Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms ok if you just need a place to sleep

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. I also liked the price compared to other hotels within a brief walking distance from the convention center.
Cons: Rooms were very small, windows were old, cracked and had chicken wire. If you're used to staying at Hilton or Hyatt this is not your kind of place.
Location: Convention center is about 0.5 miles away. Nice area between the hotel and convention center with plenty of restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, Perfect location and friendly staff.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location was perfect, within walking distance to restaurants and shops and a public transportation is available nearby.
Pros: -The check in process was quick -The room was clean -The staff were friendly and helpful. -Comfortable bed Cons: -The bathroom's sink and the shower stall were very small -You could hear the noise from the the rooms next to you. - No elevator !! I was lucky I booked the classic room on the 1st floor because I had a huge piece of luggage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

verry good

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: service was great, and they even took care of my vintage bike
Cons: I've got nothing to complain about, only thing to expedia that i have to write here somthing to let it pass even when i have nothing to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice staff - room was terribly disappointing

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: Add an elevator. Address all of the issues with the room.
Location: Location was okay, nervous at first. Was able to catch a free bus to some of the local attractions
No elevator - petite female at front desk offered to carry my luggage but I didn't feel right asking her to do that. Room - Tiny. Bed looked like something from a summer camp. Sink was not in the bathroom but at the end of the bed, and was only 1/2 the size of a normal sink. Due to small shelf above the sink I had to tilt my head under the shelf in order to spit my toothpaste into the sink. Shower stall was small - but worse, one of the window panes was clear, and so people in the building across from my bathroom could see into my shower while I showered. Toilet was directly (within inches) outside of my shower. Bed faced the sink, while TV was high up on the wall to the right of the bed. Made it very uncomfortable to watch TV so I gave up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Small but excellent location and staff

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The Staff mostly!
Location: Close to everything, transit, bike share, walking, free bus.
The experience was amazing here. The rooms ARE small for sure but the cleanliness, the breakfast and the amazing staff more than make up for small quarters. We felt like we were staying with family. Really nice family. ha ha. Breakfast consists of milk, OJ, oatmeal, yogurt, oranges, apples, pears and small selection of pastries. The wine tasting between 5-7 was awesome and we meet lots of new friends. Great location, we walked everywhere or took the free bus only 1/2 a block away, we even joined the city bike share and that stop is only a block away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location near downtown Long Beach

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Steps from LB downtown and transit. Stayed for one night after my cruise ended in LA, the hotel offered some snacks for breakfast and the evening for guests. Also complimentary bottles of water. It was also about 10 walk to the Flyaway airport shuttle bus (corner of 1st St and Long Beach Bvld - bus shelter A)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

In walking distance to many establishments

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: It was clean the service is superb.
Location: The location is good and in walking distance to the convention center, bars and restaurants.
I was shocked when I first walked into my room and saw how small it really was but the room was clean and comfortable. It worked out great for my fiancée and I.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

Close to a lot of interesting options

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: This hotel was simple and elegant. The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. My room was nicely laid out.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Mexican restaurant next door. Burger King a half block away. 5 minutes away you'll find a whole section of entertainment. A grocery store nearby!
I made my reservations last minute to attend a weekend event at the performing arts center. Even though it was a bit pricey, it was close to most anything I'd need. When I entered the staff were friendly and welcoming. The building itself was very nicely maintained and smelled great. Wine and snacks were provided at 5 pm and were a welcome treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

perfect location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, quite, friendly, describes this property.
Cons: One day the room was not serviced, some confusion with the door hanger sign. The staff and owners were most apologetic.
Location: This property was in the perfect location for our visit to Long Beach, CA. We took the train from Santa Fe, NM and then the Metro Blue Line.
Owners were on property each AM, you do not find that at any corporate chain, how pleasant. The staff was enthusiastic with their greetings, they remembered your name and room number, extremly helpful with recommendations and directions. This is a property built in 1929 and recently very thoughtfully remodeled, some may call the rooms small I would call them ALL that you need.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Small and friendly hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very friendly, its a personal little hotel, not some anonymous chain.
Cons: The building is old so sound insulation is a problem, you can clearly hear conversations and tv in nearby rooms.
Location: Its 4or 5 blocks back from the waterfront, one block from the main shopping and restaurants area. There is a free transit bus which stops nearby
Very welcoming and helpful staff, stylish rooms, not on main waterfront but close to all attractions and very near metro and free transit bus