Ratings based on 1,399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fab motel style hotel but much more ....

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Facilities, breakfast, locality v near Universal etc and Hollywood
Cons: Little more attention to details in room cleaning but nothing major
Location: Great restaurants, variety of cuisines and all child friendly
Lovely hotel, fab warm pool, walking distance to many great restaurants. Stayed three nights with husband and two kids whilst seeing sights of LA and Universal. Facilities great - lovely coffee available 24hrs and delicious pastries from local bakery every morning . Don't be put off by motel look of hotel, spent 3 weeks travelling California staying in everything from 4 stars down yo log cabins, this was by far the best. Real gem
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Perfect central point to visit L.A. by car

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Staff at the Tangerine are amazingly cool! They gave us amazing tips on where to go, what to see in LA, best places to park and let us use their laptop and even printed our tickets. The place is quiet, has a nice little heated pool and is the perfect central spot to visit LA by car since it's very close to all major roads. It's 5 mins away of Universal and the drive to Hollywood boulevard and Sunset Strip is 12 to 18 mins away! You can make it to Hollywood sign in less than 10 minutes, and its a very nice ride to Santa Monica in about 50 minutes. There is nice restaurants on the street and the free coffe and breakfast pastries (fresh every morning) are excellent. The only "down side" is that parking is limited and can get full late at night, but the staff will move your car out of the street for you in the morning if you need to sleep later than 9am... On weekend you can park on the front street all day so it's no issue at all. Felt very safe in that area, no issues at all and the commodities are exactly what you should expect for that type of motel. Huge tanks to the Tangerine for making our first trip to L.A. amazing!!! Still can't believe all we were able to do in 5 days from that spot!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Sehr netter Empfang. Kleines Hotel am Rande von LA. Etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Sauberkeit war aber ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
This was a very nice hotel stay. Close to most of the Hollywood attractions. The hotel has many restaurants near by. The only thing was the parking, if you go out and come back late there was usually no where to park on there lot. However they were very accommodating by telling us to park on the street and they would move our car in the morning so we wouldn't get a ticket. They also have this great coffee machine in the lobby and every morning would have these delicious pastries. They keep the hotel very clean and everyone is so kind. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again in the future. I will say though it is far from LAX so plan accordingly, but there is an airport called the Bob Hope Airport that seems to be closer if you book your flight through there maybe that will help. All in all it was a great hotel location in the middle of L.A.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Great Hotel with Great Amenities

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Very pleased with our stay at The Tangerine. The room offered a safe, mini fridge, DVD player, TV with various channels, and was quite spacious. The hotel staff was very helpful as we placed our 'do not disturb' sign out while at Universal and received a voicemail that their cleaning staff was leaving for the day, but if we required any items for the room that the front desk would be of assistance. In the lobby, they offered pastries which held us over until we headed out for the day along with an espresso machine, hot/cold water dispenser, and various tea flavors. Pool was very clean and was not packed during our stay. Can't wait to stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing vintage hotel near Universal Studios

Posted Aug 11, 2016
This is a remodeled, beautiful hotel near great restaurants and a short uber ride from Universal Studios. The manager Kamal and his staff were the kindest, most helpful, professional staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast pastries were delicious. We would definitely stay here the next time we are in LA.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Fun & funky decor. Convenient to restaurants & attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good overnight stay

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Staff was pleasant and helpful, room was comfortable, aircon was a little bit noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The front desk staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel was small which gave a homey feel. Lots of great restaurants along street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Comfy beds and heated pool

Posted Jul 16, 2016
There could definitely be more parking. Stayed 2 nights and only found parking out back COMPLETELY full once. Had to park by the pool which barely has any room. But loved everything else. Great staff, great beds, pastries and coffee 7-11