Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

Nice hotel near USC

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel room was clean, neat, and the staff provided excellent service.
Cons: The outside of the hotel looks a little well-loved, but everything inside was neat as a pin.
Vagabond Inn is a comfortable ten minute walk from the heart of the USC campus. I stayed at the inn for my first out-of-state conference, and was very happy with my accommodations. I booked a one bed (queen) room for two days and two nights and found the room and bathroom to be clean and neatly made up. The room had all the amenities a business traveler could wish for: table and chairs, bed, dresser, tv, hangers, iron and ironing board, fresh towels, soap, body wash, a mini fridge, and fluffy towels. The room was far enough away from the street to afford privacy and a little quiet, but not much since the location is downtown LA. There were many food options within easy walking distance as well as a CVS at the nearest corner. While I did not try the pool, it looked clean and inviting. Definitely would recommend to friends, family, and coworkers who decide to travel that way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms are starting to get tired. Staff does great job with what they have to work with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

USC on a budget

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to USC
Cons: Skip the bagels at breakfast. California doesn't know from bagels.
Location: It's steps from anything at USC or the Coliseum.
Sometimes, you just need to be on a budget. So it's nice to find a hotel that delivers the basics, simply and cleanly. Even better that you can stay here and get to campus without Uber or the metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles USC

Posted May 3, 2017
Nice and peaceful hotel. Nice staff and really clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in L.A. area.

Posted May 3, 2017
Walking distance to the shrine which was great because that's where I was going
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Nice to be next to USC

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Older hotel, in need of repairs (our sink stopper didn't work), TV/cable wasn't getting all the channels. It was clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was carb/sugar heavy. That being said, our business was at the California Science Center, which we were able to walk to. Pizza, ice cream and CVS was close. We would stay there again to avoid driving in LA traffic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Convenient for USC, but not much else going for it

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Decor; if they did a Farmer's Daughter-revamp of retro motel chic, it would be much more pleasant to stay here!
Location, location, location. I stayed here because I wanted to be in walking distance of the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books on the USC campus. It's certainly very walkable to USC (on an adjacent block) but don't imagine you will somehow be in some cute college-town neighborhood. The hotel is on a strip with an auto dealership and a bunch of diners. It is rather tired, and the rooms seem pricey for what you get. But it is clean and seems safe enough. The staff are pleasant and I have no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice hotel and close to USC

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The hotel is nice and clean. It is close and can walk to USC. The major concern is that the environment is a little noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taos, NM

Great overnight stay!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This was a quick overnight trip to participate in the LA Time Festival of Books. I arrived earlier than planned and was able to do an early check in. EZ breezy! Beautiful roses by the office. Nice staff, nice room, comfy king sized bed-- slept great! Nice pool. It was over 90 degrees out and the room was cool. My event was 2 short blocks away and there are yummy restaurants nearby like Trio House which is right there. :-) The front desk staff is kind and helpful and even called me a cab for my airport return-- even after I checked out earlier. Yay!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to univercity and shopig

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Was geat location.clean and there is a bunch of fsst food locatios as a walking distance
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Joana, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay even though your rating was poor. If you have any concerns feel free to share more with us. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas General Manager