Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location but poor quality.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Good location for visiting USC, but the facility is very old. Air conditioner not working properly. I would not stay there again. It should be a rated 2.0 to 2.5 stars hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Room problems

Posted Feb 8, 2017
My non-smoking room smelled of smoke. My second room had not been made up. Finally, a kind housekeeper found me a clean non-smoky room. Basic but satisfactory, noisy. Main plus: walking distance to USC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and tired hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
This hotel reminded me of a few decades ago and sadly appeared as though the rooms haven't been remodeled in a few decades. It is overpriced for the condition of the room. Dirty carpet with food along the edges, nasty bathroom tile, and no fan in the bathroom so you have to open a window (in the cold rain). Next time I will stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Joana, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. SIncerely, Joana Zendejas!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey for Condition

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Close in proximity to where we had to go that night.
Cons: The rooms need some renovations. Pricing should match day of the week,quality of room and area.
I was looking for a reasonable place to stay for the night in the middle of the week around USC and the only thing available was this Vagabond Inn. I paid over $100 for a 1-night stay in what turned out to be a basic room with peeling wallpaper in the bathroom and old-fashioned window in the bathroom. The counter person that checked us in (a young male) was not friendly/personable and couldn't even direct us correctly to where we could find our room. When we walked up to the lobby door, it was locked and we had to wait until he came to unlock it to get in and it was only 7pm. Unheard of! In the morning when we went to check out the morning counter person (a young lady) was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Room was very clean and much more spacious than I expected. Extremely convenient. A friend and I were going to a show at the Shrine so it was perfect walking distance. Wouldn't deft stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overpriced

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Parking was easy. Wifi worked.
Cons: A bit dirty and worn down. The TV was ancient. Our room was only cleaned 1 out of 3 days we were there.
Location: Located within walking distance of the museum and science center, a CVS, a Starbucks, and a lot of other food options.
For a basic stay the hotel was okay, but for the price next time I will stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean room. Sketchy guests.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Cute motel in busy university area. Room was clean. The other guests around us were very sketchy, peaking out at us every time we were outside, opening doors and staring, having doors knocked on at 2 am and conversations with whomever was knocking. Front desk staff was nice. Restaurant next door was delicious. Loud concert nearby til after midnight was another detractor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff is great! Hotel needs repair and updating

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: room disrepair
Location: can walk anywhere for USC events.Easy drive to get in the freeways. I was there for Kaufman dance events and the location cannot be beat.
the location is tops and worth the out-dated rooms. the staff is kind and friendly and more than willing to accommodate for the requests for extra cleaning and repair to rooms. I had a unstable, leaking toilet and the maintenance staff and head of cleaning were fantastic. it is just a shame that the rooms are in tatters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable to transit. Good, clean motel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Sketchy neighborhood, but hey, thats LA. I'd recommend to anyone but my granny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The woman at the front desk was very nice. The hotel is close to the USC campus and to some good restaurants. There's a CVS down the street.