Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Very well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are small but functional and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendly small boutique hotel, great location.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: It's quiet, with a limited number of rooms, yet chic.
Cons: Could benefit from some updating.
Location: Waterfront is a short walk, access to the light rail is just down the block, as well as the Social Bicycle bike share station.
Good value, close to transportation and downtown, with very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Lovely Little Room

Posted May 8, 2017
The Varden Hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside, so I was a little worried when I pulled up, but I needn't have been. The rooms are small, but everything is designed to fit perfectly, with a clean, modern look. It might have been a bit cozy for two people, but I was traveling alone and it was perfect for me. The bathroom is a nook off the bedroom, but you have everything you need. The shower is very high, so good for tall people. The bed was comfortable, and I enjoyed being able to open the windows and get fresh air. The staff was extremely attentive. Breakfast was available in the morning (continental), and wine and snacks were put out in the afternoon. I stayed here because I couldn't get a room at the hotel where my conference was, but it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona CA

Quaint Hotel Near Queen Mary

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Clean, quiet hotel. No issues with parking. Check-in was fast and easy. Room was small, but comfortable. Hotel staff are welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Mar 29, 2017
There is always someone at the front desk 24/7, which is wonderful. Check in and check out were simple and easy. The complimentary continental breakfast was generic with mini muffins, pastries, and oatmeal, but was much appreciated. During the hours of 5-7 pm, there were cookies, peanuts, trail mix, and other snacks available in addition to a complimentary wine tasting (one bottle of red, one bottle of white with cups on the side). Everything in my room was clean, tidy, and overall a great experience! The only thing I was disappointed in was the sink. Washing my face in the sink was a chore. The sink is smaller than 1'x2' and they put a small glass ledge above it for toiletries with not a lot of space between. You can look at the pictures for yourself. I had to put my head under the ledge, put my forehead directly against the wall, and my face in the sink in order for me to wash my face. Brushing my teeth always got water on the carpet and my legs wet. Other than that, the bathroom was clean, hot water was fast, and the hair dryer was powerful. Overall, I'm happy with my stay, but the burden that the sink caused might keep me from staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Posted Mar 24, 2017
It was very nice stay in Long Beach CA
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Will go back. One day wasn't enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Conference stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It was cozy and the room was clean.
The hotel is 10 -15 minutes walking distance from the Conference Center. My stay was really enjoyable and the staff was simply amazing. The breakfast was not lavish but it was pretty good considering most hotels don't have breakfast. It was a rainy week and the hotel staff had umbrellas ready for us to use, I thought that was a nice touch.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Nice place to stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
My purpose for being in Long Beach was to attend a conference at the convention center. The Varden offered an economical alternative to the conference hotels, and was an easy walk to the convention center. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. All in all, the Varden met my needs, and I would recommend it to others with future stays in the Long Beach area.