Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing boutique hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and welcoming. The wine tasting in the evening was also nice.
The rooms are very, very tiny! They are ok if you are a single person traveling, but for a couple, it felt too small, especially if you have some luggage. There is very little space overall to store your stuff, and the placing of the sink is very inconvenient. The air in the room felt very damp, and even the carpets felt damp too. When returning home all my clothes were damp as well, so there is something wrong with the air circulation. Additionally, if you are a taller person (5'11" or taller) be prepared that the bed is too short for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Very well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are small but functional and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendly small boutique hotel, great location.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: It's quiet, with a limited number of rooms, yet chic.
Cons: Could benefit from some updating.
Location: Waterfront is a short walk, access to the light rail is just down the block, as well as the Social Bicycle bike share station.
Good value, close to transportation and downtown, with very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Lovely Little Room

Posted May 8, 2017
The Varden Hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside, so I was a little worried when I pulled up, but I needn't have been. The rooms are small, but everything is designed to fit perfectly, with a clean, modern look. It might have been a bit cozy for two people, but I was traveling alone and it was perfect for me. The bathroom is a nook off the bedroom, but you have everything you need. The shower is very high, so good for tall people. The bed was comfortable, and I enjoyed being able to open the windows and get fresh air. The staff was extremely attentive. Breakfast was available in the morning (continental), and wine and snacks were put out in the afternoon. I stayed here because I couldn't get a room at the hotel where my conference was, but it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona CA

Quaint Hotel Near Queen Mary

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Clean, quiet hotel. No issues with parking. Check-in was fast and easy. Room was small, but comfortable. Hotel staff are welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would book here again

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great the only thing that could improve could be the wifi speed felt not as fast as it could have have been but other than that everything was perfect would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Cyndi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Mar 29, 2017
There is always someone at the front desk 24/7, which is wonderful. Check in and check out were simple and easy. The complimentary continental breakfast was generic with mini muffins, pastries, and oatmeal, but was much appreciated. During the hours of 5-7 pm, there were cookies, peanuts, trail mix, and other snacks available in addition to a complimentary wine tasting (one bottle of red, one bottle of white with cups on the side). Everything in my room was clean, tidy, and overall a great experience! The only thing I was disappointed in was the sink. Washing my face in the sink was a chore. The sink is smaller than 1'x2' and they put a small glass ledge above it for toiletries with not a lot of space between. You can look at the pictures for yourself. I had to put my head under the ledge, put my forehead directly against the wall, and my face in the sink in order for me to wash my face. Brushing my teeth always got water on the carpet and my legs wet. Other than that, the bathroom was clean, hot water was fast, and the hair dryer was powerful. Overall, I'm happy with my stay, but the burden that the sink caused might keep me from staying here again.
2 out of 5
by Jack

Unsatisfied customer

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed in the urban room and it is super small, the sink is right opposite the bed and you can barely do anything as the sink is small and they placed a shelf over it so you can even bend down to wash your face without hitting your head on the shelf. Breakfast was a joke with dry pastries and all... I would not recommend this hotel for business or vacation it was not comfortable at all.