all the amenities the hotel had to offer including 24-hour shuttle. the only problem was the sofa bed - we were three people, so one of us (me) had to sleep on the sofa and the mattress was literally paper thin - it was the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever slept with - actually I barely could sleep - they did not have any replacements for it, even though I asked. Other than that, everything was great. The main beds were awesome, grounds are beautiful and hotel staff is extremely nice and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sheri H.

Hollywood Bowl Concert

Posted May 22, 2015 on Orbitz
We had tickets to see Neil Diamond at the Hollywood Bowl, This was a perfect location. Quiet and great view of the city and Capital Records building. Shuttle service was wonderful and very convenient. The hotel was old and in need of renovation but it was clean and comfortable. The front desk and shuttle staff were very friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John B.

great location

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Orbitz
Stay was great with wonderful pool and japanese restaurant above on the mountain top. Location is wonderful and highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brewers and Bingo mama

Dated

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Orbitz
The location and views are great. The hotel and room were "dated". ..updatws are needed. Staff was great (front desk and shuttle driver) Complimentary shuttle up and down the hill. Leaves and dirt in pool. I would not use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by GTS1

Hollywood exploring

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Orbitz
You will wake up in the morning with the most amazing view! Wow!! & the pool is great...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KarenP

We LOVE this hotel!!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Ebookers
I almost don't want to tell anyone about this amazing place! Brilliant location, really central yet in quiet leafy, area, one stop from Universal Studios. Beautiful pool over looking Hollywood, usually just us there. Big apartment with balcony (kitchen could do with a refurb if I was picky). Get to use all the Magic Castle Hotel facilities, eg breakfast there, heated pool, free shuttle up to apartments. Unbelievably reasonably priced. But best of all were the staff, could not have been more helpful, I felt like they became our friends. My children even said they wanted to be like Mallory and Kevin when they grow up and work in this hotel! Thank you for making our stay so special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tracy the student

Extremely Friendly Staff & Excellent Location

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Orbitz
The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot in getting around the area and driving us up and down the hill. Just a few minutes' walk away from the Chinese Theater, Dolby Theater, Walk of Fame, etc. Great hotel to stay at if you want the true Hollywood experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hollywood Lover

Seriously awesome & affordable!

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Orbitz
We stayed only one night. Four girls, and we loved it! The staff is amazingly nice. Nick was there at our check in and he was way cool and totally helpful. Everything we asked we got the answer we hoped to get. Half our party was going to the Bruno Mars concert and they provide a shuttle to the hollywood bowl and back free of charge! The balcony is great, very spacious and the view just amazing. The rooms were clean, beds where so comfy with down blankets and very fluffy pillows. We had the 2 bed city view suite. That's 2 beds, fully stocked kitchen (I believe all rooms have a kitchen) and a sitting room. Tv in both rooms. The bathroom had a full 2 sink counter and large mirror and a walk in closet. the bathroom is private and the shower is clean. The pool was SOOOOOO BEAUTIFUL. Views all around. Even though there is a lot of plants all around the area...I was still able to get some pictures. It was a very clean area to lounge around. Hollywood Boulevard is literally a block away but remember that the hotel is in the hills. We did have to walk down the hill road but it was all in good fun. No heels! hah. Check out was easy, all i was charged was an 11$ parking fee. At check in they charge a security deposit of only 50$ and they took the 11$ out of that and refunded the rest. Breakfast was just bagels fruits and few other basics. We passed. No big deal. We would definitely stay here again. You really feel like your living it up in the hills of hollywood.