Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted May 11, 2017
On the outside i was a little leary at first. The staff was very professional and courteous. Once checked in and using the elevator and all down the hallway I was concerned how my room would appear. I was very relieved when I opened my door to find my room was spacious and remodeled and very comfortable. This hotel will be great once the remodel is complete. I would stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small crowded breakfast

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Clean remodeled bathroom and floors. Old linens. Small crowded breakfast area. Friendly staff, free WiFi and parking. Close to Caltech.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Dcho, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your stay and you taking the time to complete our online survey. As you have noticed, our rooms have recently been remodeled with a modern touch. Our breakfast area will also follow suit and undergo a transformation this year with a larger area when it is done. We hope to accommodate you whenever you are in town, and witness the change of our breakfast area for yourself! Best regards, David Cho General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Nice, clean room. Very comfortable. We have no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Quick check in, good room comfortable, good continental breakfast, great employees, quick check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location near freeways

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Stayed only one night. There is nothing more to say
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very friendly staff

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and new bathroom design!
Cons: Box spring under the mattress need to be changed.
Older hotel, but very clean and great bathroom design! Beds are very comfortable and firm except the box spring were making weird loud noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great Value in Pasadena

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The new rooms.
Cons: The hallways need a facelift. Showers could use frosted doors.
Location: Not much to do in the immediate vicinity, but the Lake District and Old Town are very near.
The Vagabond Inn in Pasadena has recently undergone a renovation. The rooms are very well appointed with laminate floors and beautiful tile work in the bathrooms. The layouts are functional and the amenities adequate (microwave, fridge, coffee maker). The hotel boasts a small work out room with three machines and a TV, complimentary breakfast, and a very friendly staff. It's located only a short drive from the Lake District and Old Town. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Judy A

Surprising!

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Not a good first impression walking down the hallway to the room. However, remodeled room was a surprise. They are actively working on the remodel. Very nice for the price. Free breakfast is bigger & more variety than most. Front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. Nice location.
5 out of 5
by Mau

Pleasantly Surprised!

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
At first, I was not impressed with the outside of the Vagabond. However, I was very pleasantly impressed with the room. This hotel is going through a remodel and it is going to be very nice. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Clean, Polite Staff, Yummy Breakfast

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: We came from quite a distance and arrived early. They let us register early and we really appreciated it.
Cons: The wood floor was a surprise and I didn't bring slippers. I forgot to bring my own pillow which would have helped.
Location: It was perfect for our purpose.
This hotel gave us just what we expected from the rating : very clean, very polite staff, and very good breakfast.