Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Conference stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It was cozy and the room was clean.
The hotel is 10 -15 minutes walking distance from the Conference Center. My stay was really enjoyable and the staff was simply amazing. The breakfast was not lavish but it was pretty good considering most hotels don't have breakfast. It was a rainy week and the hotel staff had umbrellas ready for us to use, I thought that was a nice touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for downtown

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The staff was great Hotel was clean, room was like a closet and no room to move.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Near to where I needed to go to
Cons: Room 1 where I stayed, leaking ceiling
Location: Close to everything
Overall staff friendly and courteous, clean room, near to where I need to be
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff

Posted Jan 12, 2017
What a great hotel! The staff is fantastic and really care to make your stay wonderful. The rooms are big enough - didn't have any issue with the size. It's also very clean. The continental breakfast is nice with oatmeal, some fresh fruit, baked goodies, coffee, milk, tea, OJ. Convention center, restaurants, and shops are all in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in convenient location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Personal service.
Cons: Room sizes are small. For example, the 8" wide sink was squashed between the bottom of the bed and a wall, there was only one chair and little counte
Location: Located on boundary of a vibrant waterfront and a slightly sleezy uptown area.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at a time when we were very tired after travelling. The location is easy to find and a short walk from the boardwalk and marina.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: It really is a boutique hotel. Worth the stay. Be careful about extended stay tho.
The rooms are very nice, but also very small. The heater unit in my room didn't seem to work and I was cold the entire night being that my bed was next to a window.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Size is important!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: the receptionist at check-in. She was very pleasant and provided some good recommendations for dinner and other needs-I believe her name was Tracy.
Cons: I was surprised by how small the rooms were. there was not a closet, the wash basin was in a different room than the shower, overall, the room was very cramped for one person. It was clean and comfortable otherwise.
Location: the location was very good, the parking was sketchy and the charge for parking was excessive, proportional to the cost of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic stay. Pleasant and great location.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Small room but comfortable. Great choice but seemingly thin walls. TV/remote doesn't work but it was still great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms, large service

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff, comfort of the beds.
Cons: Rooms were a bit small.
Location: Great location! easy/short walk to excellent dining options and public transit.
The room was quite small (about the size of my dorm room back in college), but the attention to detail by the staff more than made up for it. The staff went way out of their way to ensure your stay was comfortable and that you had everything you needed. I wound up there by accident as there was nothing else available anywhere else, and the next time I return I'll be sure to check The Varden for availability first.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms ok if you just need a place to sleep

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. I also liked the price compared to other hotels within a brief walking distance from the convention center.
Cons: Rooms were very small, windows were old, cracked and had chicken wire. If you're used to staying at Hilton or Hyatt this is not your kind of place.
Location: Convention center is about 0.5 miles away. Nice area between the hotel and convention center with plenty of restaurants and bars.