Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salinas ca

Budget inn, good location

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We were there for one night before heading out to a theme park. We stopped at the National History Museum and this hotel is the second closest to the museum. The other hotel is the radisson which was more expensive. This place is close to museums, USC, and not too far from downtown. Lots of places to eat nearby, we walked to eat. Rooms are very clean. Would stay here again. The only hiccup we had was that we had a room by the pool and there were people drinking and screaming at 2am, I called it in and it seems they took care of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

my stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: it was around restaurants and near a bus stop and walking distance to a train.
Cons: cleaning was a bit lazy side. they did clean the restroom well. there was black stain on the bathroom and on the toilet holder dirt
Location:
I stayed with my sister and her friends. we got there very later around 12am and we were all very crazy and tired. the person at that moment was vey calmed and playful, but very respectful. which we really liked., he answered all our questions. next morning, we got breakfast and we did the same for the next three days. than on the fourth day, we were supposed to check out and early check in. this is were I really liked how the staffed help me with my problem. so my sister had a reservation for the other three days. but I had to check out and she would be checked in tomorrow not the day that I was supposed to check out. so she helped me to stay in the same room for the night and she didn't even made me feel bad for my mistake. she even let out get breakfast passed the time because of that mistake took us a lot of time to fix it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Better than we had expected

Posted Jul 24, 2016
With a child set to attend USC, we called upon the Vagabond for orientation as there are very few hotels this close to campus - in fact it is less than a full block away. The room was clean, the bathroom was clan, the pool was clean. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was sufficient (continental, but described as such). But the staff could not have been more kind and helpful. We found this to be an excellent value and will return!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Motel close to USC in LA

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: LOcation
Cons: Wi-fi
Location: USC, downtown LA
Vagabond is a clean motel within walking distance of LA. Wi-fi was in bad shape when I stayed. Breakfast is basic (bagel, cereal, fruit juice, coffee) but does the trick. I stay there because it is within walking distance of USC and much cheaper than the Radisson, which is closer to USC and somewhat better quality --but is also used for student housing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room not ready when I checked in. Keys not working to get in room. Night desk clerk left the office and was gone for over half an hour and I could not get into my room. I will NEVER recommend this hotel. the bed was awful, the toilet leKed it was just bad all the way around.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Joana, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay. We offer you our sincerest apology for the inconvenience with keys they tend to dis-magnetize if close to cell phone, keys, coins, etc. I have brought up to the attention of staff for not being in office during your late arrival. Our agent said he was out assisting other guests. For future notice please report any p=Room problems during your stay in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas-General Manager!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room had been destroyed

Posted Jul 14, 2016
We opened the door to the room we had just been issued, and all the furniture inside was piled into a corner and broken apart--literally destroyed. And the bedding was in black trash bags, as if there had been bed bugs. I would definitely stay away from this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Joana, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We offer you our sincerest apology for the inconvenience encountered at your arrival with Room. We are shocked to hear the furniture was broken we had no reports neither from housekeeping or other guests about furniture being broken. Also we do not have bed bugs in our location we actually have a prevention program that works excellent. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas-General Manager!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff by the Sea, CA

Comfortable hotel with good restaurant

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, close to the convention center, good restaurant, friendly staff.
Cons: There could be a main light installed in the ceiling, it was a bit dark in the room even with all the lights on.
Location: Lots of dining nearby, close to convention center
My friend and I stayed at the Vagabond Inn for Anime Expo and had a pleasant stay. It was a surprisingly quiet location, so it was easy to rest after a long day. The TrioHouse restaurant on-site had a good menu for dinner and we enjoyed having bagels in the morning thanks to the continental breakfast. The room didn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but the bed was comfortable, the shower got nice and hot, it had AC, and it was all very clean and pleasant. The staff were all very friendly as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Okay hotel. Close to USC

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The proximity to USC.
Cons: Could use some updating.
Location: Good location if going to an event at USC.
This hotel was a bit better then expected. When we arrived there was plenty of parking. Easy to locate hotel and within walking distance to USC. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We arrived and check in was painless. Went to our room and was pleasantly surprised. Nothing fancy but main living area with bed were clean. We had a view of the pool. There were guests swimming in the pool. I would not swim in the pool. It looked a bit green. The bed was quite comfortable. There was a frig and microwave in the room. There was a separate room for the toilet and bathtub. Sink and mirror were located out near the living space. There was plenty of hot water and the pressure was great. Bathroom was clean for the most part. However, I did notice used soap on the window sill. It looked like the window sill hadn't been cleaned in quite some time. The tub and toilet were clean. We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. Over all we were pleased. My daughter and I stayed. We were looking at USC. It was a 3-4 minute walk to the university and a 2 minute walk to CVS and there were plenty of eating establishments near by in both directions. We felt safe all though we were told by family members familiar with the area that we shouldn't go to far as it wasn't a great area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Joana Zendejas, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and many other travelers. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. There will be renovation soon. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas-General Manager!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

Good location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
I booked a 3-night stay in Vagabond and on the day of my arrival, the staff gave me a 2nd-floor room. We carried out luggages onto the stair, only to find the room had been given to someone else. The staff was very nice to give us another room on the ground floor. On the next morning, we were about to go out, but the door couldn't be locked, so we had to ask front desk for help. When we got back, couldn't open the door and front desk said because room card was too close to cellphone or credit card. I was OK about it since the room card issue can be resolved by all means, but it was very annoying and not very safe when it happens again and again. Also the non-smoking room is a bit smoky. Everything else is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Joana Zendejas, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator but depending on the time you check in we have staff that may be able to assist you by request. The Rooms keys do get easily dis-magnetized when near cell phones or metal. Our location is actually very safe and our surroundings. There is lots of security and the police department patrolling 24/7. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas-General Manager!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Does the job!

Posted May 30, 2016
This hotel is in a great location. It's literally within walking distance of USC, restaurants, bars, and even a small grocery store. The room was big and clean. The rooms were a little bit on the older side but I have no complaints. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Joana, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your recent stay. We are happy to hear you had a good stay in our location. Your opinion is of great value as it is used for quality and training purposes. Sincerely, Joana Zendejas-General Manager!