Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Size is important!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: the receptionist at check-in. She was very pleasant and provided some good recommendations for dinner and other needs-I believe her name was Tracy.
Cons: I was surprised by how small the rooms were. there was not a closet, the wash basin was in a different room than the shower, overall, the room was very cramped for one person. It was clean and comfortable otherwise.
Location: the location was very good, the parking was sketchy and the charge for parking was excessive, proportional to the cost of the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic stay. Pleasant and great location.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Small room but comfortable. Great choice but seemingly thin walls. TV/remote doesn't work but it was still great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms, large service

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff, comfort of the beds.
Cons: Rooms were a bit small.
Location: Great location! easy/short walk to excellent dining options and public transit.
The room was quite small (about the size of my dorm room back in college), but the attention to detail by the staff more than made up for it. The staff went way out of their way to ensure your stay was comfortable and that you had everything you needed. I wound up there by accident as there was nothing else available anywhere else, and the next time I return I'll be sure to check The Varden for availability first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms ok if you just need a place to sleep

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. I also liked the price compared to other hotels within a brief walking distance from the convention center.
Cons: Rooms were very small, windows were old, cracked and had chicken wire. If you're used to staying at Hilton or Hyatt this is not your kind of place.
Location: Convention center is about 0.5 miles away. Nice area between the hotel and convention center with plenty of restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, Perfect location and friendly staff.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location was perfect, within walking distance to restaurants and shops and a public transportation is available nearby.
Pros: -The check in process was quick -The room was clean -The staff were friendly and helpful. -Comfortable bed Cons: -The bathroom's sink and the shower stall were very small -You could hear the noise from the the rooms next to you. - No elevator !! I was lucky I booked the classic room on the 1st floor because I had a huge piece of luggage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

verry good

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: service was great, and they even took care of my vintage bike
Cons: I've got nothing to complain about, only thing to expedia that i have to write here somthing to let it pass even when i have nothing to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice staff - room was terribly disappointing

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: Add an elevator. Address all of the issues with the room.
Location: Location was okay, nervous at first. Was able to catch a free bus to some of the local attractions
No elevator - petite female at front desk offered to carry my luggage but I didn't feel right asking her to do that. Room - Tiny. Bed looked like something from a summer camp. Sink was not in the bathroom but at the end of the bed, and was only 1/2 the size of a normal sink. Due to small shelf above the sink I had to tilt my head under the shelf in order to spit my toothpaste into the sink. Shower stall was small - but worse, one of the window panes was clear, and so people in the building across from my bathroom could see into my shower while I showered. Toilet was directly (within inches) outside of my shower. Bed faced the sink, while TV was high up on the wall to the right of the bed. Made it very uncomfortable to watch TV so I gave up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Small but excellent location and staff

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The Staff mostly!
Location: Close to everything, transit, bike share, walking, free bus.
The experience was amazing here. The rooms ARE small for sure but the cleanliness, the breakfast and the amazing staff more than make up for small quarters. We felt like we were staying with family. Really nice family. ha ha. Breakfast consists of milk, OJ, oatmeal, yogurt, oranges, apples, pears and small selection of pastries. The wine tasting between 5-7 was awesome and we meet lots of new friends. Great location, we walked everywhere or took the free bus only 1/2 a block away, we even joined the city bike share and that stop is only a block away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location near downtown Long Beach

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Steps from LB downtown and transit. Stayed for one night after my cruise ended in LA, the hotel offered some snacks for breakfast and the evening for guests. Also complimentary bottles of water. It was also about 10 walk to the Flyaway airport shuttle bus (corner of 1st St and Long Beach Bvld - bus shelter A)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

In walking distance to many establishments

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: It was clean the service is superb.
Location: The location is good and in walking distance to the convention center, bars and restaurants.
I was shocked when I first walked into my room and saw how small it really was but the room was clean and comfortable. It worked out great for my fiancée and I.