Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: The bed could have been harder - we didn't ask about that.
Location: Central Long Beach, close to our destination.
Don't judge this hotel by its exterior. We liked everything about it. The rooms are quite small, but that's just part of the fun. Staff is great. Rooms are clean, modern, and stylish. WiFi connected quickly and worked perfectly. Costs $10 to park in the lot immediately to the north of the building. Continental breakfast included Keurig coffees, orange juice, tea, mini-muffins, apples, oranges, oatmeal, and danish. Bed was a little soft, if that's an issue for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Homey historic hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Ambiance
Wonderful staff, great location, charming historic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great place to stay.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Hotel staff was super friendly. Room was a tad small but perfect for our needs for the weekend. Location was good, about a mile or less from downtown long beach. Would definitely recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Super friendly staff. Terrific value. Lots of stuff within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Great affordable hotel with some of the most friendly staff I have ever met in a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Would stay there again. It was great!! Clean and front staff was super friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great service and staff

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and courteous. The free breakfast and wine tasting was a lovely touch.
Cons: The rooms are a bit small, but it was fine for our short stay.
The hotel staff provided such great service! They greeted us with a friendly smile at check-in and carried our baggage to our room. We were given a tour of the facilities as well as the amenities in our room. We were greeted, by name, every time we left and returned to the hotel. It was clean, quite and within walking distance to everything. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who asked!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

One night stay in Long Beach, Varden Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Location was a bit of a draw back, being at the edge of downtown core. Away slight walk away for the restaurants and tourist areas.
Location: The free trolley/bus service makes everything accessible.
We really enjoyed our one night stay in Long Beach, thanks to the helpful staff at the Varden hotel. Our stay was for one night before catching a cruise the following day. The Varden was as advertised, simple and pleasant enough with a modern décor without being over the top. Good light snacks and breakfast were available. Our staff person was very helpful and informative and made our getting around Long Beach very easy. A drawback would be for families as there were no facilities (e.g. pool, fitness area), that I noticed, to keep the kids busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johannes C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jullie from Glendale

Always as pleasant

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
As always it was a joy to stay there again. customer service was excellent. We'll definitely be back when hanging out in Long Beach