Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It's a smaller hotel - loved that is is not the usual boring hotel room - loved that the hotel had an interesting history.
Location: Great location - walking distance to Lots of restaurants, marina and beach.
We arrived early so room wasn't ready. Staff went out of their way to ensure we were looked after until we could get into our room. Relaxed in lobby - coffee, tea and fresh fruit available. Didn't make it to wine tasting in the evening though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming boutique hotel in Long Beach, CA

Posted Jan 17, 2016
The staff was efficient and helpful. With the exception of a loud noise coming from an adjacent room at 2:00 am, which I believe was abated by the hotel staff that night, overall stay was great. I definitely recommend the hotel or those who prefer to stay at hotels that are charming and/or non-chain hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Fun & quirky

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Great little hotel in the heart of Long Beach. Easy check-in, but beware if there are more than 3 people at reception area, it felt like staff are getting confused who to speak to first. A very friendly service, nevertheless. Room was very small, but cosy. Fine for one night and if you are living out of the bag, but would not leave much space if one needed to unpack properly. A double bed is just that - just big enough to accommodate two people. Shower/bathroom area is also small and cleverly concealed behind a sliding mirror door (great use of space!). Room and bathroom were both clean. The property has no lift, even though taking the bags upstairs wasn't a problem for us, it can be an inconvenience for others. To be fair, reception staff offered their help carrying our luggage. Adequate breakfast in the morning in a small area behind the reception. Parking (surcharge) is conveniently located next door to the hotel. Overall a nice experience for a short stay in central Long Beach. Would choose again if travel on my own, but for a couple it was a touch on a small side.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Highly overrated at 4-5 stars

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Staff provided helpful and friendly service. Good location. Small room. Tiny shower nook and bathroom sink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Personal touch. Staff remember my name, are always solicitous. Owner sends an email note of thanks after each visit.
Hadn't seen the outside sidewall mural, The Highest Standard of Living. Really glorious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Agnieszka from Poland

Nice. Good choice.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, modern, very nice and helpfull people on front desk. Close to Long Beach. Good choice. We were surprised only by costs of parking 12$.It was on the paper during check in, but We were tired at night at somebody should explain it in the clear way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ossi from Helsinki, Finland

9 days in Long Beach

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The Varden -A Boutique Hotel was a perfect choice! Allthough the room was a bit small for a nine day stay for two people it was very clean and nice. The staff was extremly friendly and helpfull! Nice continental breakfast and wine tasting in the lobby. Down town within walking distance and Blue Line metro station in front of the hotel. Our choice next time, too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kameron from Redondo

Great customer service; Too pricey by far.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
The greatest part about this hotel was the customer service we received from the concierge. Even though it was about a quarter till midnight, she greeted us warmly, extended every courtesy, & was very knowledgeable about the hotel. She made us comfortable and ensured we had all that we needed before she left for the night. Without her, my fiancée and I wouldn't have stayed. Cheers